My Wednesday Walk

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago (edited)

Hey folks, here is my post for #Wednesdaywalk, created by @tattoodjay. Please check out his post here.

I started out in the downtown area. I'll show you a few shots of the Inner Harbour area first. There are a few people out strolling around, but nothing like it will be later on in the spring and summer when the walkway fills up with vendors and tourists.

s84azxxauk.jpg

I thought the sailboats were looking good today.

cdwwkseygs.jpg

Looking back towards the Empress with that one lonely and shivering palm tree in the foreground... poor thing!

ol22p18hdy.jpg

There's an old building being demolished but they are preserving some of the original brickwork. This is a new trend - these old buildings would cost too much to earthquake-proof, so this is what they do now...

9n7cl3jnpl.jpg

They basically hollow out the entire building and dig a much deeper foundation. The new building will be some form of modern architecture, bursting out of the old skin. It's a cool idea if it's done right.

ya5urj3oqg.jpg

Later on in the day I realized I was running out of time to enter @melinda010100's Shadow contest, Architectural Shadows theme... I had to get back out there for more photos. I'll show you some shots from the second part of my walk...

Nice shadow, not good enough!
uk7ruuwm7q.jpg

Reject number two...
l6yyqz89ec.jpg

Reject number three...
eccv9ekkam.jpg

Reject number four...This is closer to what I had in mind though.

kzyfah8smr.jpg

Did I ever find a photo to enter the contest? You'll just have to check my page to see. I hope to post something soon. Have a great Wednesday my friends!

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Great marina! That first shot when i saw it made me think of the French painters like Pissaro and Corot and others. The street scenes they did from a high angle.

Glad you like it, thank you. I'll have to look those guys up!

Looks like a nice day for a walk I bet I’m summer that sarea nearbthe water gets so busy
That would s a cool idea using the ski n of the older building for the new building

And thanks fir reminding me to look at the shadow shots I got this evening

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk !tip

Thanks so much, I appreciate your support! In the summer you can barely move on that walkway. How'd you make out with the shadows?

I bet it must be crazy with my dislike for crowds I would only go there off season

And nit to good with the shadows it was quite chilly out and I didn’t go as far as I had planned but submitted a shot nit a great one I will ady

🎁 Hi @keithboone! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

Check out @tattoodjay blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Even your rejects are wonderful! Thanks for all you do to promote the Shadow Contest!

It is good to know that they've found ways to repurpose some of the old buildings when they're building a new earthquake proof structure. That is very cool. And your palm trees are still shivering? It's still cold out there?

Thank you, Melinda! It was a balmy 38 F here today. I'm getting a little tired of it. It was snowing for a bit today, but just wet stuff. I know I shouldn't complain, but it's so much fun! ;-)

Hi keithboone, and thank you for the tour, I love Victoria on Vancouver Island and have so are visited four times.

Thank you, Angie. Four times? And you're from Australia? That's quite a trip, you must really get around!

Haha! howdy sir Keith! I like that walk you took us on, pretty interesting and I like the rejects too! lol.

Hey, thanks a lot glad you liked the walk. So what are you going to do now that you've finished with Butch and Sundance?

Howdy again tonight sir Keith! Well sir, I did kind of a poll awhile back giving my readers, both of them, options on what they wanted to hear about and one of the subject's was about people who got captured by the Indians and then lived to tell about it later.
I was really surprised because I got many replies and all of them wanted to hear the stories about being captured. So I'm leaning that way. Were you reading my posts when I did the Doc Holliday series? Anyway one guy asked if I was going to do Doc Holliday! lol. I told him I already did that one.

I think the stories about being captured would be interesting. I remember some of the Doc Holliday story.

Howdy sir Keith. did you see my question about featheredfriday? maybe you already answered and I'm the one who missed it. Plus I found out that esteem misses some comments.

I guess I missed it... what is your question?

sir Keith! I finally wrote a brilliant comment to you and you missed it! lol..oh I was just wondering if I did a post about birds if I could call it featheredfriday even if I didn't take the pictures. And if I could call it that even if I posted it today.

Sure - you always show the source for your images so that's fine. A story regarding birds is also good and don't worry about the day... FeatheredFriday has kind of turned into Thursday to Saturday in any case! I'd love to see what you have in mind :-)

Victoria is such a pretty town. I would love to get back there some time!

Nice, when did you visit here? Did you come on a cruise ship?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22