You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Nice Sunday...But Not Exactly Sublime - In The Weed-Eater World Of Things ~ OR: How To MacGyver The Handle To Finish The Job ~ Original Photos and Semi-Short Fix-it Discussion ~

#weedwacherwhackedbyweeds, perfect tag!

That was a mighty tall patch you wrestled down. At least you didn't have to contend with poison ivy or her friends. The joys of land stewardship? Good exercise anyway. No wait, make it sublime exercise. ☺

Sort:  

I am sublimely bulked up now to the Nth degree. And tired. I'm supposed to be out doing it again, but am trying to catch up on here. Just found a four of five day old comment to you I never sent. The little spinning thing messes up now and then. It's probably too old now anyway.
I AM glad we don't have much Poison oak here on the property, though it is PROLIFIC in some parts of the forest. Used to have seas of it in work. No fun. Do you have poison ivy there? Hate the stuff. Blisters and itchin' are us.

Glad you enjoyed the tag....I get them from the Oddtagsourspecialty Company of NYC. Only $79.99/month.

Oddtagsourspecialty Company, that's a good one! Oh, and $79.99/mo. is a steal too, can't pass up a value like that.

Replying to comments on here takes some time, especially when utilizing the Schteinn method, so it's quite understandable if a few go "unresponded".

I was actually meaning to ask you about your encounters with the poisonous plants of the forest, considering your experience. I've heard that until the 1960's poison ivy wasn't nearly the nuisance we know it as today.

When you find time to share, what's your take on the matter? Has poison ivy/oak become more prolific in the last twenty, thirty, forty years? And when you swam through the seas of it, what did you do to minimize contamination? Do other parts of the world face this same dilemma? Is there any natural way to combat poison ivy besides fire from a safe distance? (You don't have to answer all of those, that turned into rambling thoughts).

Jschindler and I were clearing some brushy areas of the property last month. Thankfully, exposure was limited, and the blisters were kept to a minimum this year. We had a serious poison ivy invasion to contend with. It was growing wild and strong in many forms, tree-like parasitic creature, shrubby vine of doom, and cute little baby 3-leaves sticking out of the ground mixed in with the grass. It seems like nothing can really stop this plant, it's nature's perfect weapon against us.

Bemoan the property owner stewarding those poison leaves! :^)

I must ponder the ?? you gave, before answering. There are many answers, and I must go put the fuel pump on the John Deere now. But I do have one ?? of my own. What is the Schteinn method, O : .....Talking WAY too much.... or something else, of not keeping up. Just curious, since I DO I tend to babble away sometimes(?) on here, and if it's annoying, always nice to know. Though a couple of us really get going, and it's sure a lot of fun. Just had to know, to keep my annoyance down to a dull roar. (I can usually tell, short answers suggest "don't say too much", long ones, well, you may get a Schteinnfull.)

Before I DO answer those, whatever you do, burning is rather hazardous. I've heard of folks getting it in their lungs, and that can be nasty, if not fatal. Hard to control the smoke, when there are neighbors, etc around. Onward, to pondering the answers to above. Stay tuned, sportsfans. (My dad always said that).

Schteinn method, noun. A particular form of steemit communication that establishes a meaningful response to each thought laid forth by the poster or comment author.

You take your time to give thoughtful replies, basically. It's not annoying to me, but of course I can't speak for others here. Oh, and not to worry, no urushiol clouds burning this way! Just good ol' weed killer used per label directions :\

That's great, lhaah, ove the definition. Thanks for that. I figured it was not about too MUCH talk, but one never knows. I try to be 'up' on what folks like. Not too much return, keep it short, etc if it's not long in their reply. This site is a lot of fun because to me, it's a lot like email. I always did enjoy that sort of thing. Old fashioned, I suppose. It's more like letter writing, without it being carried by snails.

I had to look up urushiol...was not familiar with that one. Though knowing it is Rhus, helped a bit. But HH DID suggest getting goats to eat the stuff. Guess they love it. I wonder if the goats ate it, then you burned the base with a propane torch, so you're not burning the 'green', would work? Once again, making sure not to release the urushiol. Wow, I used it in a sentence. Good on me. ( :
I shall still get to the other comment, but got waylaid today on the whole nipple thing. Gotta strike when the brass iron is hot, I always says. Have a peachy night.

Letter writing is totally an enjoyable activity! The snail variety takes a long time, yes. It also has more sentimental weight, to a degree. There is an ethereal type of magic involved when receiving a physical note or letter, some kind of space-time connection is made in a way. At least that's been my experience. Email and chat is not an equal substitute for face to face, real life interaction, though it does have certain benefits. :)

That one-two punch with the goats and weed burner sounds like a very promising course of action for the noxious weed(s). We are open to utilizing more sustainable methods for handling these kinds of chores in the future, so thank you both for suggesting that solution!

You handled the nipple thing in an unforgettably Schteinn-way, I gotta hand it to you there. Your writings have shifted recently (understandably so, considering the recent circumstances). Your work is still charming, hilarious, inspired, and now also a bit darker and offbeat with a tinge of color that was absent from your earlier steemit works. Whatever you're doing, keep it up because the blockchain definitely appreciates Adventures from the Mind of Schteinn!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62989.29
ETH 3048.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99