A Nice Sunday...But Not Exactly Sublime - In The Weed-Eater World Of Things ~ OR: How To MacGyver The Handle To Finish The Job ~ Original Photos and Semi-Short Fix-it Discussion ~

in #weedwackerwhackedbyweeds6 years ago (edited)

P1280507-1-1 350kb.jpg

Just A 'Wee Bit' Of Weeds and Grass To "Eat"

Last Year's Springtime Picture: After a LOT of rain. We often let the grass grow long in winter, then 'hay' it come early summer, cutting either paths to walk in, or mow it all weekly. Totally mood dependent.


I couldn't post this on Sunday, as it was just not all that Sublime. There was a weed-wacker involved, and it had problems, which is enough to UN-sublime any day of the week. (Plus I'm slower than the proverbial wintertime molasses getting these posts done).

It was a bonny lovely Sunday today, and what better way to spend the day, than chop down some overgrown grass and weeds in the yard. I'm afraid many corners have progressed from 'yard' back to 'hay' once again, and something had to be done about it. Pronto. And it's not due to hard-core laziness, though that CAN play a part, now and then.

But this time, there was a REASON for a cutting delay. The John Deere riding mower went gunny-bags a week or two ago, and I'm working on fixing that piece of machinery in small steps. Still waiting for the mailman to deliver some much-needed parts. But I remain UN-daunted, and look at all of this as a silver-sheen'd cloud right about now. Another Fix-it Post in it's ownself, once I'm done. Now if only those pesky parts would get here, (and that would actually become a REAL word, 25 or so back.)

All this long grass left me deep in the whattado's. So, when the mower is down, it's time to pull out the Big Guns. And chop down the grass the old fashioned way. Using the Stihl FS-130 weed eater, with the special blackberry-mincing blade. Works great on heavy grass, as well as mondo blackberry bushes. Plus, there's nothing like 'mowing' a whole acre of ground with a 13 inch mower-deck now and then, for some much-needed exercise. All I can say is a rousing, yardwork Yee Haa.





P1670142-2 394kb.jpg

What The Weed-eater Looks Like On A Normal Day





P1670106-1 375kb final.jpg

What The Weed Eater Looked Like After An Hour Or Two Of Heavy Grass Work Today


I was whacking away on the three foot tall grass, and suddenly, the left side of the bicycle handlebar of the machine (that's what it's officially called), came off in my hand. The aluminum tubing had sheared off at the clamp bracket, as you can see in the picture above.

With thick, tall grass, you have to use an old-fashioned 'scything' motion, to move the heavy grass off and away from the next cut. It is a ton of work, and is obviously hard on the handle. After a couple of years of this intense grass 'action', the aluminum tubing gave up the ghost, as my Grandfather was wont to say.

Large sigh, and an even more pleasant-quiet in the back yard. I'm sure the neighbors were happy with the new-found peace when things broke down. But I wasn't. NOW what to do? This being a Sunday, the official Stihl parts store was closed up tight for the weekend.





MacGyver's Got Nothing On THIS Backyard Fix-it Guy

I needed to put the handle back together, to finish the job. But there was no way the aluminum tubing would hold up in the clamp if it was now in two pieces. So...I needed a way to 'splice' the broken handle together, and put it back into the clamp. The answer? A good old-fashioned dowel rod.

I keep bins of these variable-diameter, finely milled sticks in different sizes for jobs like this, and for other classic art projects. Such as the yearly Mr. Potatohead--S.P.C.A.C.T., Steampunk Machine. An example: Mr. P. Post (Sort Of): High Pressure Fracking To Extract SpuddThane





Onward-To The Project At Hand

P1670113 315kb.jpg

Oak Dowel Rod 'Blank'-Before Making It Into A Tubing Splicer

This dowel was the closest in size, but too large diameter-wise, to fit in the tubing. Which meant I needed to 'machine whittle' it down to fit inside the handle. If I had a lathe to craft the job, that would work better, as the dowel would then be more uniform in diameter, once reduced. But I don't have my Circa 1915 wood lathe I bought at an estate sale working yet. Plus, I don't really know what I'm doing in that department anyway. So, the next best thing? A bench-top belt sander.





P1670116-3 177kb.jpg

Sanding Down The Dowel To Fit The Broken Tubing

The secret is to turn the wood in your hands while you sand it down on the belt. Not an exact science, but works pretty well if you focus and keep the dowel moving. (You can turn a very LARGE piece of wood into a sawdust pile very quickly on a belt sander).





P1670117-2  322kb.jpg

Sanded Dowel Fit Shoved Into The Broken End Of Handle

A little elbow grease, ample cussing and whoofing and banging, and vwaalaah...It Fits!




P1670123-2 231kb.jpg

Cutting The Dowel Down To Fit Into The Other Side Of Handle

Measure 6 times, cut once, and hope you don't have to add more wood later, I always say. It's quite easy to make a too-long piece of wood shorter, but adding more to make it longer after a missed-measurement is a craft yet to be discovered. Particularly a bummer after spending a lot time sanding. But the dowel was the right length after the cut. Sometimes these things just luck out into plan.





P1670126-2 164kb final.jpg

Sanding The OTHER End

Had to make the dowel fit within the right side of the handle as well. Some more sanding on this end, and vwaalaah². With a bit more of that 'fine finessing' we discussed earlier, it should all go together well.





P1670127-2 270kb.jpg

I Like It When A Good (Handle) Plan Comes Together

The two sides of the broken handle are now connected with our dowel. The theory is to clamp them tightly with the handle clamp, so the aluminum tightens onto the dowel, and then hope they stay in place. Later I may drill and pin each side, but there is little room inside the clamp. Plus, like the Wind Mariah, the grass is calling out for me to get going and finish this grass job.

The dowel should add strength to the aluminum tubing at the edges of the clamp as well, and keep the tubing from collapsing in the clamp and breaking off again. That's my theory anyway, and I'm sticking with it.





P1670133-2 314kb.jpg

The Final Step

The two sides pieced together in the bottom of the clamp, waiting to be finished up and clamped back together.





P1670135-2 380kb.jpg

Back In Business

The clamp seems to hold the handle quite tightly, and it doesn't move in the clamp. Time for a heavy-grass test run...





DSC09438-2 322 kb.jpg
-

It Works!!! Yup, Back In Business Again

The handle seemed to hold up well in the heavy grass. I did not do any really aggressive 'scything action', but my handle-fix worked well. I was able to finish up what I started, before knocking off for the Sunday evening thoughtful's. I figure no-one wants to hear a noisy weed eater after about 6:30 on a Sunday evening, during dinner, and prepping for tomorrow's way- too-early-to-work (no matter WHAT time), mundane Monday.

I WILL do further testing in the next couple of days. No doubt I will have to buy a new handle soon, to the ridiculous tune of $60.00. Because there is NO way this will hold up under the heavy grass-duress for hours and hours and hours of work. Of that I am quite sure.

Also, I'm thinking of going to a local, alternative bike-manufacturing shop, to see if they can fashion me a handle out of heavier, 'last-much-longer' steel. But the cost of bending it into shape will more than likely be nutso-crazy prohibitive. As my Mother used to say, "we soon shall see". (Try saying THAT five times, really fast.)

Final Thoughts On My Sublime Sunday ~ Weed-Eater Handle Fix-It Job

I'm impressed with how well this quick-fix worked, to finish up the cutting job at hand. I may try to epoxy the wood into the tube, as well as pin it with a nail on both sides. The pin should help with rotation, but I can't imagine the epoxy would hold well onto smooth, shiny aluminum for very long. Once again, we'll follow good old Mom's advice.

I'll try to keep you all posted on the riveting progress of this project, since I KNOW you're all on the edge of your chairs right about now. "Remain sublime, remain sublime".

~ Finto ~





Thanks for stopping in and viewing the Sublime Sunday DIY project of the week. If you have any thoughts about other Fix-it jobs you've done, Sunday weed eating, heavy grass management, making excess noise on a weekend and when to 'knock off', or anything else this post reminds you of, please feel free to comment away in the spaces below. I'd love to hear from you.





Please UPVOTE, COMMENT and FOLLOW if you enjoy my works.

And go to @ddschteinn -- There's a whole lot more...

Posted: 06/04/2018 @ 15:00



P1050887-1 48kb no name.jpg


Excerpts From Late-Night Conversations With A Mechanical Cat

Fact Number 73

Weedeater Handlefix -Prehistoric Cats.PNG

Sort:  

Great work do you need a tools like this for make everything
it is Victorinox Rangergrip 79, and thinking in how you should save money the cost is about US$39.50 in amazon, and you should cut every thing with this.
as a love man whith grow up showing mcguiver i love this kind of tools.
i love your tools i need one like this for help my father in the farm because with a machete the work is very hard.
best regard.

Thanks, that does look like a handy tool. I should look for one. Like that you are a MacGuyver fan. He knew what he was up to. Throwing pine cones that blow up and all sorts of other shenanigans.
I think you WOULD like the weedeater, over machete. It makes fast work of this type of work. Thanks for the comment.

That is some very tall grass and a big field. It's a great thing when you can Macgyver a quick fix.
That will be a pricey new handle,when you decide to replace it.

I never do get ahead of the grass, it seems. Though boredom is not spoken here very often. Though I'm supposed to be out there now, whacking away, but this is more fun.
Being a fix-it person can save some money, but I think I still have to spring for the full-on fix. Too hard on the handle. And they SURE don't give any of those extra parts away. I guess that's just part of yard work plan and such. First purchase is only that, the first.

Hi ddschteinn,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

Wow, thank you very much, @curie. I greatly appreciate the vote and your showing appreciation for writing and other such photo creations and oddments that I put on here. Makes me feel very fortunate indeed. Thanks again for the support and vote, and for all that you do for the site of Steemit.

We have not had such sublime sundays, have we my friend, mine having a broken toe and your's broken garden tools.

I love your macguyver fix. That looks a power one too. I just have a paltry battery charged little strimmer. We have some HUGE areas of our property that could use a good going over, but I have to just focus on small bits and work my way out over the coming years. We have an acre and half of woodland that is mainly poison ivy this time of year! Sometimes I just don't even think about it and just pretend it doesn't exist, even though in the back of my mind there is a walled garden with beautiful plantings and woodland paths and such, but that is just in my distant possible future.

And hurrah on the votes, my friend, now that is a good pay out for well deserved writing that always makes me smile and chuckle and sometime down right LOL as is the modern parlance. :)

Ah, poison ivy. Hate that stuff. Hard to get rid of. If you burn it, the smoke is nasty and can cause real lung issues of seriousatude. And weed wacking will just blow the sap around and you get it that way. Guess you and W.A. need to buy a bulldozer. Large, pocketbook sigh. Though I CAN imagine you running it all around amongst the trees. What fun.

I used to have a smalleer 'whacker', but the heavy grass and weeds and bushes mean a big machine. If you ever DO go that route, the bigger, gas powered, when it's time to tackle the big stuff, I have JUST the blade you need. They make them here, in my town. And they MINCE the blackberries, grass, you name it. A real wonder. I should be the marketer on Steemit for them. A real charmer they are. (Only a yard doof like me get's really excited about my weed eater blade, I guess. But it WORKS so well).
One day you shall get your garden and wall. That is a dream of mine too, a brick wall with fountains and plants and such and a patio. Though your new patio is WAY COOL. I love it. All I'd do is sit around and sit. And ponder.
Thanks for the kind words, I appreciate it. That was a very large surprise getting@curie'd, but a very nice one indeed. Well, I hope your toe is doing better. T.T.F.N.

Yes a brick walled garden! You know of what I speak. Have you ever seen the old show from the 80s, a British show, called the Victorian kitchen garden? I loved it. They also do victorian flower garden in the same old garden. Here is a link to ep one if you want to check it out.

Yes the @curie vote is so random and unexpected. I got that once and was amazed. It's funny how we are not meant to use bots to help pull we peons out of the muck and mire but are to wait about for the 'lords' to descend from their castles and toss a vote at us, and we are to wait patiently through the year for it to arrive. :) Funny old place steemit, it is EXACTLY as any place has ever been when humans come together. :)

I didn't know how a weed eater looks like, but what you did it was rocket science for me! And an handle for 60$? Can't you not order it on the magic amazon??
I spent my Sunday in bed resting and try to recover from a bed flu. I haven't touch the laptop for 4 days! It felts soo good.

Ha haa, thanks. Not exactly a Rocket Scientist, but it's fun to figure out how to TRY and fix things. I looked on Amazon, they're about the same price. Think it's just part of the joy of yardwork. The first purchase is only the first. Though I think I'm using the machine a BIT harder than I should. But it beats waiting for a cow to eat down all the grass.

Too bad you got sick. Yucko. You are home in Italy now, aren't you? I ALWAYS got sick whenever I went east, back home for Christmas family visits. New germs on the dirty airplane and bad air air. Guess that is one of the 'perks' of modern life. Breathing in stuff from everywhere.
I hope you feel better soon, drink lots of water, eat well, and watch funny TV/Movies. Humor endorphins will make you healthy faster. Get, then stay well and enjoy your visit.

That's all I have to say about endorphins
cannolo.jpg

Truly inspiring photo. What IS that?

Cannolo con ricotta, a traditional sicilian sweet
cannoli.jpg

Is that Ricotta cheese in there? DIVINE. And with all the other sweets...can you mail me about 27?

Exactly ricotta cheese.
Where do you live?

In the Pacific Northwest of the US, but I'm pretty sure the ricotta might be a bit 'funky', by the time it arrived. Though getting this treat past the mailman would be next to impossible. "Ooh, a lunchtime snack from Sicily, mmm mmmm good".

That is a mighty nice fix. Wonder if you could find a bit of steel dowel the right diameter for a snug fit inside. I know TSC carries some. Keep us posted on the decision!

Wow! I just went to vote and noticed this post just paid for the handle and the gas to go get it. Congrats my friend!!!

That is a good idea there. Would have to pin it, but it would be stronger. I might try that. Secret will be to find the right diameter of pipe to fit.
SOMEDAY I'd like to have my lathe set up. But better learn more, easy way to lose a bodypart in learning on metal. Ever do any of that lathing work?

Like the post mentioned, thinking of having the bike shop bend me a tough steel one too. And even thought about pouring epoxy into a NEW handle, to make the aluminum more solid. Since it bends around, I can't get wood or metal into a new handle. What would work to pour in, and solidify it? Hmmm. The handle/clamp edge at the insertion seems to be the weak link, that gets all my herkin strength O :

Sorry everybody, just two less-than-youger guys on here, discussing how to mend broken stuff. We're in major Fixitheavenonearth here. "Got your toolbox?" "Why yes, never leave home without it".

Aha! I will call you next time I have to deal with my jungle backyard! I have to admit... Duct tape crossed my mind when I saw your broken weed eater...

Your jungle might be too big for even the big 'eater'. Though it works pretty well. And it WOULD be fun to come that way, even for work. Though I would sweat there more than here, I fear.

I DID think about Duct tape, and will probably use it on the sides, to keep sideways motion down. That stuff is great for EVERYTHING. Even holding together some ducks.

#weedwacherwhackedbyweeds, perfect tag!

That was a mighty tall patch you wrestled down. At least you didn't have to contend with poison ivy or her friends. The joys of land stewardship? Good exercise anyway. No wait, make it sublime exercise. ☺

I am sublimely bulked up now to the Nth degree. And tired. I'm supposed to be out doing it again, but am trying to catch up on here. Just found a four of five day old comment to you I never sent. The little spinning thing messes up now and then. It's probably too old now anyway.
I AM glad we don't have much Poison oak here on the property, though it is PROLIFIC in some parts of the forest. Used to have seas of it in work. No fun. Do you have poison ivy there? Hate the stuff. Blisters and itchin' are us.

Glad you enjoyed the tag....I get them from the Oddtagsourspecialty Company of NYC. Only $79.99/month.

Oddtagsourspecialty Company, that's a good one! Oh, and $79.99/mo. is a steal too, can't pass up a value like that.

Replying to comments on here takes some time, especially when utilizing the Schteinn method, so it's quite understandable if a few go "unresponded".

I was actually meaning to ask you about your encounters with the poisonous plants of the forest, considering your experience. I've heard that until the 1960's poison ivy wasn't nearly the nuisance we know it as today.

When you find time to share, what's your take on the matter? Has poison ivy/oak become more prolific in the last twenty, thirty, forty years? And when you swam through the seas of it, what did you do to minimize contamination? Do other parts of the world face this same dilemma? Is there any natural way to combat poison ivy besides fire from a safe distance? (You don't have to answer all of those, that turned into rambling thoughts).

Jschindler and I were clearing some brushy areas of the property last month. Thankfully, exposure was limited, and the blisters were kept to a minimum this year. We had a serious poison ivy invasion to contend with. It was growing wild and strong in many forms, tree-like parasitic creature, shrubby vine of doom, and cute little baby 3-leaves sticking out of the ground mixed in with the grass. It seems like nothing can really stop this plant, it's nature's perfect weapon against us.

Bemoan the property owner stewarding those poison leaves! :^)

I must ponder the ?? you gave, before answering. There are many answers, and I must go put the fuel pump on the John Deere now. But I do have one ?? of my own. What is the Schteinn method, O : .....Talking WAY too much.... or something else, of not keeping up. Just curious, since I DO I tend to babble away sometimes(?) on here, and if it's annoying, always nice to know. Though a couple of us really get going, and it's sure a lot of fun. Just had to know, to keep my annoyance down to a dull roar. (I can usually tell, short answers suggest "don't say too much", long ones, well, you may get a Schteinnfull.)

Before I DO answer those, whatever you do, burning is rather hazardous. I've heard of folks getting it in their lungs, and that can be nasty, if not fatal. Hard to control the smoke, when there are neighbors, etc around. Onward, to pondering the answers to above. Stay tuned, sportsfans. (My dad always said that).

Schteinn method, noun. A particular form of steemit communication that establishes a meaningful response to each thought laid forth by the poster or comment author.

You take your time to give thoughtful replies, basically. It's not annoying to me, but of course I can't speak for others here. Oh, and not to worry, no urushiol clouds burning this way! Just good ol' weed killer used per label directions :\

That's great, lhaah, ove the definition. Thanks for that. I figured it was not about too MUCH talk, but one never knows. I try to be 'up' on what folks like. Not too much return, keep it short, etc if it's not long in their reply. This site is a lot of fun because to me, it's a lot like email. I always did enjoy that sort of thing. Old fashioned, I suppose. It's more like letter writing, without it being carried by snails.

I had to look up urushiol...was not familiar with that one. Though knowing it is Rhus, helped a bit. But HH DID suggest getting goats to eat the stuff. Guess they love it. I wonder if the goats ate it, then you burned the base with a propane torch, so you're not burning the 'green', would work? Once again, making sure not to release the urushiol. Wow, I used it in a sentence. Good on me. ( :
I shall still get to the other comment, but got waylaid today on the whole nipple thing. Gotta strike when the brass iron is hot, I always says. Have a peachy night.

Letter writing is totally an enjoyable activity! The snail variety takes a long time, yes. It also has more sentimental weight, to a degree. There is an ethereal type of magic involved when receiving a physical note or letter, some kind of space-time connection is made in a way. At least that's been my experience. Email and chat is not an equal substitute for face to face, real life interaction, though it does have certain benefits. :)

That one-two punch with the goats and weed burner sounds like a very promising course of action for the noxious weed(s). We are open to utilizing more sustainable methods for handling these kinds of chores in the future, so thank you both for suggesting that solution!

You handled the nipple thing in an unforgettably Schteinn-way, I gotta hand it to you there. Your writings have shifted recently (understandably so, considering the recent circumstances). Your work is still charming, hilarious, inspired, and now also a bit darker and offbeat with a tinge of color that was absent from your earlier steemit works. Whatever you're doing, keep it up because the blockchain definitely appreciates Adventures from the Mind of Schteinn!

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

My ... but you did have your work cut out for you. Color me impressed:)

The first is an older picture. From a month ago. It is not THAT bad now, but close in parts. The rain really makes the stuff grow, as you know in the NW.
I was a bit tuckered, but need to get out there today again. Maybe I'm procrasti-comment-nating a bit here...

You can do it ... says Arnie:)

Hmm, Arnie? Schwarzenegger, or however it's spelled. ( I just cheated, so it looks right...)

That's the one:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99