You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Nice Sunday...But Not Exactly Sublime - In The Weed-Eater World Of Things ~ OR: How To MacGyver The Handle To Finish The Job ~ Original Photos and Semi-Short Fix-it Discussion ~

That is a mighty nice fix. Wonder if you could find a bit of steel dowel the right diameter for a snug fit inside. I know TSC carries some. Keep us posted on the decision!

Wow! I just went to vote and noticed this post just paid for the handle and the gas to go get it. Congrats my friend!!!

Sort:  

That is a good idea there. Would have to pin it, but it would be stronger. I might try that. Secret will be to find the right diameter of pipe to fit.
SOMEDAY I'd like to have my lathe set up. But better learn more, easy way to lose a bodypart in learning on metal. Ever do any of that lathing work?

Like the post mentioned, thinking of having the bike shop bend me a tough steel one too. And even thought about pouring epoxy into a NEW handle, to make the aluminum more solid. Since it bends around, I can't get wood or metal into a new handle. What would work to pour in, and solidify it? Hmmm. The handle/clamp edge at the insertion seems to be the weak link, that gets all my herkin strength O :

Sorry everybody, just two less-than-youger guys on here, discussing how to mend broken stuff. We're in major Fixitheavenonearth here. "Got your toolbox?" "Why yes, never leave home without it".

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62989.29
ETH 3048.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99