Weight loss, gain and morale

in #weightloss6 years ago

Shedding pounds isn't easy, it takes an abundance of determination. My weight has fluctuated from my lightest 113 lbs - 164 lbs, my heaviest. With this recent surge of determination, I'm not going to focus on the scale as much as I have in the past. I'm more interested in how I feel and how my body responds to me being active. Body positivity and acceptance isn't just about a number on a scale, it's about accepting who you are as a person.

IMG_1795.JPG

I've had a love/hate relationship with working out. I loved the results that it gets me, I love feeling confident in my bikini and crop tops. I loved feeling like I could eat whatever I wanted to, whenever I wanted - to be honest though I do that anyway, the portion sizes just change depending on if I'm exercising. I hated those days when I had to push myself to work out, on those days I'd prefer to just lay in bed and binge watch tv. I hated the soreness after pushing myself during an intense workout.

IMG_0558.JPG

That being said I love to be active, to just get out and move my body. Running, hiking and dancing are some of my favourites. It can be difficult to see just how far you've progressed when you're only focused on a number on a scale. I like to gauge my progress in other ways: how many flights of stairs was I able to climb without being out of breath, did I make it to the top of the mountain faster than I did last time, how did my run make me feel today? These type of questions change your outlook to a more positive one and set you up for success.

Wherever you are on your body positivity and acceptance journey, don't give up!!

Sort:  

Hermosa. saludos desde venezuela. Te invito a seguirme

Hi, I'm here new, I like your blog, I hope for reciprocity.

Hi there, and welcome to the community!! Thank you.

generallygen I loved how you mentioned that its not about the number on the scale, but how your body feels that is amazing. I am going through my own fitness journey and have lost about 18 pounds since last year. Just keep focusing on the activities that you love and you will be sure to get to goals weight/size. Kudos to your hard work and dedication.

Viewing weight loss as a numbers game just makes it more difficult for those that are struggling with the process or who think that numbers are the only thing that matter - we have to change our individual perceptions of weight loss in order to feel more at peace with it. Congratulations to you!! Thank you for your kind words, I appreciate them. And you keep up your hard work as well, I'm sure that you'll reach your goals in no time at all.

Oh girl you are perfect the way you are!

Thank you, you’re so kind!

I think you look absolutely beautiful just the way you are. You don't need to lose weight in my opinion, but you are right, self acceptance is the key. I think it helps to have a range of activities to work out, I do swimming, weights, yoga and pilates - I love it now and it is a way of life. I was wondering today if I need to lose weight and I think the answer is no - I need to remember to love and accept myself exactly the way I am, eat as healthy as possible because I want to nourish my body with the best foods I can find, and exercise because it makes me feel good and is the best thing for my health. I could probably do with being a little lighter but after dieting on and off for years I am tired of watching the scales. For now at least, I am just going to enjoy my workouts and do my best to eat well and let the rest take care of itself. I look forward to more of your posts!

Thank you, that’s very sweet of you. For me it’s less about losing weight and more about the activities I enjoy doing and being able to enjoy them without out taking too many breaks or running out of breath so quickly. I love that you focus on doing what you enjoy too, workouts can be challenging but they aren’t meant to make us dreadful. Your talk of body image and acceptance is so inspiring to me :)

Thank you for taking the time to reply. I love your positive focus! I am glad I could inspire you too. I have for so long been unhappy with my body and I feel I am getting better and stronger all the time now, and my body may not be "perfect" but I love it for supporting me and for always doing its best and I try to look after it in return.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61626.58
ETH 2940.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66