You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Of Very Large Cats: Part I ~ My Extra-Big Cougar Adventure~ Inspired by @generikat's Recent Post-A Fascinating Story About A Cougar That Yowled At Her ~ Original Photography and Original Semi-Long Story ~

Until today, I had always thought of a mountain lion more as an actual lion vs a cougar/puma. Just figured it was merely a lion that lived in the mountains, lol! Damn disney movies (The Lion King had to be it) are probably the cause of my mental "cat facts" being messed up. Anyways, I'm glad after discussing with @enternamehere the differences between 'large' cats and so-called 'small' cats to have now straightened this error of mine out. Thanks for sharing!

Sort:  

They can be confusing, particularly if you throw in panther too. So many names, one big cat. Think there is DNA differences, but don't quote me on that. I'll just deny it and run away...
The movies do mess things up some times. Do you still have any big cats in Texas? Probably come up that way from down south, though they have a lot of people-country to navigate first. Glad I could help sort out the real differences with my post.

Not any REAL BIG cats. I have seen a bobcat back out in the woods here when I was 11-12 yrs old. To me it looked about the size of a lab (maybe shorter) or similar sized dog but clearly a cat! That was more than enough to scare the crap out of me only being about 50ft away when he/she went trotting by.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57908.48
ETH 2913.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61