You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: #Ulog Ep. 3 Rustic Cooking "Oven Roasted Short Ribs"

This looks very tasty. I have been wanting to try to make some beef short-ribs for a while now, but I have just never gotten around to it. I might have to give it a go after reading this. Nice pepper grinder. My wife and I love ours. I wouldn't switch back to preground pepper for anything. Thanks for sharing!

Sort:  

Exactly freshly ground all the way. Give the short ribs a go you would love it and I always say in cooking there are no rules lol.

My brother in law and I bought part of a cow a couple of years ago, but they ground all of the rib meat up before I could request the short tribs.

Aw too bad would have been an excellent roast. When you said part is it like a quarter of a cow. Did you have a party or something or a great big cook out?

Yeah, I know, I was kind of bummed. I think it ended up being half of a cow. He took most of the meat though. I bought some of the t-bone and porterhouse steaks and ground meat and he gave me the brisket. I don't eat as much beef as I used to, so I still have a bunch of ground meat in the freezer, but the steaks are gone :)

Sounds to me like you still have a lot of burgers for a cook out. What did you do with the brisket?

I smoked the brisket. I did a post about it a week or two ago. You can check it out on my page. My brother in law was the one in contact with the farmer/processor so he had them cut everything really lean. There is too little fat in the ground meat to make decent burgers. It is good for chili or a meatloaf where you add a binder though.

That smoked brisket sounds heavenly. I will have a look.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63955.40
ETH 3139.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87