Wild fruit is flowering

in #wildflowers6 years ago

My favourite wild fruit, Sand apples are flowering already. Although they are small, it takes 6 months before the fruit is formed and ripe. I am looking forward to that. It seems strange to pick fruit from plants thst creep along the ground but that's because they rely on animals to disperse their seed.

Mobola plum flowers.jpg
See here for a review of this fruit.

The other fruit that grows on a creeper is wild apricot and it is also blooming early in the season. These are high in vitamin C and extremely tart so you can't eat many of them

wild apricot flowers.jpg
See here for a review of this fruit.

Sort:  

I still did not see wild fruit trees!
I was interested to see their photos!
Beautiful photos and trees!
Thank you!

You will see it soon!

All over the world there is an amazing variety of wild fruits we never hear about. Thank you for posting this.

I enjoy eating things that grow wild so I am tireless in my search for such things

I won't say I'm tireless at it, but I have tried quite a few wild plants and berries, but not the wild mushrooms. I guess there are too many cases of mushroom poisoning in our culture.

Mushrooms can be deadly although I like them, too

You gave some strange plants in SA but very cool. :-)

I love the weirdness of our native plants

Thank you for sharing this, I don't know these fruits at all. (I am from Pretoria and I see you are from JHB) I presume these are South African plants? Where do you buy these? I will check out the link you have provided. Looks interesting.

These are not available to buy, they are veld fruits that you can find on the koppies in Joburg and Magaliesberg in Pta-area

Thanks, that is a pity, would be nice to have some of these wild fruit in the garden.

These fruits don't keep very well, that seems to be why they aren't farmed. They are also quite specific in their choice of Quartzite riges so I think they need a pH-specific, very well-drained spoil. I am going to try the sand apples in my garden, though

Interesting to consider plants like that with edible fruits near the ground. The only ground dwellers like that I can think of here are very thorny, like blackberries, and they are always trying to climb trees and other structures, if they can.

=^..^=

Although ground-dwelling, the thorny ones are eaten by birds, which spreads their seeds further

beautiful flowers.... colors and light are amazing!❤ love the background of the flowers !!👌 really beautiful photograph my friend nikv!

Thank you

Interesting! What type of animals eat this fruit?

Porcupines and monkeys come to mind, there may be others

Originally written about sandy apples. Also about apricots on creepers. I'm used to the fact that these fruits we grow on trees.
It would be interesting to taste them.

They are very different to what you know

Nice flower photography, good click dear

Posted using Partiko Android

Great pictures. Happy Friday.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00