You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mushrooms I learnt how to identify this autumn

in #wildfood5 years ago

Cool post! In Colorado we find porcini, morel, lactarius, slippery jack, and fly agaric.
Little known fact, there's a way to consume fly agaric as an edible mushroom that involves parboiling 4+ times while pouring the water off between boils to remove the toxic compounds. I've never tried it, as 4x parboiled mushroom does not at all sound appetizing to me 😂 but supposedly it can be done. It's psychoactive effects are dissociative.
I love mushrooms and it's so exciting to see new people getting into identification and foraging of these awesome purifying spirits of the forest! There's so much to learn about the mushies and their benefits to individuals, to the planet, to the spirit, simply amaze me. Thanks for sharing.
If you want to learn about lactarius, check out my feed! I posted a little blurb about them a couple months ago. Forage on!

Xx ToL

Sort:  

Yes, we find much the same here! I have heard about this parboiling method before, but like you said, it sounds truly disgusting! I checked out your post about the Lactarius and it was really cool! We have that same mushroom here but there are a few look-a-likes to them so I tend to look for them for the purposes of identification only.

I have looked everywhere but the morel still eludes me! Maybe someday I should so lucky as to find one!

We see morel here because we got a lot of forest fires and they tend to grow in the burn areas a year or two after a big burn. If there's any areas like that near you, you should check them out :-) you might have more luck there. Happy foraging!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63373.75
ETH 3170.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88