Winners of my New Years Eve contest and another small thing I noticed while using the Steam chat

in #winners6 years ago (edited)

Hey everyone

First off I want to wish everyone a happy new year and start by announcing the winners to the contest I had on New Years Eve.

cup-1010909_1920.jpg

The first place winner of the contest is @hornblende. The second prize was won by @idunique and the third prize was won by @mannyz. Congratulations to the winners and I wish you all a great year ahead! I want to thank all of the people who decided to participate and share their stories in the contest. There were a lot of awesome entries and I am still reading through a few of them today.

New Years Eve went by pretty calmly this year and I spent most of it with my family eating a beautiful dinner that my mother had prepared. Afterwards I went back home and stayed there until the clock hit midnight and I went out to see the fireworks. There weren't too many fireworks being shot in the area where I live so I only stayed out for about half an hour too watch.


I also wanted to bring up another pretty fun thing I noticed while chatting with a friend in the Steam(Valve) chat. We were talking about some games we were playing at the moment and I tried to link a page of a game that was on sale to him from the well known gaming marketplace G2A. However when he received the links it only showed {LINK REMOVER} as you can see in the picture below. I have never noticed this before and Steam didn't tell me in any way that I couldn't post links in the chat.

s1.png

As you can see in the picture where it says "link removed" is where the link from g2a is supposed to be. I have no idea why it does this but one idea that came to mind is that maybe they just don't want us to advertise other game platforms on they're platform. However I feel like if this is the case then they should at least tell us in the chat that posting links is not allowed.

I just found it a bit funny so I thought I would share it with you. Have you ever noticed this while using the Steam app? Let me know in the comments below.

Thanks for stopping by and I hope you like the post!

Take care everyone and have a great week.

Strawhat
SteemitStrawhat.jpg

Sort:  

wow, censoring competition... that's sad, Valve.

Yeah it's kind of weird that they would censor it like that XD

Congratulations to all the winners :)

Congratulations to the winners and happy new year,

Congratulations to all of the winners! Also, I'm glad you had a pretty good time for New Years Eve, man! I got sick from something I ate I'm pretty sure so I spent most of the night last night feeling like I was gonna be sick to my stomach, lol.

Also, I only really use the Steam chat to talk to one person from time to time but I've never seen something like that. Pretty fucked up that they have it set to remove links to other game sales websites.

Sorry about your health...how are you feeling now?

Ah, it's okay. I'm not feeling the best still, thinking maybe the food I ate was contaminated with some kind of bacteria. My stomach still feels pretty bad, but I'm sure I'll be feeling better by tomorrow :)

Ah too bad man :/ well there's always next year :D or you can party 2x as hard at your wedding!

Yeah it's really weird man xD

Heyy how cool another swede! Didnt see so many in the cryptoworld! I use steam too but never had any links removed. Never chatted about another gaming platform either because dont know any other then steam haha do you also play pubg??

Hey, yeah it's always nice to meet people from up north in the crypto world. I do play a little pubg every now and then! :D

Wish you and your family a joyful, bright, healthy, prosperous and happiest new year ahead! Happy New Year!

Thanks @strawhat for the new year gift I'm so grateful.

You are very welcome :) I am glad you enjoyed it! Take care

wow people are doing that much thing for a contest lol ... anyways but the winner deserves it so huge congratulations :)

Very impressive, so inspired me to be more active in steemit deeply
thanks so much @strawhat
regards, steemians

hey! Congrats to all the winners and thank you @strawhat for hosting this contest and making steemit even greater!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71