I'm Quitting Steemit - Please Unvote Me As A Witness

Dealing with cryptocurrencies is Hell in Israel, the regulatory requirements, even for personal investors take more time than managing the investment itself.
It's clear that the Tax Authority demands documents they'll never even look at, but because of the slight chance of "getting caught" we're all supposed to file them.
And I'm a rooster if more than 10% of the investors will provide them.

So yeah, I predict that crypto will slowly die in Israel, because the mountain of papers one have to send, to stay legally compliant.

If I'll move to a more crypto-friendly country, or if the tax code here changes to a manageable form I'll be back, with full STEEM. (Get it?)

Until then I'm powering-down. Sorry everyone, and good luck to those who stay here.

Sort:  

Good idea.
This is the shittiest shit possible...
I will probably quit too for the same reasons.
maybe instead of powering down i will set my activity to 0.

Instead of going to activity 0, you can lend me some steem power. I would appreciate it, if you like my content ;)

Come to Germany, you are more then welcome and trading is allowed! Have a good one for now and see you in the future back on steemit!

Just as if the ECB won't clamp down on crypto when they feel like lol...

The Visegraad countries minus stupid Poland might be a place where they leave you alone. Or maybe Northern Cyprus could work (using the political vacuum between the Cold War fractions). In Europe, the only other places might be Andorra and Iceland, although, things don't look good in Andorra. Apparently the Brussels Moloch is trying to get to them lately.

and by the way. which bank in Israel will agree for ~$500k coming from a bitcoin exchange ?

the state is asking for tax, but the banks are treating us like money launderers/drug dealers/terrorists/ransomware...

ניסית עם עורך דין ורואה חשבון?

אני לא רוצה לרוץ לבתי משפט מול הבנק, אין לי כח לשטויות האלה...
דיברתי עם אנשים מהקהילה, לחלק עושים בעיות גם עם אישורים מרו"ח

יש עו"ד שפותח לאנשים כמונו חשבונות בנק בחו"ל, אם תרצה אעביר לך את המספר שלו

You might be doing the right thing or maybe not. I tend to think you would be better trying to ask around because I really feel like crypto is going to go up a lot in the next months and years. If that is the case you might be better to fill those report as best as possible and claim such if you ever accuse of anything. Ask around to those who are filling those papers as best as they can. Anyway, not matter what your decision is, it's not an obvious one.

Crypto might do well, but the goverment needs a serious shakeup from the supreme court to behave in a finelly manner.
Maybe they'll try to enforce it on the wrong person

seems there is some good news from IL in last 2 days

Why don't you move to another country?

I don't think losing the opportunity to participate in crypto is good man.

I am seeing your account and you are a whale (congratulations), so moving for you should not be so difficult? I am sure you know there are a lot of cheap and crypto friendly countries.

Good luck, and I hope you can find a way to keep being active in steemit.

Cheers!

I honestly might do that in a few years
I bet some countries might even give citizenships to hodlers, to get some of that crypto money

try Panama!

good day, pay attention to my account, I pay a fee for your votes from 50 to 70 % of the program sbdgiveaway, I will be glad to meet and communicate further)))

sorry to hear this.. it seems Israel is not the only country who are being overly aggressive with tax and restrictions.. that is concerning that it is enough to prevent you even engaging with crypto!

thanks for sharing as its good to know this
shalom

Well I totally get it to be honest I wanted to give tax in Turkey but they don't have clear regulations how to tax it if I get caught by any chance I need to provide some kind of documentation but they don't even know what kind of documentation so it is not regulated I don't get they catch people for that but still current state in Turkey is quite bogus ! Hope you come back when they fix it

Well, I'm sorry to hear that! I just stopped by to say thanks for your support. Good luck on finding somewhere friendly. I think many of us are just ignoring the regulations in our various places in the world, until it becomes impossible. Good luck my friend!

וואלה עצוב לי לשמוע, לא יודע אם זה הדבר הנכון לעשות
מה אומר לך שזה לא ישתפר בעתיד?

לך תדע מה יהיה, אני יודע רק מה יש עכשיו

It's simply doesn't make sense to be in an allegedly democratic country and not been able to do what you want to do.

"Bureaucracy kills people's ability to try new ideas." (Walter O'Brien)
I believe people should fight obstacles not surrendering to it

Someone with more risk appetite might, I'm sure that when they'll try to enforce it. The investors will drag them to court

Man, sorry to hear that. I hope you find somewhere else more allowing that you like just as much man. It's not much better in the US. But you could keep your witness here.. hope the laws become more inclusive. Best of luck man!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65852.33
ETH 2958.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73