You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is The Voting System Fair? Find Out For Yourselves!

Is there some central place where all witness candidates are putting out there "position statements?"

Also, how often are new witnesses elected?

Sorry...10-day newb here, still trying to wrap my mind around how change (especially important hard forks) happen here.

TIA...and thanks for all the baove info.

Sort:  

To view the initial witness announcement of each witness, head to https://steemians.info and click on the link icon for the witness.

For update reports, check these tags:
#witness-category
#witness-update

Anyone can become a witness, just need how to setup a Linux server, install the witness software and start their campaign to collect witness votes from the community. Each user can vote up to 30 witnesses. Votes are valid for infinity but are not necessarily permanent, you can change your mind at anytime and remove a vote and give a new one.

Very helpful. Thanks!

Hey @jackmiller @quochuy could you reach out to me on discord about the Witness Communication Assembly. Thanks.

First I've heard of it!

Yeah, I responded to @quochuy below. I'm not sure anyone else is proactively informing anyone of the project yet. I've only been trying to reach people I vote for, have voted for, might vote for, etc. hoping they get their voice heard also.

Just went and read about it. My question is, why Discord? If the objective is “improving witness to end user relations, communication and transparent” then I think we should do it right here on the blockchain so that all discussions are publicly available to all users on Steem and outside of Steem not just on a centralised chat server which can only be accessed if you know the chat server address and create an account.

That makes total sense. It's not my project though. @ScottCBusiness is a new witness (and friend of mine from Facebook.) The initiative is part of his platform. I'm just helping with the technical stuff because I know how to and have time. I'm sure he'd value your feedback immensely.

I'm independently doing a witness interview project down the road once my studio is better equipped. We gave it a home on the same server. And I think he's looking to syndicate some of the blogs here to the server also like Shadowpubs witness open forum, the witness payout reports, each witnesses blogs, then push them as a mash-up to an account.

If I recall from a previous conversation, it's because new users have bandwidth limitations so commenting and participating on Discord removes those limitations. Users here can already sift through piles of information, but it's not really organized nor is there a free messaging feature on the blockchain. And what witness will answer a plankton's memo?

I'm not really sure though. I've been reaching out to witnesses I vote for or have previously voted for to be sure they have an option to represent themselves, if in face his idea takes off.

I’m not fan of the memo chat idea.
I was more thinking making a regular post where users can ask questions in the comments section. I don’t think bandwidth is an issue with the 15 initial SP. And new plankton will get the chance of getting their questions upvoted by the witness.

There are so many discord server already and most of them I’m on are not useful for me because of the issue of timezone. It’s either quiet or I can’t easily find the messages i want. I haven’t made it to shadowpubs witness thing cuz I’m either in bed or in a train to work at the time it’s on.

I’ll give it a try though and see how it goes.

The initial SP delegations are going away with HF20. So thinking ahead, that might not be as easy as it is now. However, I agree about the voting thing. That would be a great idea but I'm not in a position to control his project. I don't see why it wouldn't be possible to do both the discord and a steemit account for it.

I hear you about the discord server numbers. I have a whole spreadsheet of them. I experience the same thing being in America and having so many international friends. I imagine they feel the same way about getting in touch with me lol.

Yeah, Idk, I vote for you and I like what you're doing. And since there's already a a bunch of witnesses willing to give it a shot; I would be sad if you were not represented. But of course, that's up to you- I still support you :)

There will be a permanent minimum bandwidth in HF20 which should compensate for the removal of the initial SP delegation.

Lets see how it goes.

That's exactly the issue, and because there is no good communities feature or chat for Steemit we are on Discord. We have seen every other witness project like this is quiet, managed poorly, or abandoned. So we are trying to create something better and maybe get a steem page for it soon too

@omitaylor, in HF20 there will be a permanent minimum bandwidth to compensate for the removal of the SP delegation.

@scottcbusiness, I like the idea, I'm just not sure about Discord, but because of the lack of a better medium, lets see how it goes.

Yeah I mean moving forward I'd definitely like to find a more suitable place to run it

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64009.76
ETH 3148.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91