Steem Witness Forum 1/20/18 - The Recording!

in #witness6 years ago (edited)


It was an absolute pleasure to host the Steem Witness Forum today. If anything is clear it's that Steem has a fantastic group of people supporting it. We have devs, community leaders, business leaders, and a team of folks that have a strong interest in seeing the Steem ecosystem continue to grow sustainably.

For the most part this show followed the questions posed in the last post:

What is the largest problem on Steem? How do we address it?
Should Steem grow and if so what does Steem need to grow?
What should our priorities be?
Can we handle the growth?
What's causing the rise in price even as bitcoin hovers in the 12k range?
Are the rewards being distributed well?
What constitutes abuse? How should we handle abuse?
How are voting bots positively or negatively effecting Steem?
What do you want Steemit to work on?
Closing thoughts to share?

I'll work on getting a outline up

I'll go back and listen to this, and get some notes up about the event so you can listen in on thoughts to various questions from various panel members.

A great audience

I saw a really healthy discussion in the chat and would encourage you to both listen to the conversation and watch text scroll because at time the audience participation especially by @fyrstikken is driving parts of the conversation.

Intense Gratitude

We had around 100 live listeners, 7 panelists, and a small crew helping keep Discord running without spam and msp-waves operating normally. I'm very grateful to the folks that spent some time managing this. I'm also grateful to the whales and minnows listening in on a Saturday to hear about Steem. It's an honor to serve as a Witness on this platform and I appreciate your support.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Shades of red/green instead of numeric reward ... So doesn't scale.

Like none of the 3 people who considered this a good idea didn't consider reward is relative to context.

Getting 20$ is #Knitting might be a relatively high.

Loading...

It was a pleasure to be involved. Thanks again @aggroed for organizing this and "herding the cats" together to make this happen. These discussions are so valuable because they go far beyond just people talking. Each person brought an important perspective and highlighted important aspects of how to continue improving this ecosystem. Discussing those ideas impacts our thinking and changes our actions for the better.

I do agree with your comment

Thank you @aggroed for organising this and getting a bunch together!

@roelandp is it amazing right? I'm happy now, I wanna serve as a witness too.

Loading...

I have missed it but will make it my sunday ‘task’ to listen and learn. I am psyched the community of Witnesses take time to reflect and discuss developments within Steemit so we can monitor if it is and remains a healthy place :-) Thanks for that!

Aggroed, I appreciate you gathering the witnesses for conversation, hosting and publishing the recording. Thank you for this contribution as I feel this is extremely valuable!

I just joined Steemit yesterday and am learning the ropes. I am glad to hear that issues are being addressed like flagging and bot up/downvoting which can be used maliciously. I'm looking forward to reading your report on the proceedings.

I love the show @aggroed! I enjoyed the discussion of the witnesses . ♥ Thank you very much for your support to the community :)

I am glad i visited your blog few minutes to the live show @aggroed. I was able to read and tune in intime.

I really learnt alot. Alot that i will share with people over here! The issues were divided into two majorly by a witness (i couldn't really get his name). He kinda called it the blockchain issues and the community issues and that tackling one of them before the other will be good! I really liked that.

Good moderating @aggroed. Thumbs up sir! You did a great job with the 'DJ'ing too. I could see you love jackson's music!

Thanks witnesses for taking time to talk to us and address those questions!

Thanks!

@Aggroed, Very informative cast, like the channel.
Thank you for all the effort you put into keeping the community together.
And of course playing good music afterwards :D
Steem to take over the world 2018! (at least the social world)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13