You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What I Look For When Voting For Witnesses + (Steem Witness Spotlight)

in #witness6 years ago

Great thoughts.

I wish every stakeholder, reviews their witness votes in periodic intervals and check who they vote for with a small set of questions like these.

Also, @guiltyparties rocks in many ways. 🤘

Sort:  

I wish every stakeholder, reviews their witness votes in periodic intervals and check who they vote for with a small set of questions like these.

Lately, I am thinking a lot about "votes decay" feature. What if users could decide for how long they can give a vote? Giving a vote for perpetuity by default... sounds very unreasonable for a lot of people.

For example... if I trust one witness and I know him a lot, I could give him vote for 6 months. After that time I would knew that I should re-evaluate his work.

If I will find another new, but very promising witness, which in my eyes didn't prove his dedication (because he didn't have time)... I could give him an upvote for a month... and after that I would check how he is doing.

IMO they key would be to not set a default value, after which vote is cancel. User should be able to decide that.

This is true, also is someone goes to prison or dies, without a decay their votes would be locked for all eternity. Good points @noisy

Currently I try to check what is general impression of people for this proposal. It would change status quo, so it is potentially dengrous to bring such topic up :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63313.23
ETH 3079.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89