Got a job yet slacker?

in #work5 years ago (edited)

It has been a few days since anything has appeared in your feed from myself, and so I shall give you a few reasons as to why today.


IMG_9823.jpg
Et pendant ce temps, à La Réunion


In case you aren't aware, I left sunny Mallorca, Spain about 7 weeks ago now and returned to occasionally sunny England. The main reasons for this were to find a job and to spend more time with my daughter, and I can happily say that the second has happened. The last 3/4 years have flown by for me, and in that time my daughter has changed schools, become a keen swimmer, and has grown into a rather polite and lovely teenage girl.

It seems that the teenage shit hasn't hit the fan as yet and so I could well be back just in time to share some of that heat. There's always hope that she'll sail through these difficult years with issues, but I wouldn't be so naive to think of that being the case. Anyway, it's great to see her at least once a week, and the school summer holidays are certainly helping us do plenty of catching up.

The other item on my return home agenda is to find work. Clearly, Steem isn't doing what we all wish and those using the token as their main income are almost certainly struggling at present - even on a diet of pasta and peas. It's been pretty cool to tell people that I work online and in my own time (whilst forgetting to the answer the question on how much I earn), but it is about time (gone time) that I looked for other sources of income. Selling STEEM at 20 cents is hard on the soul, particularly when some of your work took days to put together.

At the end of last week I received an email from a company wishing to speak to me. They had called but the reception at my current location is non-existent and so the call never arrived. Via email, we arranged a time that I could be in a location with signal and the following call went quite well. I was initially told it would be potentially couple of weeks until I'd hear anything further but half an hour later, I received another call from the company (different person) stating that the initial chat had gone well, and would I like to attend a face-to-face interview on the Monday just gone.

Let me check my calendar....

I said yes of course, and at the weekend thought it would be a good idea to buy some shoes and check the suit for moth balls - all good. The shoes ( I hate shoes ) are actually pretty comfortable and i didn't end up with blisters on my heels, as is so often the case with new footwear of this kind. I still hate shoes though.

I arrived just before 2pm on Monday feeling quite confident I'd do OK in the interview. I'm not sure why I had these vibes as that is now only the 6th job interview I've ever had. One was for my placement year, two were internal interviews for the same company, and two were Skype interviews that ended up being voice only. That's not exactly solid interview experience, and I definitely have plenty to learn in that regard.

The interview went OK, and I have the folks in front of me to thank for that as they seemed friendly and instead of it feeling like a grilling, were quite supportive in leading me towards the answers they were looking for.

......they said you seemed very technically competent if somewhat under-prepared for the interview, with you only being back in the UK for 6 weeks. However this was not a concern for them. They both thought you would be a good fit for the team in terms of personality and manner.

I'll take that as feedback, including the assumption that the 6 weeks in the UK was the reason for being 'somewhat under-prepared'. I've since replied to the email I've had today stating that the infrequent interviews due to one long-standing employment period are the likely reason for not seeing fully on the ball on Monday. The email is just that, feedback, and although it sounds positive I still have to wait a few days at least for further feedback - which I guess will include an offer, or not.

Whilst I miss the sea and the lifestyle abroad, I'm slowly adjusting to the concrete and miserable faces other scenery in the city. Some income will help relax me further, and it'll mean I don't need to sell any more 'cheap' STEEM and pay off some debts I owe. It will also mean that i'll be spending much less time here, but that might not necessarily be a bad thing.

Alright, that'll do for today, have a good one,

Asher

Sort:  

So prior to running into you here, I had never heard the name Asher. I just assumed it was an original name. It wasn't long after in my son's karate class a boy showed up named Asher. It was like 2 worlds had collided, and there you were, a five year old boy with a serious case of the squirms and a problem with authority. I will keep you posted on how your alternate reality life turns out over here in the US. Thus far you have already tried to talk my son into getting in trouble with you. Tisk tisk.

Anyway, good luck on everything. I am confident that you present much better than your American counterpart ;)

Hey what are you doing going unnoticed at the top of the comments feed? Ahh, @gentlebot has visited you :)

... old boy with a serious case of the squirms and a problem with authority.

Sounds like me on a Friday night after some dodgy take-away food and ten beers :D

I can scrub up reasonably well for a one-off. There's one nice suit in my wardrobe, bought for my best friends wedding years ago that can fool any interview panel. Thanks!

Fingers crossed man, but sounds positive.
Just a prudent cheers upfront ...
Good luck.

Thanks, we shall see on Monday. And if not, freedom! :D

That sounds like you have bagged it. I know my onions when it comes to that lark. They wouldn't have said that if they didn't want you.

Here's hoping that is the case and it will be congratulations!

That sounds like you have bagged it.

He is in the UK now - always double bag it, just to make sure.

Even double bagging won't save you from the nasties in the UK!

But it might save having more children who need extensive dental work.

Along with yellow teeth we have powerful sperms that defy a bagging. Fearsome things you wouldn't want to come up against in the dark of the night

That is why I always keep a sharpened blade in the depth of my sporran.

And a cheese snack in case I get hungry.

Too right :O :O :O

Onion master!

Thanks Boomy, I am quietly confident - a slightly strange message to send if it was not the case but I'll not get excited until the fat lady sings with onion breath. Cheers!

Yes indeed, you have to wait for that lady. I renewed a time I went for an interview and I got on the spot feedback about how well I did and they asked me if I would like to see my desk!!

I never got it!

They showed you your desk and didn't give you the job? wtf! That could break a lesser man!

It almost did, I was desperate at the time!!

Very cockish of them. I hope you have since laid a turd in an a-light paper bag on their steps.

Hehe, that would have been the right thing to do!! There is nothing that burny shit won't sort out!!

They had called but the reception at my current location is non-existent and so the call never arrived.

Brexit already having an effect. Soon you will be eating each other, just like the good old days.

Glad the job hunnt is progressing and it sounds positive - hope you get it. With the first paycheck, how much 10 cent Steem are you going to buy?

Center of town as well - pretty shocking really.

Thanks :)

With the first paycheck, not a lot. I owe some monies and so that is priority, although it's interest free and so perhaps a bit of each could be on the cards. 10 cents so 8 British pence, crazy!

Howdy sir Asher It's good to catch up on your employment situation. I hope they get back to you soon with a good offer! It's also wonderful to hear that you've reconnected and spending time with your daughter, that's priceless!

Thank you @janton :) No news yet but i'm fairly hopeful on this one.

They're out of their minds if they don't hire you! lol.

Thank you for the show of faith @janton, I should be finding out either way soon enough :)

It will also mean that i'll be spending much less time here, but that might not necessarily be a bad thing.

It is not the end of world – been doing the same myself since March, but have managed to spend time here and post quite consistently. It's just a matter of priorities, and even though I put my day job, sleep and friends first, there's still surprisingly a lot of time that would be just fluff should there not be anything to do in the Steemverse.

Hope you get the job, it's definitely useful now when you'd have to be selling your Steem short.

March - no wonder you are frequently near the top of the Power-up League :)

I'm sure I'll still find time for a post most days, just wont be able to mess about for 10+ hours a day.

March - no wonder you are frequently near the top of the Power-up League :)

I actually only recently bought some Steem at $0.24, otherwise I've done the tactical move to power down and then feed the liquids to @ocdb. Price is lowering again, so I dolphin-hood might come even sooner without needing to power down momentarily at all :)

Fingers crossed. Sounds positive and glad to hear you're spending plenty of happy time with your daughter. 😍

there i fixed it for you :)

😂

Thank you Gillian :) Yes the summer holidays are giving us lots of times - it's so strange seeing her on a day that doesn't start with an S!

Oh. Bloody hell I upvoted my comment rather than yours. it's been that kind of day! 😢

I can always remove mine if you like? :D

No need. @michaelb already fixed it. But thanks for the kind offer. 😂

Umm, a job I'd want... let me think about that :)

Thanks @crokkon, I hope you are well and enjoying the summer too.

.

Damn dude, if you get the job no more selling STEEM at 20c, I forbid it! In the end if it's hard getting something that you already have experience in the UK is full of bars/restaurantes jobs, it's worst pay but it's better than in most countries, and u'll be able to live for a while until STEEM gets up again to full Steam.

Keep on hustling! And good luck your daughter's teen years, you better prepare urself physically, emotionally and spiritually

Or 18.5 cents. That is certainly not good value if you compare to the time taken on content.

Hopefully I wont need a bar job here, just need to get my brain back into gear for the 9-5 grind.

...better prepare urself physically, emotionally and spiritually

Is it possible to prepare for something like this, I'm not sure!

Is it possible to prepare for something like this, I'm not sure!

Yes... it is... go to the nearest Church and get some holy water

Congratulation, I hope it is not to premature. At least you have a toe in the door, and your not having to go to some other country to have the toe smashed. here's hoping it all works out for you.

Yeah this is one of those good toes in doors, my feet couldn't take many more of the other kind. Cheers :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62981.24
ETH 3034.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75