[Original Novel] Little Robot, Part 13

in #writing6 years ago (edited)


Part 1
Part 2
Part 3
Part 4
Part 5
Part 6
Part 7
Part 8
Part 9
Part 10
Part 11
Part 12

I took a seat on the edge of the concrete platform just outside the inner door of the lockout. To my right, a grated steel walkway to the fabricator. I’d get around to it. Just then I had something else in mind. Still rattled from before, I felt I could do with some comforting.

So I unzipped the bag and pulled out a chemical hand warmer. The type where you break a glass flask within the sealed plastic pouch, allowing the catalyst inside to set off an exothermic chemical reaction. I then set it on my knee, whistled as loud as I could, and waited.

A few minutes of silence, save for that distorted, distant dripping followed. Then the first of my timid visitors appeared. Inching cautiously within range of the light mounted just above the inner hatch, it looked to be an advanced variation on a quadrupedal design I observed about a month earlier.

“Oh, it’s you” I whispered. Large swiveling conical ears came to bear on me. It backed away slightly. “It’s okay little fellow” I assured the curious metallic creature. “I won’t hurt you. I even brought you something.” I dangled the hand warmer by the edge and jiggled it about.

That did the trick. It ambled close enough to extend the peltier junction from within a protective alcove on the underside of its head. I placed the steaming plastic sack of chemicals up against the smooth, grey plate. The little critter shuddered, and leaned into it. They absolutely crave these things.

Before long he was joined by something resembling a ten foot long chrome millipede with countless tiny whirring legs. The two fought over the hand warmer until I produced a second from my bag, set the reaction going, and handed it over to the newcomer.

They’ve advanced so far just in the scant few years since the experiment began. Part of that is the fabricator’s AI. Evolutionary Robotics did not feel it could wait a billion years to see a return on this investment, so the normal pace of natural selection was sped up by permitting some degree of artificially intelligent guesswork with respect to which mutations would work out well based on records of past results.

What goes on here is really more akin to selective breeding, though of course no actual mating occurs. Yet, anyway. The result is that substantial morphological change will occur over the span of decades, not eons. Speaking of which, pretty soon I was surrounded by all manner of strange looking metallic beasties on two, four, six, eight legs and more.

Some with long, feather-like antennae. Others with bulging compound eyes consisting of clustered cameras. I saw more than one gliding along on a bed of lubricant, like the mechanical equivalent of a snail.

And oh, what a light show! For the same reasons deep sea fish are commonly bioluminescent, most of the critters down here sport all colors and styles of light emitting gizmos. LEDs, electroluminescent outer skin, some advanced to the point that they are practically serviceable video displays. I’ve seen the same sort of capabilities on cuttlefish and some octopi, come to think of it.

A few of the smaller, winged critters perched on my shoulders. Creeping, crawling, slithering machines made their way up my legs to rest in my lap, contentedly absorbing my body heat. I felt like some bizarre Disney princess about to break into song.

Now and again a fight broke out between two or more, and I’d have to disrupt it. That’s what they’re here to do, compete for food. Nevertheless I broke it up and made sure each had its own pouch to feast on.

“I wonder what the result would be if evolution were based on cooperation instead of competition”, I mused. The one with the big ears angled them in my direction and gave me what I interpreted as a quizzical look.

When the last of the hand warmers began to go cold, all of the creatures save for the one in my lap withdrew into the darkness in search of other sources of warmth. I stroked the odd little beast nestled amid my crossed legs. It chirped, buzzed and beeped signifying what I took for satisfaction.

“I really hate to move you, but I have work to do.” Sensing motion, it burrowed in a bit to prevent me from lifting it. So I just uncrossed my legs and shooed it onto the ground. With an audible crackle and blue flash, it tazed my ankle. I yelped, then cursed a bit as it skittered off for parts unknown. “You little shit!” I shouted, followed by a much softer “...Have fun. Be safe. I love you.”

The fabricator looked to be in good condition. On the rare occasion when it isn’t, the attendant robots have always gotten to it before I could. Even so, regulations require human inspection, and it’s necessary that regulations be followed. That’s the officially correct way to do things, so that’s how it has to be.

I rested on a damp boulder for a while, just watching the fabricator work. It’s mesmerizing. Like the grandest conceivable Rube Goldberg machine, each individual component handed off from one section to the next.

When that step of manufacturing completes, the part then continues on its way towards the final assembly bay, before another completed critter is released into the world. As much of the world as it will ever see, anyhow.

The expanded security measure for the inner hatch sees to that. Rather than the usual numeric keypad, there’s a full keyboard and a multi-line display which poses a series of questions. Stage one is basic addition, subtraction and multiplication problems. Stage two is usually a word problem. Stage three describes a variety of scenarios, then asks how you feel about each of them and why.

I often fail stage three a few times before I can get out. It’s a hassle, but I see the wisdom in it. If we used the standard four digit code like the keypad on the outside, nothing precludes the possibility that some species would be able to watch from a distance, then perfectly imitate the sequence of buttons it saw me press in order to escape.

That would be the upper limit of cleverness I’d expect from something like a rat, or a crow. Based on what I’ve seen, it’ll take a good ten or twenty years before anything on that level is crawling around these damp, dark caves at which point the security will be due for an upgrade. Until then, I suppose I’ll just put up with it. Rules are rules.

After checking to make sure Lars hadn’t somehow tampered with them again by sheer force of will, I followed the instructions on the new printout in reverse and before long was peeling off the bunny suit with Sue’s help. Despite my mask, the foul, acrid smell of whatever sterilizing agent is used by the decontamination shower stung my eyes and nostrils.

As I crossed the floor towards the single story modular office structure, I noticed one of the B.E.A.M. bots fruitlessly trapped in a tight circular orbit around the illuminated spot it meant to reach. That does happen sometimes, if they approach at a particular angle.

The rest were frantically swarming a newly illuminated spot at the other end of the enclosure. This tiny fellow, the black sheep of the bunch, would’ve had a light to himself which the others were oblivious to...if not for his mistake.

I looked around. The coast was clear. Though really, we’ve long since gathered all of the useful data possible to from the Garden and applied it to the fabricator’s programming. Tampering with this precursor experiment at such a late stage wouldn’t do any harm.

I picked up the frustrated little machine and placed it directly onto the light. Its wheels stopped spinning as it contentedly soaked up its meal. No idea that I helped it. Or that I exist. Or that it exists, for that matter. Didn’t stop me, never does.

Lars was waiting for me in my workspace. I ignored him. Still seething, I knew I’d just make a fool of myself if I lashed out. I took a seat and quietly steeled myself as I waited for whatever new prank he’d come to pull.

He scratched at his scraggly blond beard, probably searching for words. “So uh, Sue came and had a talk with me. I guess it was kind of immature to fool you like that.” I typed away on the keyboard, unpacking more archived educational materials for Helper.

“....Though I s’pose it isn’t you I made a fool of. You’re just real hard to understand sometimes, yanno?” I knew, but still wasn’t in any mood to participate. “Sue told me you were bullied growing up. I didn’t know ‘bout that. ‘Course if you ask me, they did you a favor. Bullying helps build character! Makes you a stronger person.”

It didn’t surprise me that someone like Lars would look at it that way. He’ll never see himself as the bad guy. They never do. Even bullies are the heroes of their own life’s story, any wrongdoing on their part easily rationalized as helpful or necessary. Still, it meant something to me that he’d come and try to make amends.

“Don’t worry about it.” He looked incredulous. I repeated that it wasn’t that big a deal. A lie, but I wanted him out of my hair so I could focus on Helper. It worked, and the rest of the day blew past as it usually does when Helper and I are left alone.


Stay Tuned for Part 14!

Sort:  

Some with long, feather-like antennae. Others with bulging compound eyes consisting of clustered cameras. I saw more than one gliding along on a bed of lubricant, like the mechanical equivalent of a snail.

lol we call them insecto-robo species

With an audible crackle and blue flash, it tazed my ankle. I yelped, then cursed a bit as it skittered off for parts unknown. “You little shit!” I shouted, followed by a much softer “...Have fun. Be safe. I love you.”

lol typical you

“Don’t worry about it.” He looked incredulous. I repeated that it wasn’t that big a deal. A lie, but I wanted him out of my hair so I could focus on Helper. It worked, and the rest of the day blew past as it usually does when Helper and I are left alone.

Ah awesome now we can move on to other things, thanks for the read Alex, i look forward to the next one

I love the creativity here. At the beginning of this piece, u didnt quite get the gist but along the line it became clear.

Some with long, feather-like antennae. Others with bulging compound eyes consisting of clustered cameras. I saw more than one gliding along on a bed of lubricant, like the mechanical equivalent of a snail.

Now this is what I call variety.

deep sea fish are commonly bioluminescent

You’re definitely right about this , I’ve seen so many bioluminescent deep sea creatures in documentaries.

I must say, Weldone sir to this. Anytime I read your articles, it plays like a movie in my mind. You’re a master writer I give you that . Kudos , more grease to your elbow

I then set it on my knee, whistled as loud as I could, and waited.

And there it is coming like this curious metallic creature was waiting for him. lol this little metal fella loves the hand wormer. It’s just like it feels the heat. Then another one came. He got his hand warmer as well otherwise they would start the fight over it. Then another one came, eventually he was surrounded by these metal creatures. Each one of them being different size, different look...They eventually left after the warmer got cold to look for other heat source. The source they were meant for.

Well the millipede like insect competing for food, Lol sometimes we tend to really get carried away by these things

As for bullying, I think it's terrible but it tends to make one stronger faster than they expected you know. Amazing chapter again, I enjoyed

A lie, but I wanted him out of my hair so I could focus on Helper. It worked, and the rest of the day blew past as it usually does when Helper and I are left alone.

This is devotion.I admire the kindof relationship these two have.Genuine

I love the almost dreamlike form that you tell, the part that the robots are grouped by the thermal bags gives an idea how is the self-sustaining system for fighting for food.

And Lars nothing to forge character, He is a bully there is no other way to say it.

Okay, I already forgot what I said about that chapter when I've read it the first time.
I feel like I'm repeating myself over and over again lol. Probably should stop commenting on the repeating stories.

But I like your comments. :3

I like your writing too :3

Yesterday I had a dream where a Robot wanted to throw me out of the window because I didn't want to give him my Milkyway.
Now I'm thinking, why Milkyway? Maybe I should buy a couple. I don't remember when I ate it last time.

I like the idea that AI would be shy of or fear humans! Makes sense to me that we would have to earn their trust!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00