You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Childhood memory

in #writing5 years ago

Wow! Such a great story. The musical aides were marvelous too, but made me feel like a slowpoke for running out of music before the second aide came in hahaha

I enjoyed this story very much. I love Dungeons & Dragons, and the feeling of this story for me was that masterfully designed and carried out quest. The interactions were lovely, and the team had such a synergy... I'd wish every member in a party was this well adjusted to each other! The dialogs were very dynamic, and I admire you for that. One of my great weaknesses when writing is that I don't handle dialogues well, but reading such well constructed conversation is of invaluable help. Thanks for that.

I also always enjoy antagonic treasure-keepers that are as well behaved and rational as this one. No need for a big fight when you've got the power of words, right?

Thanks for a magnificent story, I'm glad I made time for reading it : )

Sort:  

UwU~ Thanks for reading and the compliments! I love it when I pick music-aides, usually try to find lengthy music so people have enough time to read before the music ends. Anyways, I wrote this in advance of an adolescent friendship that was already developed but still being lived out. So I had fun showing how developed, yet with high potential~ involved, the three’s friendship are and how much they care for each other. Also dialogues are my favorite thing within stories, just way to pass time and a subtle way to root in lore and background explanations while avoiding the “show and tell” aspect of writing.

Of course you’ll have to be smart about writing dialogue so people think it “natural.” Regardless, glad to have helped yah in this department. And I like watching D&D stuff, never had a serious serial campaign however. Anywho, I never liked senseless fightings without even a selfish and irrational reason for the fight to begin with. Or to say, if it has no reason nor even an irrational logic to back it up, I might not even dare to write the fight in. So, with a lack of time to write the ending, I just quickly wrote this encounter in but weaved in the Master Mason’s involvement since they entered the compound (as referenced in the dialogue).

F52D6A64-2C5C-4F74-860C-710FCEEF18A8.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62989.29
ETH 3048.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99