You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Childhood memory

in #writing5 years ago

What I enjoyed the most is the fast dialogues between the three. Joyful and fresh, with the characters described in great detail. I'm sorry for your workload but happy for the curie.. congrats tovarish!

Sort:  

UwU ~ Thanks for reading and thanks for the compliments! And thanks once more for noticing the usage of life-speed dialogues and the detail-crafting. Honestly, despite knowing I just stir my passions here, I enjoy thinking the pace of dialouge, the cut/spit backs between characters, playing off the awkwardness and taking lil’ steps whenever possible/practical. The same in world-building, but nothing works better for the orator (id est, third/removed person narrator) than to make everything cartoonish/alive. While I disagree with that “show don’t tell” rule as I think it funny that writers only tell in a more fancier way, I do agree with just not explaining the obvious and having fun with the reader’s senses as they develop the film in their heads. Withal, if a writer really wished to show something, they can become an artist as well to avoid the limits of language.

B4C93328-F60D-426B-BA73-6728ED897D2A.gif

Your idea about the show don't tell rule makes me think.. probably some good exceptions are needed and welcome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62841.54
ETH 3040.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92