Ursula K. Le Guin died

in #writing6 years ago

“The creative adult is the child who has survived.” - Ursula K. Le Guin

This isn't going to be a long post. Ursula K. Le Guin was and is one of my favorite authors. When I first started creating my own fantasy worlds, complete with maps and reams of pages of scribbles about civilizations, it was as a 4th grader tremendously impressed with the Earthsea series. My conception of how magic "works" in the fantasy games I run is strongly influenced by the magic in Earthsea. My own personal conception of gender and sexuality as a fluid continuum owes a lot to her Hainish Cycle (and in particular of course The Left Hand of Darkness). I honestly can't think of another person who has had as great an impact on my life and philosophy than Ursula, outside of my own immediate family.

If you have not had the pleasure of reading her, please rectify this. It is rare to see someone combine such a gift for language and words with such an open and inquisitive mind. She stands among the great thinkers and writers of all time, in my estimation.

Much love - Carl

Sort:  

Nooo, she has defined the sci fi and fantasy genre for at least the last 40 years. One of the greatest story tellers, RIP.

Whao. Sounds like a great mind--and loss. Will surely check her out.

Interesting to see we have had paralell experiences with fantasy authors Carl. The only difference is that I was originally inspired to world creation by Tolkien's Middle Earth rather than Ursula's Earthsea. I remember my fascination had no bounds when I first started playing D+D and then later creating my own settings as a DM. It was definitely the act of sub-creation through D+D that sparked my creative drive in regards to writing. Well, that's my first memory of getting that spark of creativity anyway.

I first discovered the Earthsea Trilogy in my mothers book collection. It was one of only 3 fantasy/SciFi books she owned and I pulled it off the shelf one day fully expecting it to be rubbish. I was in that phase of adolecent where anything to do with parents had to be completely uncool. Anyway, I was sat on the living room floor for hours and devoured 2 or 3 chapters before being snapped out of my reverie by the call to dinner. After reading all three of the Earthsea trilogy in a row, Ursula K. Le Guin became my favorite Fantasy author alongside Tolkien, equally as important and magical in influence on my young life. I always loved fantasy literature for the true escape from reality it offered. Tolkien and Ursula K. Le Guin both are masters of this textured world creation that is the essence of fantasy. The story of a young Ged learning the art of magic, and Le Guin's concept of a magic system is truly awesome. In the idea of spells being realized in the true naming of a thing/place/person, she draws so subtly from various mythologies, while making it pure earthsea at the same time. This news was the first thing I woke up to on my facebook feed this morning and it saddened me greatly. Too many of my favorite authors have died in recent years, Ian Banks, Terry Pratchett and now Ursula K. Le Guin. RIP

Can you tell me your favorite book from her?
Is it fantasy or sci-fi? thosa my favorite genders to read...
I would like to try a new author since i almost finish all Isaac Asimov and Arthur C Clarke ones... :P

She writes both fantasy and sci fi, and some that is a blend of both. "Favorite" is hard to say but the Earthsea trilogy is super accessible and some of my favorite fantasy writing ever.

I was so sad when I found out yesterday. even sadder was only one other person knew who she was. I wonder if the stories told by epic storytellers 1000 years ago have simply been eclipsed by their art.

But where I can get prickly & combative is if I’m just called a sci-fi writer. I’m not. I’m a novelist and poet. Don’t shove me into your damn pigeonhole, where I don’t fit, because I’m all over.

—Ursula K. Le Guin

RIP brave, unclassifiable spirit, your work lives on...

No fantasy world fan would have his library complete without at least one of her works.

I remember stumbling on one of her books when I was in highschool. I have always been a bookworm and having read all the books we had at home from ponderous encyclopaedias, to the sweet valley high ones my sisters had and to my Matriarch's horror her Sidney Sheldon books.
So I resolved to read a lot of not all the books in our school library.
The fantasy and scifi section always had a special place in my heart and I await every new acquisition or donation given.
Reading her Earthsea novels made me appreciate the rich lore she gave and to her notion of true names.
Alas another luminary of the literary world is gone and you gave her fitting tribute here.
Thank you.

I already have a soft spot for science-fiction writers... I frequently make sentences like, "if Philip Kindred Dick was still alive" (he's a legend as you know!)... It seems now I will add Ursula K. Le Guin's name to these sentences. So sad.

Thank you for this post, Carl. I read The Left Hand of Darkness, and almost all other books by her. If it wasn't for your post I wouldn't know she's gone. I would love to know more about your own fantasy worlds, civilizations and maps. Did you share any of that here on Steemit?

I haven't really. Most of it is all handwritten stuff, I haven't really figured out how to best present it.

A beautiful tribute in her spirit. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. 🦋

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61233.41
ETH 2934.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56