Spider Sector

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Spider Sector

original writing
  featuring fractal art by hypex2722


foldhexer_by_hypex2772-dcb9c66.jpg


A zippered arachnid peeking eight-legged chrome
through the inner sanctum's one-way windows.

Through the aluminum alloy walls,
past spattered ceramic to gaze into the midnight streets
at macrobes grotesque with complexity
(and the parasitoids
that build miniature cities on their backs).

Hanging from puppeteer threads
on the cleft edges of the unreal,
crisp pheromones pour urnlike
over jade and turquoise terminals.

The voidstrip thrives with its surreal commerce:
trading blueprints for starbits,
digital eels lurking in the sable alley waters
in anticipation of a keen snipe.

Spider Sector—
only a cell on the seam of the Grand Magic Cube Valley,
octa-hexadic delegation for the mega-scale realm
that plots to implode ordinary gravitic strictures
to replace them with more spontaneous algorithms,
rendering the universe an etheric technoartist's fantasy.

And ever the glinting arachnids await,
on near-omniscient standby,
for when they are called by the Nexus Mind
to crystallize their witnessing.

Surgelight auras about the cybernetic spider,
springing into life to perform duties abstruse.
Mirror globes morphing into dull strands,
Autochthonic webbing plumbs shallow anomalies
Into the space-time grid.

In the distorted snapback, the last vestige
Of a spider's autonomy shatters.

Formerly vegetated sentinel,
now a faithful silica column with strung nerves
looking out on the neon life force
strobing invisibly through the mechanical ultrapolis.


cosine_pow_spiders_by_hypex2772-dcd3k37.jpg


magic_cube_fractal_by_hypex2772-dcbgn69.jpg


foldhexder.jpgmagic_cube_fractal_by_hypex2772-dcbgn69 2.jpg


Written by
@d-pend
7/11/18
.
Fractal art by
   hypex2722

.
  1 — "Foldhexer"
  2 — "Cosine Pow Spiders"
  3 — "Magic Cube Fractal"
  4 — "Nexus"

magic_cube_fractal_by_hypex2772-dcbgn69 3.jpgfoldhexder2.jpg


nexus_by_hypex2772-dcajtnm.jpg


foldhexder3.jpgfoldhexder4.jpg


Sort:  

@d-pend,

Well ... if this poem was supposed to make me develop an appreciation for spiders, it failed. It made me want to grab a can of RAID. Of course, it also made me want to move to the country and live in a tent, so perhaps it had the intended effect.

BTW, how's your newfound freedom? I was half-way through a poem entitled, "ENCORE! ENCORE!" that I had intended to post on Day 100 ... but my daughter told me that my sense of humor contains a streak of cruelty that not all find becoming. :-)

I was on Pryde's blog earlier (she's running a Contest) and my reply to one of the comments was, "You've been hanging around @d-pend, haven't you?" Cosmic wormholes and such. Sure enough. You've created a new genre of poetry, complete with adherents. We need to come up with a name. The ad-man in me thinks it should be something short and simple. But, if it's going to be authentic, it's going to have to be 20+ syllables long ... and, probably ought to be written in cuneiform. :-)

I've been away for awhile so I'm going to scroll back and have a look at your most recent literary shenanigans.

Quill

Who is the spider @d-pend? Is this spider civilization itself with layer upon layer of symbiosis?

These lines remind us of something more than just the spider we see:

the parasitoids
that build miniature cities on their backs

You must have had fun writing this. Just as much fun as I had looking at the pictures. To me they look like Korean housing development projects.

image.png

There is an urban complexity in this poem and in the pictures. For example:

Spider Sector—
only a cell on the seam of the Grand Magic Cube Valley,
octa-hexadic delegation for the mega-scale realm
that plots to implode ordinary gravitic strictures
to replace them with more spontaneous algorithms,
rendering the universe an etheric technoartist's fantasy.

It is really enjoyable to follow the cybernetic spider through the space time grid.

I don't know if you ever heard this song but for some odd reason I think you will like it. The song was never a smash but was one of my favorite and way ahead of its time. Enjoy ^^

This poem talks about construction. I suppose it is a matter of disagreement with the abstract forms that reveal the current population centers and compare them with spider webs. Moving away more and more from the constructions of traditional houses that respected and gave space to nature.

Through the aluminum alloy walls,
past spattered ceramic to gaze into the midnight streets [...] build miniature cities on their backs

I perceive a concern in the voice inside the poem:

In the distorted snapback, the last vestige
Of a spider's autonomy shatters.

There is a complaint present: how to destroy the virgin nature, the hills full of vegetation and fauna, to replace it with a housing complex full of artifices and cold materials, lacking in life.

Formerly vegetated sentinel,
now a faithful silica column with strung nerves
looking out on the neon life force
strobing invisibly through the mechanical ultrapolis.

¡Excellent writing, @d-pend... Blessings!

Totally heavy.

Also, I can't stop scrolling back up to look at the picture. Opened it in a new tab and still can't stop.

Haha, thanks man. I appreciate the comment. It helped me realize that half the post had been chopped off somehow, so I pasted it again :-D It was probably pretty confusing, or could you see the whole post before?

Nah I only saw half of it. Just felt like a jackass for not totally understanding. A little better sense of closure now. ;)

Lol. Well I felt like a jackass for not noticing it was only half-there xD Thanks for stopping by dude.

Great work as always, sir. Spiders speak to me, and the symbolism throughout was deeply enjoyed. Thanks for sharing.

Great art too! @hypex2722 I play around with Fractal Architect but this work is really neat. As mentioned in a previous comment- at first glance it looks like a cityscape, either an ancient or advanced civilization. Glad you saw them as relevant, they fit here very nicely.

Great post.

This poem is trying to change my long held revulsion for creepy crawlies like spiders.. I am now reconsidering my opinions but this is a great mastery of the pen its amazing for as a poet too i strive to attain these heights

This was heavy. Difficult to understand.
But I somehow manage to get through it twice. Sheer brilliance.
I want you read my recent poem and tell me what you think of it, please. :)

All the pictures you take are very beautiful and extraordinary in one word, I think that you have taken these pictures very carefully.

You have collected your daily Power Ups! Your posts received total upvotes worth of 2.1$.
Learn how to power up smart here!

nice... poem and all pictures....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.40
ETH 3576.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75