You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An Exercise In Vulnerability: Introduction to a novel

in #writing5 years ago (edited)

my complete ignorance of everything in the entire world was blatantly obvious LOL!! Yep, that sums it up! I would also say that the writing isn't terrible, but just compared to some of my newer stuff it's extremely lacking.

What I find cool about it as I go through it is seeing the progression of my life as far as ideas. Also a bit cringe worthy- I came from an avid christian household and once upon a time I believed in all of the church stuff as much as a five year old believes in Santa- only I was far older than five before I began questioning in earnest and nearly thirty before I finally overcame the extensive brainwashing. That will be most obvious in this Y/A novel as my main character is clearly christian lol. But the fact that it is a Y/A book will make it a lot easier to rewrite than if I'd gone for something more mature actually. Also, there's a book two of this story that I didn't completely finish that I'm going to have to scrap almost completely- the direction is not one I would take now. But I know where I want to take it now and I'm actually a bit excited about it now that I've worked it out :)

Sort:  

LoL XD I think it's pretty normal for the early stuff to be cringe-worthy :D Yay for figuring out where you want to take the story :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61905.09
ETH 2902.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55