You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An Exercise In Vulnerability: Introduction to a novel

in #writing5 years ago

I've been a bit like that with some of my old works :) I started rewriting one in particular that I think had some good ideas and wasn't even badly written, it's just that my complete ignorance of everything in the entire world was blatantly obvious XD that's been backburned though as I concentrate on what I'm doing now.

Though one thing I have also noticed when going through some of my old stuff is that a lot of characters (or at least their concepts) and ideas have managed to make their way into my current stuff. Do you find this too? :D

Sort:  

my complete ignorance of everything in the entire world was blatantly obvious LOL!! Yep, that sums it up! I would also say that the writing isn't terrible, but just compared to some of my newer stuff it's extremely lacking.

What I find cool about it as I go through it is seeing the progression of my life as far as ideas. Also a bit cringe worthy- I came from an avid christian household and once upon a time I believed in all of the church stuff as much as a five year old believes in Santa- only I was far older than five before I began questioning in earnest and nearly thirty before I finally overcame the extensive brainwashing. That will be most obvious in this Y/A novel as my main character is clearly christian lol. But the fact that it is a Y/A book will make it a lot easier to rewrite than if I'd gone for something more mature actually. Also, there's a book two of this story that I didn't completely finish that I'm going to have to scrap almost completely- the direction is not one I would take now. But I know where I want to take it now and I'm actually a bit excited about it now that I've worked it out :)

LoL XD I think it's pretty normal for the early stuff to be cringe-worthy :D Yay for figuring out where you want to take the story :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63236.79
ETH 3280.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85