You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Drive

in #writing6 years ago

Nice poem that discusses your emotions. My favorite part is the overall theme about leaving with issues, then the journey works them out and the speaker returns with a smile and peace. It is as if the travelling works out issues and by journeying issues are worked out naturally.

Were those pictures you took? or were they images that fit your mood?

Sort:  

I wholeheartedly believe that getting out and taking a drive can cure many things. It’s almost as if everything you see becomes meaningful in some way, and by seeing the meaningful things, we are able to better put things into perspective.

And both. I took these photos, during my drive, and for me, they reflect the emotion/mood that I felt. I can’t be sure if everyone feels what I felt, but I know when I look at the photos, I remember exactly the way I felt, and what each photo meant to me in that moment... and how every photo I took made me feel a little lighter. :)

And that is what good poetry is too; a word expression of your emotions and feelings, hopefully felt by the reader.

The biggest problem, translation and communicating that abstract feeling effectively. Like you said, "I remember exactly the way I felt," but that may not be what another person sees. But while that is challenging to hone the reader into a certain emotion, it is also the greatest strength of poetry: multiple simultaneous interpretations based on text evidence.

Thanks again for sharing, and for the picture explanation! I can't wait to see more :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62568.36
ETH 3010.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89