The Drive

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

And so I drive. I drive because I am feeling lost. I drive because it feels good to get away. I drive because, even though I’m down, I can be healed by the beauty in this day.

1F0AEE22-7461-4A48-B857-E09366B4D9AF.jpeg

I drive farther, turn after turn. With every beautiful shadow, I feel relief from the burn. The angry words. The exhaustive fight. With this kind of view, all becomes right.

612B5462-DCBF-4BF6-A144-4EBE86FDA75E.jpeg

18FFEC7C-1A92-4E49-9D65-B7D62D00D61E.jpeg

I drive uphills and down them, too. It reminds me of life, and it reminds me of you.

6143E8F4-6E64-4871-A22A-FD78E795C0DF.jpeg

D1C1CBC4-B86E-44D2-B23C-90EBCC731AE7.jpeg

I drive through corridors of beautiful trees, and it makes me feel safe, as if no one can see.

7C77BC64-0254-43D8-AAF5-12C7ABE931BA.jpeg

I turn up my music, and let my hands decide where to go. I feel the weight leaving me, and my smile starts to show.

0C0F630E-C84B-496F-B1C9-DC60CEC1A48C.jpeg

2FDD7FA9-E58A-4091-97A8-7BE7377516A1.jpeg

I drive alone, but the music fills my mind. It’s chasing away the bad, and steady breathing is no longer hard to find.

1E77023E-463D-417F-B3E4-55F12C4A7A5A.jpeg

0FC06D03-53F3-4AC2-B0A1-F3ADBC6B2015.jpeg

I drive by things that are vacant, and I drive by things that have been left behind. They remind me of us, and they remind me that our love has turned into something so unkind.

B225CF4A-A750-4034-A0A4-5FDDB79A2CE7.jpeg

1D7ED7A0-541B-4613-9E56-B3CD525C3ACA.jpeg

I drive a little faster to pass this by. I see some other creatures, and their non-judging eyes. I slow my speed, and I allow myself to, finally, cry.

1871A32E-62DC-491D-BB5F-B595F0741032.jpeg

8CFB5A9B-5C02-419D-9FAA-EF6E7102AB27.jpeg

The cry feels so good, and the sun shines so bright. I realize my problems are minute, and I’m gonna be alright.

6ECFD033-23CB-475B-A871-C11A4675DD6A.jpeg

9CEFC6A0-4CFC-4CBC-B53E-011DCD36C707.jpeg

Turn after turn, I’ve been driving for a while. I left home with a burden, and I’m returning with a smile.

FCAE8993-4C4C-456D-AE42-A2BD7953C0F6.jpeg

704409A0-50BB-48A1-BF59-FFC320737B5D.jpeg

Peace. Love. And seeing the beauty in everything.

E

Sort:  

Love it :)

Thank you!

i like this post and i love nature and river, i really like you last images very intresting

Thank you!

Absolutely amazing post. Perfect combination of poetic writing and fantastic landscape images. While reading and watching this I felt both sorrow and happiness. If value of art is in the amount of emotions that it provokes, then you are a genius. One of the best posts I read on Steemit. (:

This is the one of the best compliments I have ever received, and I hope I never forget it. Thank you so much for it!

I am glad you are properly reward for this fantastic post (:
I have read it at least 10 times :D

Wow! I did not see that coming! Thank you! That compliment had made it for me, but this is pretty freaking great, too! :)

amazing poetry! loving your photos especially this one:

and this line:

Turn after turn, I’ve been driving for a while. I left home with a burden, and I’m returning with a smile.

Thanks for sharing :)

Thank you! That particular location was pretty phenomenal. I spent several minutes at that spot.

That line... sometimes, we just need to find an outlet, whatever that may be, so we can put things in perspective... lay the unnecessary burdens down. :)

You're welcome. Yeah exactly. If I were on that spot as well, I'll absolutely seize the moment, pull out my notebook and write. Really inspiring view.

Yep, throwing extra baggages makes us feel light. ^_^

Very nice post @ellicia. I too have loved to just get in the car and take off. It's a very liberating feeling. And the way you put Art into it with this piece is really fantastic and quite interesting.

Kudos to you :)

Thank you so much!!! It’s a great feeling, isn’t it?!

I was actually hesitant to post this, but I’m glad I did!

Absolutely beautiful journey through words and imagery... weaved together in a stunning and powerful progression... Love it!! Really looking forward to getting involved here, being inspired more by posts like this and inspiring others with my work too!
Thanks for the share.
Hart Floe
<3

Thank you so much! Steemit is a great place for inspiring and being inspired! ❤️

For sure... I can see that already after just a few hours! <3

Nice poem that discusses your emotions. My favorite part is the overall theme about leaving with issues, then the journey works them out and the speaker returns with a smile and peace. It is as if the travelling works out issues and by journeying issues are worked out naturally.

Were those pictures you took? or were they images that fit your mood?

I wholeheartedly believe that getting out and taking a drive can cure many things. It’s almost as if everything you see becomes meaningful in some way, and by seeing the meaningful things, we are able to better put things into perspective.

And both. I took these photos, during my drive, and for me, they reflect the emotion/mood that I felt. I can’t be sure if everyone feels what I felt, but I know when I look at the photos, I remember exactly the way I felt, and what each photo meant to me in that moment... and how every photo I took made me feel a little lighter. :)

And that is what good poetry is too; a word expression of your emotions and feelings, hopefully felt by the reader.

The biggest problem, translation and communicating that abstract feeling effectively. Like you said, "I remember exactly the way I felt," but that may not be what another person sees. But while that is challenging to hone the reader into a certain emotion, it is also the greatest strength of poetry: multiple simultaneous interpretations based on text evidence.

Thanks again for sharing, and for the picture explanation! I can't wait to see more :)

The poetry and the landscape are exquisite. The way they complement each other is something very few manage to do. Wow. Wow. Wow. This is off the hook.

Oh, my gosh! Thank you so much!!!

WOW that was lovely!!! What a great composition. Am i allowed to ask where the photos are taken? Sorry if you have said somewhere in the comments i have looked and can't find? Those beautiful sunsets... are... well they are just delicious.

Sarah

Thank you!!! You are certainly allowed to ask that! These photos were taken around West Plains, Missouri. I was actually heading back home when the sun set in such a beautiful way, that I ended up driving just a bit longer, so I could see it. The sky almost appeared to be on fire. It was absolutely breathtaking, and it was definitely a spectacular, and unexpected, ending to my drive. :)

oh how lovely. I love afternoons like that, unexpected and beautiful. Much better than going on a photography trip and coming up empty handed. Such a pretty trip. thanks so very much for sharing. All this poetry on Steemit and i'm getting back into writing it i think. I'd forgotten how much i like it! thanks so much

That was beautiful. The emotions, the seens. Thats a nice drive to calm the mind and get back in the flow of things. You live in a beautiful place. Loved the cow and the hawk. PS also loved that it was an easy read:)

Thank you!!! I’m happy that you enjoyed it. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85