Ramble, too depressed to be coherant

in #writing6 years ago

I was sitting in my chair today, unable to do anything. I'm binge-watching TV shows when I should be working. There is this emptiness inside me. A cloud of shrowded darkness. Not always, just today, after a long, long time. It has been hard, the last months. I seem to slip back into old patterns. I am overtaken by work, my brain constantly in movement. There is no time for myself. I overwork my mind and know it. But I take no pause.

I know where these patterns lead. When there is more darkness and tiering days than just air to breathe, I spiral. It may last a day, or two, maybe a year. In my teens, the time when I went through change and development, I was always in the dark. It taught me things, I learned to embrace it. But I also lost time. Weeks at a time I would spend in bed, lost into books, computer games, and tv-shows. There was a time when I could tell you all the shows that were airing in a year. And there were hundreds of them.

IMG_9524.jpg

I found my escape from life in imagination. I let my mind go numb, it was almost like I was on drugs every day. Like I was sleeping, never waking up. I feel like it now. My hands, they tremble, but not outside. There is electricity going through my veins. I am me but I am less human. My heart beats but it is painful to breathe. I am provided with blood flow but I am not sure it has any use.

My mind is one of those that have strong beliefs. I just know them, I have no proof. Somehow, the life after life seems like a good thing. Death too early is not an option, though, even though I already feel hollow inside. My spirit escapes only at night. I travel the worlds, the millions of dimensions.

Past, engraved in my veins, pulsing through me. I have memories of days when life was much different. I am just hurting, in the darkness. Even though sometimes I see a ray of sunshine. I was okay, for a year, maybe two, but I let myself slip. Remember the humanity, keen on repeating patterns and stepping on the same rake far too many times.

That is what makes me feel helpless. The endless wheel of our actions repeating and though there are improvements, with more people come more mistakes. We are here, together but separated. Wondering through life, looking for a purpose. And finding it if we are lucky but losing our way in the corporate machine far too often.

I am not part of the 9 to 5 cycle but that has made me realize that it is not the problem. We are. Our minds, or genes, the invisible bags we carry. If it is not guilt it is anger or self-loathing. We have our pet peeves and I wish that we didn't. We learn to deal with them, get rid of them or embrace them but they are always there, even a shadow of a fading memory matters.

I wish it was easy, to live, love and forget but do I even know how those emotions are felt? I know my purpose, I know what I want to do. Still, my heart aches, my mind goes in circles. I am a step further than I was last year at this time. But I just want something, that I cannot reach quite yet.

My life is going to be quite long this time. But will I get to do all I want to? There really are no obstacles but me myself. When I leave me be and look at the body as a shell, I see all that I do wrong, all that I should and could change. It is hard or maybe too much at once. My mind knows how to always be prepared to make excuses. Maybe it is smart assessment, maybe I am just cowardly. But somehow, I know that I will not be happy because I am not home.

A vision of a garden untouched, of a sea as clear as the beautiful blue skies. A forest filled with most capturing scents and mountain as fresh as Spring itself. I see it all, I see it and miss it. It has been millennia since I have been home. I came, to hold hands, to guide and support and somehow got lost and became one of us. A human. Solving my own created challenges. Dreaming of home, one day or another. Somehow, giving up and still hoping.

Two sides of me, the one that longs and the other that has given up already. That side is on top today. Just floating in an endless ocean. You are the stars, the moon, and the skies, you are just a part of the molecules moving. Just energy, pure, untamed energy hoping to arrive at your destination safely.

IMG_9400.JPG

gnbv.jpg

Have a great day my dear Steemians, today, tomorrow and forever,
Linda

Sort:  

Resteemed and upvoted by the MAP-AAKOM community.

I learnt a long time ago that home is not a place but a state of mind. It can also be a place, but that requires the state of mind to recognise it.

I also tend not to watch (or read) too much entertainment - I prefer reading things that seem relevant to whatever the current psychic-puzzle is :-)

Yeah, I guess that would be smarter, for me not to dream and get lost in different worlds. But I create stories and stories call on me. I see so many options in them. TV might be created just to numb and dumb us down but there are some good stuff out there. :)

I loved the words, and in your sorrow while I was reading you were not alone. I was unsure what to reply because I do not know if it was fiction or you felt this way. This is something that resonates on me and I understand. I am not "home" and also escapes in dreams ❤️🎼 lucidly, though I convey sorrow into music. I am not sad always but I accept it, my other half, my shadow.

Yes, it is similar for me. Part of me believes in the wonders I write about and the other part is more realistic. I love to imagine. My escape is dreams, stories. And I know feeling sad is part of the existence.

😲 did some mention their shadow...?! 😲

and now I'm gonna go catch me some @yidneth dlive!

:D I am not alone. Thank you for the great music selection, Alex!

Unfortunately, we have reached an historical moment when large numbers of people are finally seeing through the nonsense that society offers as a "life" . . . yet what is coming still lies on the horizon, tantalizing yet out of reach. Someone once said that there is no point in looking back, since you aren't going that way. Perhaps the best we can do is to look into the distance and then plod forward until those grasping at our heels finally let go.

yeah, I agree. Past is past and all that should be taken from it is life lessons.

depression sucks. especially in winter. I have a difficult time getting enough vitamin D so it just intensifies. just know you arent alone, and there is no shame in taking it easy. our cultures place too much emphasis on doing and achieving and not enough on introspection and feeling. please allow yourself time to just be!

I am kind of doing it, letting myself be occupied by things that I like. It is a little hard but I am okay. Kind of. Thank you for the nice words, for telling me that I am not alone. Too many people try to fight the beast on their own.

agreed. makes it much easier if we know we are not alone and can talk about things

Enjoyed your candor here, and this quote really struck me - I wish it was easy.

Couldn't help but think, if it was easy, it wouldn't be worthwhile. Just a thought. Hope you feel better soon. I've dealt with depression to varying degrees through many years myself.

It is necessary to have obstacles, I totally agree and I have written about it on multiple occasions. How there is no happiness without sadness and vice versa. Sometimes it is just too much at the same time. Some things ought to be easy, at least once in a while. That is what I meant :)

For example, right now all I want is just to float and do nothing. I should move and do things but my mind just wants it to be easy. Knowing and wanting are two different things. Nobody wants life to be hard but we know that by being that and throwing challenges at us life makes us smarter and stronger.

Wrap up warm. Long brisk walk. Get your energy moving again, your breath regularised and your thoughts under control.

Thanks, Nik. I have a big walk in front of me tomorrow. Can't bring myself to move at the moment :)

I´m glad I found this, if you feel like talking you know where to find me. this might just be a story, but we write about how we feel, so this is just a reflection of how you are feeling these days.

Yeah, this is part story, part very real reality of how I have been feeling. I have been down lately. But, thankfully, there are many people like you here, who care.

Thank you, I will keep that in mind. Plus, we are probably going to chat in the evening today. Those events always make me feel better :)

🤗 what seems to help for me is music, music, and more music, if only just a little bit... 🤗

Yeah, I do not listen to nearly enough music! But when I do it makes me feel so much better. You are right!

I enjoyed the uncompromising melancholy of what you wrote. I actually prefer it to the oversold and overly compliant positivity everyone's going on about these days. Cheers :)

I like to be happy and I mostly tend to be that but there always comes a darker time and I think we should express it as so many people actually do not feel good and are keeping it inside, thinking they are alone. We are not. There are so many lonely, sad and empty souls that need someone, something to connect to!

Nice post :)

For what it's worth:

Emptiness is a gift. It can be scary to embrace it but if you do, great creativity comes from the most profound emptiness.

It is the wellspring of all being: make friends with it!

I agree. Loneliness has taught me many things. It has taught me to love and understand, to have compassion and to try and make others feel happy.

It also lets me write with raw emotion, most of the times, at least. Right now, though, I am just taking a pause.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65035.33
ETH 2950.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66