You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Unzipped #1 – Worn Out Words

in #writing5 years ago

I'm so sorry that this is your (I hope) current existence, but keep listening to that girl's voice...the survivor. She's stronger than you might realize. Sending big hugs your way ❤️

Sort:  

It's alright, dear – I'm pullin' through; it might be a slog, but...I'm makin' my way.

I wish I could say this were a temporary thing, however – part of why I feel inclined to share more of these uncomfortably candid snapshots is to hopefully convey something of the 'everyday' nature of depression.

Aside from the glaring stigmas around it, I think people mistakenly believe it's a phase – that those who suffer from it will recover, just as one does from the flu or a broken limb. Not to be fatalistic, but – at least in my case – on the contrary; this affliction is pervasive and just as serious/life-threatening as a terminal, physical illness. Similarly, achieving some level of 'remission' requires unfaltering diligence and dedicated attention.

For me, part of that involves naming what ails me, identifying the abscessed wounds and figuring out how best to treat the infection. This is me, offering a front-row view of what that looks like. It may not be pretty, but it's fuckin' real.

Thanks for the hugs. <3 xo

There really is such stigma attached to mental illness of any kind; always such a puzzle for me. Why not treat it like any other illness and simply talk openly about it?! My son suffers from anxiety and depression; trust me, I heard more than once how he should just get over it... because that's what people would say to someone suffering from cancer. Ugh!

Thanks for your brutal honesty. So, I realize you "have" it, but are there days, weeks better than others? When you can count on some good days especially when you're having a really shitty one?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63042.71
ETH 3175.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81