At What Point During The Apocalypse Would You Kill Yourself?

in #writing6 years ago

As a fan of movies and television shows featuring post-apocalyptic worlds, this question is an interesting one to ponder. If anyone wants to converse, answer this question, and ponder with me by sounding off in the comments section.

When I picture a post-apocalyptic world I see crime, fear, struggle, food/water shortages, destruction, chaos, etc. If you watch The Walking Dead, the world becomes a constant fight to stay alive. If you are more a fan of Stephen King's The Stand eventually most of the population is killed off and only a small section of the population survives leaving the world empty and quiet. The question to ask is would you choose to continue on with life or would you just end your life so you wouldn't have to struggle and possibly die in a horrible manner?

@marxrab using a Walker Photo Filter To Check How Beautiful She'd Be

IMG_8265.JPG

I've always been more a fan of The Stand type apocalypse. The government accidentally releases a superflu that kills off a large majority of the population. It's a quick death to society. Those left alive might be the only survivor in their city. In this scenario I would want to stay alive for a while. In this situation the world would be mostly safe to interact with since most people are dead and all the world's resources are in tact. Need food? The grocery stores still have plenty. People died off of the flu too quick to panic and raid every place. It would suck to be all alone but I'd take the opportunity to explore the world. Maybe go to the White House or Area 51 and read through their files to discover the truths about aliens and conspiracy theories.

Of course there are other scenarios. For example, the government fails, money becomes worthless, martial law is enacted, and war is widespread. No food, electricity, water, or resources and the population is still large. Poverty overwhelms society so that people become savages fighting to survive. Would you want to live through this? In this scenario big cities would be the worst places to be. Out in the country where I live it might not be so bad. All you'd have to do is hunker down for a while. I'd expect that people would kill each other off. Without money and medical care people with natural health problems would die off fairly quickly. The population would decrease if you could make it long enough.

Maybe I'll Kick Back In My Garden Hidden In The Woods And Wait Things Out

IMG_5156.JPG

In a violent post-apocalyptic world I really don't think I'd make it far. I'm short, out of shape, and not physically strong. I could easily be killed by someone else. I don't like the idea of spending the rest of my life living in fear of death everyday. I don't like the idea of starving and suffering. If I do indeed have the genes of my parents I can expect a whole spectrum of health problems as I get older. Without proper medical care I have a future of suffering. In this scenario at some point I might choose to end my life because it would be a far better death than being murderer or getting old and being crippled by health problems.

Head For Higher Ground?

IMG_2935 4.JPG

Now if we lived in a world where zombies could exist I think I live in the perfect place to survive and thrive. The Appalachian Mountains are the perfect place to go in a zombie apocalypse. Climb high up in the mountains, build a house, a big fence, and you'll be safe. The woods in some of these areas are so thick it'd be hard for zombies to travel through them. You have nooks and crannies to hide in. There are plenty of water sources and properties with wells. Being so familiar with my mountains, I'd have an easy time climbing upwards to safety. In the zombie apocalypse I'd choose to head for the mountains and try to survive.

That being said, the Appalachian Mountains could be very dangerous in a non-fake creature apocalypse. People up here in the mountains like their guns and hate trespassers. People fleeing cities out into the mountains might be killed off by mountain folk protecting their land and families. Thankfully, I own land here in the mountains so I'm set. I'm near the bottom though so I might be taken out early by people fleeing the cities who want to take my resources. I'd choose to stay alive and keep a gun on me at all times and possibly be killed by trespassers at some point.

I'm realizing now I've spent far too much time thinking about this topic and hashing out whether or not I'd want to stay alive or off myself. I spent far too much time alone today.

So what would you do in a post-apocalyptic world? Would you choose to fight and stay alive? Or would you choose to end things early?

Photo credit: all photos belong to @marxrab

Sort:  

Are you kidding me? The apocalypse would absolutely rule.

Wide Open Spaces without so many people crowding everything in. Big Empty grocery stores so I could just take whatever I want with. Sure it'd be hard to get a date but there seems to me there be a lot of good things in the world. I admit I might I get lonely after a while. But I would do my best to deal with it.

lol. Maybe you should write a book about how the apocalypse would rule? I could imagine you having a good time. The social anxiety in me could envision living a happy life all by myself in ways. I think the apocalyptic world would be awesome for introverts. I'd just hope my daughter would survive (husband would be a bonus but a kid sharing my genes makes it more possible she'd survive the superflu over him). If it were just me I'd probably hit the road and try to find others after a while. Or if it were me and the kid I'd want to find others for her.

For those who have nothing more to lose, an economic collapse may serve them well.

Very true. For people who owe lots of debt some type of system collapse where they could free themselves from their debt prison and fight against the establishment might be beneficial.

Maybe I could see things going back a bit...Live off the land back in the mountains...Kinda like Grizzly Adams like.

Why live on the land when you will have grocery stores fully stocked with free Ramen? lol

Exact thought process goes through my head whenever I am very exhausted or very drunk...!!!
As for answering your question if it becomes the norm to fight out and struggle for essentials I would love to go out fighting till end. (All guns blazing.. 😁)

Posted using Partiko Android

I promise I wasn't drinking! And I agree most people would fight for the essentials of life. I think you'd make it very far if you were well trained with your blazing guns. I'd have a bow and arrow myself. Quieter and it would make me feel like Legolas from the Lord of the Rings.

NO Zombie is going to kill me....I'll be the last woman standing!!!!

lol. In the zombie apocalypse people will talk about a woman nicknamed the Bear who destroyed 1000 zombies in one night then taught her classes at school the next morning as if nothing had happened.

Ha ha...I would take out a few lazy students in the process...lol


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

As a totally non watcher, nor fan of this type of movies or books, you had me at the title ^_^ Your post really cracked me up and I suppose it was not intend to ;-)

I wonder why I would ask myself such questions other than to rotten my whole day...LoL

what I can do now is to wish you to bbsnla9v32.png @marxrab ;-)

PS : You can guess I would not survive more then a half minute of an apocalypse...^_^

Oh this was meant to be funny. I had fun writing it. Though I sometimes have a morbid sense of humor. Bring your art up to my mountain when the world ends. I'll give you safe haven in exchange for some cheerful drawings on my walls.

kro5v5agy9.png deal done ! ^_^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95