You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I want to help you write through trauma

in #writing6 years ago

You know, I often hear that altruism means that there is no such thing as a selfless act (and I have noticed that the person saying it is usually not the altruistic type!), but I don't think it really matters. If you are the type of person that takes pleasure from helping others, then I think this says something important about you.

Whether or not it is selfless misses the point.

Sort:  

Thank you, @matbaker! I agree that doing work to support others does not require selflessness. We all have to be able to provide for ourselves. Still, I'm grateful for the many opportunities I have to support others whether through volunteering or formal instruction.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65457.15
ETH 2939.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68