I want to help you write through trauma

in #writing6 years ago

Here's the truth: writing through trauma for release and recovery is my life goal, and I'm achieving it. Helping others do the same thing? That's cherry and whipped cream and hot fudge and peanut butter drizzle on my already awesome strawberry sundae. It would be impossible to overstate the level of joy I feel when I have the honor of supporting individuals in the writing of their pain. Whether it is based in loss, addiction, abuse, violence, religious trauma or any other number of possibilities, I am grateful to be able to offer my services.

annie-spratt-253799.jpg
A key component of trauma writing is reframing. There is beauty even in pain.
Image Credit

But I am only one person. A woman who teaches at a local college, homeschools one child, leads a Daisy troop and writes minimum three times a day on Steemit. That means I keep my online class sizes small. And they fill up pretty quickly.

February 27th opens my next session of online Writing through Trauma classes for the Center for Creative Writing. Do you have emotional blocks you'd like to release on the page? Do you have stories you'd like to put to rest? I'd love to work on that with you. You can learn more about Writing through Trauma to Truth here.

Questions? Put them in comments or find me on Discord. I'm @shawnamawna#4255 and happy to chat trauma writing with you.

You can also scroll back through my feed to see some of my posts on writing difficult stories. Or click above on my personal website. I've been doing this work for quite awhile. I love it. Eventually I will be traveling all over the globe hosting retreats and accepting SBD. If you want to work on something like that with me, please speak up.

Finally, whether you choose to pursue writing as a path to healing, I hope you find whatever support you need.

xoxo,

Shawna

Recent Posts

Don't forget, best comment on this account or @nat5an each week gets 5SBD reward.

Appreciator Footer.png
Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

you know, steemit is really helping with my writing and content skills. Great post!

I think writing is an incredible step in the healing process. Many times it is too hard or confusing to say things out loud, but writing can make that easier. Whether in poem form, song, or just a narrative of experiences. Getting the emotion out of yourself is a first step that a lot of people don't know how to break through. Thank you for sharing this!

Thank you, @jaymesbawned. Any chance we'll see some of that type of writing on your blog? A good playlist can be a work of healing art when it comes to trauma.

I have been incredibly fortunate recently to not have trauma that pushes me to write. I'm not really a writer at heart, but I did go through some things when I was younger that lead me to write songs. Mostly late teen-angsty stuff, but it helped at the time. My issues and frustrations usually get out of me through music and sport.

You know, I often hear that altruism means that there is no such thing as a selfless act (and I have noticed that the person saying it is usually not the altruistic type!), but I don't think it really matters. If you are the type of person that takes pleasure from helping others, then I think this says something important about you.

Whether or not it is selfless misses the point.

Thank you, @matbaker! I agree that doing work to support others does not require selflessness. We all have to be able to provide for ourselves. Still, I'm grateful for the many opportunities I have to support others whether through volunteering or formal instruction.

But we'd have to come to terms with the trauma first before we can write about it... For me, the thought of writing about it online is something I'd rather not share publicly.

I completely understand not wanting to share publicly. My class is taught one-on-one online meaning via email. It is private, and part of the process of trauma writing is coming to terms with the trauma. We have to accept before we can release and recover. Writing allows us a controlled method of defining our experiences and reframing them to better support our hearts.

I think i will just write in my diary then. :)

I definitely need to do one of these classes as soon as my schedule clears up. I also need to learn how to do this Steemit thing, but that's another subject. Keep us posted on when classes are coming. I want to do one.

Shawna, you are doing such a wonderful thing and honestly, writing through trauma is extremely helpful. It has helped heal a lot of my wounds and has taught me to be more open about how I feel. <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62991.27
ETH 3180.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82