Creating a Lasting Love Story

in #life6 years ago

I married my husband for two reasons. The first was that I loved him. And because I loved him, the second was that I had to.

When we met, we were high schoolers. I lived with an abusive and conservatively religious family. In order to love Nathan, I had to commit to him in God's eyes (or reject my family and faith and be outcast). While we were raised under different religious ideologies, Nathan was taught he needed to make the same commitment to anyone he loved. So, at eighteen, we tied the knot under God and left for college together. Our union made a safe exit for me; a way to continue my life beyond my family home and begin the long process of discovering my own beliefs and desires and recovering from the ones forced on me.

Nathan was a way out.

highschool1.jpeg

My husband's family is successful, stable and upper, middle class. They didn't know my (her)story, but they fed me, clothed me and made sure I had extra money and transportation when I needed it. I think they did this for every child that arrived under their roof. I'm not certain they ever realized how much they were taking care of me, or how much I needed it. They just did it. Falling in love with Nathan was me falling in love with them because I recognized the potential for a long-term support system built on compassion, something I had only previously seen in movies or read about in books.

We have been together for more than half our lives. I asked him recently why he thought our marriage has lasted.

"We are willing to put the work in," he said.

He's right. We have put a lot of time into us. We always put our kids to bed between 7 and 8 so we can spend evenings together. We give each other a night off during the week. It's just as important to spend time apart as it is together. We go to counseling when we need it. We ask for help when we need it.

There have definitely been times when we needed it. After all, we married so young that we have essentially grown up together. We have three children, and both Nathan and I have been through a roller coaster of health challenges. More than once it looked like we would say goodbye to each other, but then one of us would pony up and ask, "Hey. What's happening here? How can we fix it?"

While my family was an impetus for me to get married to escape, they have also become a support for us to stay married. Why? Because we have advocated for ourselves. As an adult, I am able to set the terms of my interactions and family dynamic. If my family chooses to oust me at this point, I am safe and able to take care of myself.

hat1.jpeg

Fortunately, my family has chosen to work on ousting their negative patterns so we can all support one another in being as healthy as we are able. When possible, they give us a break from the kids or shoot a little cash our way to help us with unexpected expenses. Even better, they believe in our marriage and aren't afraid to tell me if they see me being unreasonable. I wish I could say that it never happened, but it does. And it's important that my parents point it out. They are intimate with their own faults and are anxious to see me not repeat them.

Possibly the most important piece of stability in our marriage is that I recognize the immense impact of those historical negative patterns on my present relationship with Nathan and I prioritize him. It would hurt more than a little to say goodbye to my parents, but I will choose a healthy relationship based on mutual respect and compassion over living their negative story.

I still remember trying to provoke Nathan to hit me during a fight early on in our marriage. He asked, "Why do you want me to hurt you?"

I said, "So I know that you love me."

It's strange, because my parents never struck each other physically, but they did their best to wound. Now they do their best to heal just as I am doing my best to move past their early example. Nathan's parents continue to set a steady, positive example. When I start to lose my footing, I am grateful I have two effort-filled examples to lean on. We are all better off extending love no matter how much work it takes. And, in my experience, marriage takes a lot of work.

What makes your marriage glow?

Originally published on Living in the Gap.

Recent Posts

Don't forget, best comment on this account or @nat5an each week gets 5SBD reward.

APP.png

Sort:  

Wow. Incredible story. Thank you so much for sharing this part of your journey. I also come from a strict religious background. Unfortunately, the person I fell in love with @betterbeing wasn’t an option according to my parents and religion.

This meant I had to make a choice.... risk losing relationships my family and being ostracized by my religious community, or giving up the love of my life. This proved to be very difficult especially because at the time, I believed only what my parents, church, and Bible school taught me.

But once my belief system changedI realized that there was really only one decision to make. Choose a life with my soul mate and let everyone else decide if their belief system is more important than our relationship. I honestly believe my wife and I have something beautiful. Something we are lucky to come across in our lifetime.

Marriage definitely isn’t easy, it’s one of the hardest things I’ve ever done. But it’s also brought me healing, growth and a deep sense of belonging. We make an incredible team and can be a powerul force together. Something like this is always worth fighting for, even when it’s hard. And from what you’ve shared you definitely have something worth fighting for 💗

I look forward to learning more about your beautiful love story.

This. is. devastating. And gorgeous. I am so grateful to you for choosing the love that is true for you. I support you and @betterbeing in pursuing your authentic selves and experience. What you have is beautiful. I look forward to reading more of your story as well.

your family is happy.. Life is grate. please help me for steemit

Wishing you success. Maybe look up Steemit dos and don'ts?

First, although my childhood years were vastly different, so SO much still resonates with me and my own experience. My husband very much 'rescued' me as well... I just rewrote our "how we met story" and he wrote it from his perspective as well. Just reading his side and then my own really brought home to me (again) how much he was my 'rescue' from the life I had always lived.

Possibly the most important piece of stability in our marriage is that I recognize the immense impact of those historical negative patterns on my present relationship with Nathan and I prioritize him. It would hurt more than a little to say goodbye to my parents, but I will choose a healthy relationship based on mutual respect and compassion over living their negative story.

Holy Cow... this THIS THIS. I don't know that I wanted him to actually HIT me, but I wanted him to fight, to yell, to say things to me that I could fight and old against him.

I still remember trying to provoke Nathan to hit me during a fight early on in our marriage. He asked, "Why do you want me to hurt you?"
I said, "So I know that you love me."

No wonder your other posts have resonated so much with me. I hope to write more of my story as well and work through yet more of these things in hindsight... now that I'm out of the intense 'in the moment' of some of those healing places.

I need to go read his perspective! And your rewrite! I'm glad your relationship roots are a home for you. And, while I'm not happy to hear we share similarly painful pasts, I am happy to be getting to know you and that we can not be alone by reading each other. <3

I couldn't agree more. I'm always torn to read something and think "HEY! I'm not the only one!" in excitement that I'm feeling that connection with someone... but then "Oh."

My heart longs for this love. I'm so happy to see real love stories where the love has built with hard work, persistence, commitment and a support system. Thank you for the inspiration.

I hope your heart finds what it seeks. <3

Wow. This goes on so many levels of beauty. Never thought early marriage could last

You know, I don't think I did either. It has been a wonderful, if grueling, road. There is so much to learn, and we could be bored, but we just keep stretching.

Love this, perfectly timed before Valentines. Beautiful reminder of the work, commitment, and empathy it takes to stick it out for the long term. :)

I had forgotten about Valentine's Day! This is well-timed. Thank you. I'm glad our experience can serve.

Love is in the air, na na na nanananaaaa.... XD

Beautiful post. Much like yours, my relationship (not married, but together for 18 years) has succeeded because we work at it. We've had many difficult roadblocks over the 18 years, but we've overcome them by learning to communicate better and checking in.

There is nothing more beautiful than the commitment to make it work. Truly. It must be remade every day and some days every hour.

Love is the best thing in this life

What a beautiful and heartfelt story! One of the things about great relationships-- which I sadly think a lot of people miss-- is that they do take a lot of work. And what makes them great is often the willingness to put in the work. And clearly, that's what you guys have done!

I completely agree with this. How can we know what better is when we haven't seen worse?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65992.78
ETH 3014.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75