New Story - again written exclusively on Steemit - WiP - Bouncer Part 20

in #writing6 years ago

I started a new story to share on Steemit. It's not my usual type of tale, but I decided it has legs so I'm going to let it run.

Meet Zack, my newest character. I hope you like him.

The first part was written a few weeks ago and since then, I've been mulling it over in my head where the story needs to go.

Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, Part 5, Part 6, Part 7, Part 8, Part 9, Part 10, Part 11, Part 12, Part 13, Part 14, Part 15, Part 16 Part 17

Pictures from Google free to use search

Please note: This is the FIRST DRAFT, no editing, written straight onto paper. I don't know how to highlight that any more than it is. I'll NOT be making any alterations to what's already been written. As a good friend and excellent author has said, First draft is a race to get the story down before it decides to stop telling itself to you. Thanks Glenn. @alienbutt

44 pages, 17,844 words so far.


Zack and Taylor checked out of the hotel and went home.

For the time-being, Zack would be able to use Taylor’s car, but it wasn’t an ideal situation and he’d start looking for a suitable vehicle soon.

Zack dropped his overnight bag at home, locked-up and got back into Taylor’s car. They went to the office and started phoning their contacts.

“Hey Joe,” Zack said. “It’s time to quit. I have a full-time job for you at The Cobalt if you want it?”

“Yeah, I want it,” Joe said in his usual patient tone. “What do I need to do?”

“We’re conducting interviews this week, but yours will be a formality. I want to know where you’d work best.”

“Yeah? That’s great, Zack. But before you go any further, I don’t want to be considered for Head Doorman,” Joe said.

“Oh,” Zack said. He sat back in his chair and thought for a moment. “That’s exactly what I was going to offer. Is there any reason why you don’t want the job?”

“No particular reason, except that I’ve done it before and it’s a total ball-ache. I’m getting on a bit now and I don’t mind being second, but I don’t want the hassle of all the shifts and shit the Head Doorman has to put up with.”

“Well, if it makes any difference to your decision, I’d be doing the shifts, you’d be the one the lads come to with any problems. You be more like the Door Staff Manager, rather than Head Doorman.”

Zack waited while Joe thought about the proposal.

“Yeah, I can do that,” he said. “Thanks for the opportunity. I know you’ve got the choice of a lot of talent. They’re all good lads.”

“Yeah, that’s why the interview process is going to be a breeze,” Zack said.

“One more thing,” Joe said.

“Yeah?”

“Don’t give Sinbad a job. He’s trouble. He causes more fights than he stops and he’s no good for your firm.”

“Thanks for the advice, I’ll cross him off my list,” Zack said.

“Funny guy,” Joe said. “Seeya tomorrow. Any particular time?”

“We’re off out tonight, aren’t we? Better make it after lunchtime.”

Zack and Taylor left the car at the office and walked to the new club.

The outside looked pretty much as it had always looked – a bit shabbier than when it first opened, but no real changes.

Zack used the number Viktor had texted to him and waited at the front door.

“Hello? Is that Zack?” the voice that answered the phone said.

“Yeah, Zack and Taylor,” Zack said.

“I’ll be right down. Come to the back door please.”

Zack went around the side of the building and found the rear entrance. Taylor followed him and held the door open as Zack went in. Taylor followed. Zack was already making his way up the stairs. Taylor made sure the door was secure before he followed.

At the top of the second flight of stairs, Taylor looked up and stumbled over the top step. He locked eyes with a beautiful blonde-haired woman and his feet didn’t seem to be getting the correct messages from his brain.

“Close your mouth, brother, you’ve seen women before, I’m sure,” Zack said.

For all his experience in the world of business, finance, law, and even the more seedier aspects, crime and punishment and of course, behind the scenes of pubs and clubs where he worked while studying for his degree, Taylor realised he could still be surprised.

He shook his head to clear it and apologised. “I’m sorry, you took me by surprise,” he said.

She looked him up and down, not impressed. “You were maybe expecting a man?” she said, crossing her arms, a scowl on her face.

“Well, actually…” Taylor started stumbling over his words and Zack placed his hand on Taylor’s arm to shut him up.

“Don’t talk, you’re making things worse,” Zack said.

The woman smiled and then laughed. She shook her head and turned from the brothers. She walked through a set of double-doors, into the low-lit club room.

Ladders stood around and decorators’ cloths hung over the bar and what Zack assumed were tables and chairs.

The DJ box stood at the opposite side of the room to the bar area and to either side stood two large, raised, cylindrical cages – big enough for at least three people to dance in.

“Oh nice,” Taylor said, in an attempt to regain his credibility. “Dance cages.”

“No, they are where we put the first six people we throw out. Then we add one doorman to each cage and see how it goes,” the woman said. Her face showed no emotion, her voice straight, dead-pan, even.

Taylor looked at the cages again, then at the woman. He couldn’t work out if she was pulling his leg or deadly serious.

Zack finally rescued him. “For goodness’ sake, brother, she’s joking,” he said.

“Yeah,” she said, agreeing with Zack. “We don’t put doormen in there, we just let them brawl their way to freedom. ‘Three men enter, one man leaves’ kinda scenario.” Her impression of the crowd’s chant from Max Max, Thunderdome made Zack grin.

“In my defence,” Taylor said. “We had a heavy night last night. Lots of Champagne and I think it’s finally catching up with me.”

“I heard all about it,” the woman said, laughing. “Viktor told me.”

Sort:  

I'm waiting the part Sinbad jumps in and smash everything in The Cobalt :) I hope it's gonna happen :)

LOL! Don't give-away my stories before I've even written them! ;)

Haahaha it was just a prediction. Sorry :)

если не вдаваться в подробности, я как и прежде доволен прочитанным и вы знаете это:)
сегодня я писал статью о плохих привычках которые высасывают энергию, и вскоре хочу написать о хороших привычках которые поднимают настроение и добавляют энергию - ежедневное чтение ваших рассказов, это несмоненно можно назвать одной из хороших привычек:)
Спасибо

Спасибо - за чтение, за комментарий и за то, что мои сообщения несут ответственность за то, что вы чувствуете себя хорошо :)

I gotta agree with Joe on this one, being the head doorman looks like a ballaching job. I've personally never done it, but I was a bartender years ago and the amount of shit those guys have to put up with, from people trying to cut the line, fake ID's and drunk nonsense, I feel Joe's displeasure haha

Standing on the door when it's cold, wet, miserable and people with no coats whining at you because they're... cold...

My 'party trick' when I worked on the doors was to ask the customers who looked too young to give me their birth-date - backwards.

Or I'd ask them their horoscope sign - ask the year of their birth... anything to catch them off balance.

One guy was so confuddled that he gave me 'his' birth year and I immediately told him: "That makes you 47. Off you go."

Haha that's clever. I remember my mom telling me a story about when she was younger and worked in a bar. One night someone had tried to get in using my moms stolen ID haha. Not only did the girl not get into the bar, she was detained for possession of stolen property. What are the odds!

Hahaha! Awesome!

This is another interesting story of zack. It's a really great opportunity for joe from zack. It's a really good conversation between zack and joe. Joe 's advice for zack is really nice about viktor.
And i really enjoy the character of taylor in this story. And the dialog of zack " close your mouth, brother, you have seen women before, i am sure." is really very funny and lovely.
I really enjoy the reading of this story. It's a really great fiction of your creative mind.

very nice post. I hope you have a wonderful day. @michelle.gent

, Well written. You are doing a great job. @michelle.gent

very good, I like you post

This is very nice post i appreciate your creativity thanks for sharing this post.. carry one..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64161.84
ETH 2950.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60