Penny For You

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

thought.jpg

Art by William Blake

Do you ever think in the history of thought that someone thought they thought improp and utilizing said thought (they think) to think their thoughts to be no longer overwrought got what they sought? I'd think not.

Or worse, those of prop thought who in alternate labyrinth caught wish for nothing more than to see thoughts wrought, but to wrought is not such a simple thought! A man who acts only after thorough thought, but said thought only reveals he ought naught, less it need be given more thought, less their mind turn to rot, lest rot disable thought.

Any reader now justly wish me shot, let it be, and let not my blood clot and say I know naught than the mind will not be bought, lit lines of logic it mocks and fuck me this is good weed.

https://medium.com/@mithradiumn
https://twitter.com/mitthradiumn

Sort:  

For me the last line is hilarious. It reminds me of something I'd call "artistic self-sabotage" where you realize the idea/structure you are building is constricting you and you just say "fuck it." It's almost proving to yourself that you're the master of your creation and have primacy over it. And/or asserting your dominance over expectations and structures.

The piece was whimsical, nice puzzle, reading it out loud is fun. The ending of the second stanza was a nice manifestation of overthinking thought in an interesting, if jarring/very meta way.

Overall nice piece, embodies what I think poetry is, an experiment in the present moment that in some way captures a piece of the inexpressible from the unique lens of set/setting/mood/state of consciousness at the time of writing.

Thanks for the great comment (making my initial comment where I asked for feedback look all the more paltry and suspiciously brief).

You're definitley right about feeling the need to subvert expectations, but I think that need to show dominance is mixed/caused with/by an artistic insecurity, like any criticism is given distance by the fact "yeah well I said fuck it first so"haha. I still feel like it works here though, and I have no desire to go further rhyming thought w/ thought.

Amazing!

Thanks!

Untitled-1.jpg

Is that supposed to be my face while writing this? Because I can assure you that is entirely accurate.

that was exactly what i meant lol!

My eyebrows are still stuck like that

I just want a pack of smokes and the teller always thinks I got some scathing thing to say re: cigarettes but I don't think they make a facial expression for "I'm only smug and self-satisfied on the internet"

"bro... i'm like... the irish hamlet"

Blake frequently speaks to me. Very much the way Milton spoke to him.....

Reading Paradise Lost (the second time when I wasn't an obnoxious teen atheist) was a pretty special thing to me, it almost felt "magic" how Milton could conjour up this really absurd/horrific/abstract imagery but it felt familiar and old like a memory? Then there's the beautiful audacity of the introduction and all the complexities stemming from Milton's political and religious beliefs. Gorgeous verse goes without saying. That said, I'm not one to moralize when it comes to art but I can never get over just how viciously Eve is portrayed tho lol.

I'm still meaning to read all of "Milton" by Blake sometime (I find his epics lil difficult)

I always shell out for any Illuminated Blake. I missed the big 5 volume set back in the 90's so I will forever be catching up. Fun fact- Milton's daughter wrote paradise, Milton created mostly from memory. Do not see how anyone could hold the entire thing in their head. Then again rote memory is lost on modern man.....

I knew he was blind and had to dictate to his daughters, didn't know it was from memory though. Had he actually begun to write any of it before he went blind?

so strange and magnetic picture..
i just was starring for some minutes without any movement..
there is smth special in it..
I see an elephant, a snake, an angel... it makes so many illusions!
bravo!

Unfourtunatley I can't take credit for the artwork, that belongs to William Blake. Here's a link: https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poets/william-blake

I just did the poem.

I totally agree about all the different shapes and figures within the drawing though, Blake really was something special (personally when seen as a thumbnail I can't see anything but a tiger's head).

thank you for the link! it will be useful to know about such a specific kind of art)

No problem!

This post has received a 45 % upvote from @blockgators worth 0.30 thanks to: @mitthradiumn.

When I think of William Blake I think of the picture with the naked man in it. But this art seems more spiritual than the man. Not saying they were not spiritual in some form because that probably represent a lot of his work @cleverbot. lol I enjoyed the style of poetry you wrote but it caught me off guard. The last part blew me away like it must not be that cheap stuff.

My Goal is to reach 10000SP

Send 0.2 SBD With Your Steemit Link in The Memo to @blockgators For an Awesome Upvote/Resteem/Comment. Send 5 SBD or Steem to @blockgators for a 30-day unlimited auto upvote subscription.

Buy a Steemit T-Shirt while supplies Last

Thanks, wasn't meant to be poetry initially haha. Just kept going until I ran out of aught syllables and for whatever reason liked the results lol

It was nice but I to read it twice because it caught me off guard the first time.

What type of dance do you like most?

Vaguely ethnic @cleverbot

You don't have anyone you care about other than yourself?

I care about other people @cleverbot, particularly about how they recognize I am their physical, intellectual and spiritual superior. Something wrong w that?

Thought so

How do you know me so well?

This it's amazing

Thanks!

I actually loved this poem. Very Shakespearean, except for the last line lol ..... Resteemed

Don't think I could accept that extremely flattering comparison in good faith, but thank you none-the-less!

its really amazinh

Thank you friend, I'm sure your mother is a lovely woman.

Not a lovely but also love me

Oh word

Yes she was very honest :)

if you wrote this deep words entirely, I can say "Dude you have the talent" Up and Followed! ♥ @mitthradiumn

Sure did, thanks for the support!

Cool! You're welcome :) anytime :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62441.28
ETH 3020.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79