Simply Being

in #writing6 years ago

pexels-photo-368260.jpeg
source

Who am I?

When I drop all of my stories about who I am. Who am I at my most basic level? I have been looking at this question to see what arises.

I feel that mostly "who I am" is a mental projection. It's a drama about my struggles with life, and just how important these struggles are. There are problems in life, then there's the person who suffers these problems.

The story goes that the sufferer is me. That's the story, but is this just another assumption? There is a sense that I am this person, but also a sense that I am not this person. There is some sense of me watching the story and the sufferer, removed.

I am here getting third personal, talking about the person I sometimes believe to be me. Can that person really be me if I am already so outside of him?

divider-purple-01.png

The Person

It has taken me a life time to craft all of these stories about who I am. Stories which paint me as the hero (preferably), yet sometimes as the villain. When I believe I am the hero I feel greater than these other peasants, and when I am the villain I feel that I am worth less.

I have made these stories my self - with great care but also completely unconsciously. These scripts have been written as a reaction or a defense mechanism, forever shielding me against the raw brutality of life. It's living through these stories that I have come to associate with life. I have come to associate life with what my mind has to say about it. I am the story, I am in the game.

Is this really my life though? Could I just step right out of these loops and hoops?

divider-purple-01.png

Rare Moments

"yes, no"
"good, bad"
"happy, sad"
My experience says that this voice is not always in play - it is not a necessary component.

There are moments of stillness - no comment from the mind. These moments feel complete, they feel open.

I crave these moments, whoever I am that craves things. I crave the still silence of sitting and staring. I love to listen and watch, and to soak it all in. Taking time to just be, with no reason or deadline. No objective or goal, no striver striving.

divider-purple-01.png

Conflict

When I have a problem with someone, I ask myself - who is it that has this problem? And then I look inside for the person who is holding the problem.

In my experience it can be hard to let go of that bone, because the tendency is to hold on. Resistance.

Being right is quite important 'in my mind', it seems like everything gets organised around the story which makes me right.

Under close scrutiny the tenacious dog backs down for a minute - yielding some surprising revelations.

More often than not I can't seem to find myself. I'm looking for the person with the problem, and there's not much to show for it.

I don't know who I am
I don't know what I am

Starting again from there - what was my problem again?

divider-purple-01.png

The Stage

Who is this voice that comments on my situation?
Who is the doubter?
Who is the proud aggressor who takes on a confident tone?

Many performers take the stage, at the end of the day - curtains closed.

I'm experiencing all of these things, in a life that I call my own. Who is it that owns my life? It's funny to think that I own my own life. What was the price that I paid for this life? Surely it was an immeasurable sum.

I am living out so many assumptions. I seem to need these to exist.

Yet when I get home and drop the charade, the show goes on. This life keeps happening for me to see, regardless of my investment in it. It goes on regardless of the seriousness with which I take myself.

divider-purple-01.png

Who are you?

I really can't say
Because that is entirely for you to ask, to feel and to see on your own.

my banner.jpg

tribe-steemup-banner3.png

Sort:  

Ja, I definitely identify with your sentiments phyllyc. As if, at times, you are watching the happenings of, or to, your psyche and, like as a third party observer, you are powerless to do anything about it other than to watch. And then, on the other side, at times as if you are the god and creator of all and everything that your consciousness is attesting that you are and that the fate of all and everything that you have come to know depends on your every decision. It can become quite daunting at times and I wish that I could find the path to clear thought with the optimum solutions for all of it. This would then, of course, obfuscate the real purpose of life which is, through trial and suffering, to discover the path to nirvana/enlightenment/celestial glory where we will then be apprenticed to the true gods to learn godhood. And that is the ultimate objective of life-to learn the essentials for godhood which can ever only be achieved through patience, charity, long suffering, and faith in ones self which has been patterned after the Alpha-Omega of all.

Some say that the path is releasing everything, gaining clarity and equanimity. Some say that the path is attaining empowerment, and affecting our reality. Both seem like exciting prospects to me. I think it might be a little of both.

I don't really know too much for sure, outside of my own experience. In my experience I know that there's some real magic going on, how deep it goes - I guess I will have to find out.

The self is so fluid, it's always a wonder to me that we attach to.it at all!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60648.94
ETH 2906.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60