You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Teaching My Children That "Someday" Can Come Today.

in #writing6 years ago

Oh my gosh, your mother and my mother were besties. My mom signed me up for swimming class - twice - knowing I was terrified beyond all reason of water (because my father had nearly drowned me at age three). When I very predictably panicked and quit, that was held over my head in the same way - "you quit everything." I quit what I never wanted to do in the first place, yes. I also quit band, admittedly, but a) I was out sick for one week, the week the teacher apparently explained how to read music, and he never explained it to me after, so, frustrating - and b) I didn't get to play the instrument I really wanted to play because it was too expensive to rent. And again, I was 8. But "you're a quitter" and refusal to do things for that reason ever after. "You're a waste of money" was another mantra.
And besides - kids are supposed to experiment. How else are they to find what lights their fire in life?
So, what kind of game? Board game, I recommend getting a big cardboard and colored pencils. We totally did that as teens. Computer game, I'd bet there are teach-kids-to-code type programs, but I don't know about cost. GREAT work on the STEM camp and horse riding!!

Sort:  

My gods, I thought my mother was some form of evil anamoly!

I'm sorry you had to deal with that kind of childhood, too. And I totally agree! Learning an instrument is great for development, but not every kid is going to seize on it and excell and have a passion for it.

How will a kid know what they love if they're limited to picking one thing and forced to stick with it on pain of monotony for life?

Exactly. Kids should be encouraged to try lots of things, so they can find their passion!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64168.03
ETH 3172.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84