You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I got an editor in the most remarkable way.

in #writing5 years ago (edited)

I had to laugh reading this. I have not used an editor (for the writing I did it wasn't a necessity). It wasn't till towards the end of my writing stint (which I do plan on returning to) that I allowed two different editors to examine some of my work and edit them for my future writing to be better. It is a fearful thing to expose oneself to the critique of those with better skills. I still have lots to work on (although I take comfort that I can weave a story as one of my review critics acknowledged) but am thankful I swallowed my fear and allowed others to help me grow.

I applaud your bravery, as this is a huge obstacle for those who would write but don't.

Sort:  

I in turn had to laugh are your post sized reply @practicalthought because I feel you read me well. I have felt very exposed to my editor. It was like I was at school and Uni again getting assignments back and that grading system. At first I was on a very steep learning curve. I has to work hard on swallowing my ego and pride. Jan is very good at her work, and also kind giving me positives so that propelled me along. One of her compliments that I really caught on fast so that was a plus. Although I still fee self-conscious I know that i need an editor called Jan.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62120.17
ETH 3179.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75