Butterflies... (Photo-Freewrite)

in #writing5 years ago

ruth-girl_steemit_mariposa (4).JPG


Una mariposa

My grandmother would tell me that butterflies are the souls of the deceased ones, who come to see us.
I've always wanted to have one sit on my hand.
So far I haven't made it.


ruth-girl_steemit_mariposa (1).JPG


But I am still hoping
That one day
Sooner
Or later
One of them will come sit on my hand,
Flutter its wings a little.


ruth-girl_steemit_mariposa (7).JPG


Slowly,
I like when they do it slowly.
And I will just be looking at it
With a sweet smile drawn on my face
Looking at it and wondering whether it's him
Or her
Or not.


ruth-girl_steemit_mariposa (2).JPG


But it won't make any difference
As I will gently blow its way and watch it fly,
Go around my grandma's flowers for a little while
And then disappear...


ruth-girl_steemit_mariposa (5).JPG



Images (not free for re-use) and original story by @ruth-girl - Steemit, 2018

Can you spare another minute?

  1. @steemstem has now got a witness running, the @stem.witness! We would really appreciate your vote. And you can always check out our app, steemstem.io!

  2. @aristotle.team is the child of the Greek translation team (working for @davinci.witness and @utopian-io). We are launching a new app (@dimitrisp is on it!) to help us manage our workload and we have already set a curation trail to follow @davinci.vote on all translation contributions. Your follow, support and feedback is much appreciated!

Thank you so much for your time!

Until my next post,
Steem on and keep smiling, people!


ruth-girl signature gif banner.gif

Sort:  

Your grandmother may just be right as butterflies appear like creatures from the other side :D

I've been in a butterfly enclosure in some British Zoo. It was cool. Butterflies were huge. And they sat on my head. Beautiful and vividly colored!

On your head?!?!?! Aaah! You were so lucky and now I am so jealous!

I must have a slew of dead ancestors coming to visit me in the Summer as when I am in the garden they are always on me. I've seen some beauties. But, I've always been an odd sort of 'animal magnate'.

I love the idea of their being the past souls. When I use them in my paintings I am often considering the idea, often associated in myth, that they represent the human soul, so that makes sense that it would be a tradition to think of them as the souls of the dearly departed. I always learn fun things on Steemit.

They are amazing, aren't they? Do you get excited when you see one flying around you? (or is it just me that I get happy like a child and run after them? 😝 )

It's a beautiful myth, butterflies symbolize so many things and these days (we still have some really high temperatures for the season) they are everywhere! It feels so much like spring...


odd sort of 'animal magnate'

which translates into...? Don't tell me that you have your personal "animal fan club" following you 😝

Hi @ruth-girl!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.075 which ranks you at #982 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 4 places in the last three days (old rank 978).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 490 contributions, your post is ranked at #103.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01