You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Vocab-ability–37 (cit, citat = call) – A More Powerful Vocabulary (earn UpVotes with “Vocab Practice” exercise)

in #writing6 years ago

MY VOCAB PRACTICE

  1. Incite
    The ultras incited their football team to push for one more score until the last minute of the game.

  2. Excite
    In Italian the verb to excite has a sexual connotation, therefore when I started to speak English, I was using this term in different situations.

  3. Recite
    When I was a kid, I was going to the Church every Sunday Morning and I was able to recite some part of the Gospel by heart during the mess.

Sort:  

Actually, in English too, the word "excite" sometimes has sexual overtones – or undertones! In fact, when I was living and teaching English in Japan, it led to some interesting chats.

Sometimes at parties, cute young ladies (or girls!) would come over to me and say "I'm so exciting." ☺
(They intended to say "excited," but used the wrong form of the word.)

Occasionally, I would agree that they were "exciting"!! And I don't apologize for that!!


Re #3, was it really "the mess"? ☺

I swear God! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59740.56
ETH 3011.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79