6 Ways You Can Make Steemit Better for You and All of Us, Starting RIght NOW! Act Like You Own the Place!

in #writing6 years ago

"You act like you own the place!"

Usually, when we say this, it's not meant as a compliment, but here on steemit, it's true. Now, that doesn't mean you should abuse others or take advantage of your situation, but from the start, understand, the stake you are building is an ownership stake.

If you stop and think about what it means to own a piece of steemit, then maybe it can help you make decisions based, not just on your own benefits today, but on the benefits of steem for the long term.

I think if we all started acting like we owned the place, in a good way, we'd see changes that would solve many of the challenges we face. So, here's what I think that looks like.

Stop expecting people to fix it for you


There is no govt here. No police dept. No court system. You're going to need to solve most of your own conflicts. But, we're all autonomous and if you get busy and ask for help, you might be surprised what you find out. People will help you!

  • Start by reading the "Owner's manual" top right corner, click the button, read the FAQ, Blue Paper and any and all articles linked there for new users.
  • See a feature that needs to happen? Find a dev and get started, it's a brave new world and open source blockchain means self service (if you're from Oregon, that might be difficult for you to get)
  • You might be part of the problem (voting for huge payout posts to get curation) so stop contributing to the problem BEFORE you start complaining mkay?

IF you want something, go get it, or pay someone else to get it for you!

We're all basically franchise owners of this thing, so, when you need something done. Do it! Or offer a bounty to get it done. Take initiative

  • Your ideas ARE just as valuable as everyone else's, they're just busy working on theirs, it's a free blockchain, go for it!
  • No one is standing in your way. If you don't know how, build the skills, none of these people were born developing blockchain apps.
  • We are making this up as we go along, so pitch in instead of complaining about what someone else is doing.

Greet the customers when they come in the door

Customer service surveys reveal that a huge factor in getting repeat customers is making people welcome. Yeah, Walmart Yellow Vests saying hello sometimes irritate me too, but it works!

  • We've got 50k immigrants coming to our land every damn day. if you don't go greet them off the boat, you're missing a HUGE opportunity.
  • There's money to be made in helping the newbies, with posts like this one, give it a try! Users like @markrmorrisjr are a big help to newcomers and they get paid well to do it!
  • If you need: followers, readers, viewers, upvotes, resteems and comments, there they are. They are just waiting for someone to show them where to go.

Take some pride in what you put in the front window dammit!

There's a reason all of the stores in a chain look the same. It's called a setup card. It's a picture sent by corporate to all of the managers, showing them EXACTLY how to set up their displays. It's not because they can't figure it out, it's because some of them are idiots and some of you are too!

  • Don't post links to crappy posts you didn't care to work on to Facebook and other places, you're making yourself and me look bad! The steemit name belongs to all of us, as much as the company!
  • Be a good representative of what it means to be a steemer. This includes educating yourself so you can answer basic questions, or at least tell people who to ask, okay?
  • When I go out to encourage my friends to come and play with us, I'm representing you, me, @Ned and all the rest of us. I'm aware of this and try to represent you well, return the favor.

Don't dress down employees in front of the customers!

There are times the trending feed is filled with rants, complaints and flame wars. Geezus people! I was in a McDonald's one time and heard a manager rip a kid apart in front of me. I went back in and told that manager what I thought, then I called her boss and got her fired!

  • There's new people in here. Be nice. Yeah, I get, they're reading this post too. oh well. But seriously, you can be kind and still get your damned point across, cool?
  • If we treat each other badly, where is the incentive for the newcomers to build positive projects and add to an overall copecetic mood?
  • It doesn't usually fix it anyway. Lobby the witnesses. They're listed all over the place. Use a tip message to send them your concerns.

Clean the restrooms once in a while

If you find things that aren't working, familiarize yourself with git hub. Most projects have a bug reporting thread. Use it. You'll find devs don't want their work to be sloppy anymore than you want to be inconvenienced.

  • Nobody likes to use their vote power to flag stuff. It burns up money making power, but when it needs to be done on a post, or comment, do it!
  • There's no reason to put up with abuse. Go to the abusing profile and find the "mute" button in the top right and use it.
  • If you see erroneous information being shared, correct it. Be nice, but say something. That bad advice could literally cost someone their life savings in here!

If we all start taking responsibility for how things are done around here, then maybe we can be the change we want to see. Who's with me!

I love Upvotes but Resteems on this one are even better!

Sort:  

I like this-- a lot-- because it's basically good sound "straight talk" about what it takes to get along not only here, but in social media in the broader sense. Nobody is going to hand you anything on a plate, and you are not "owed" anything simply be merit of being here.

Resteeming this one for a little extra visibility.

In a lot of other platforms, there are official "police" and procedures, so in that way, Steemit is even more an experiment in self governance. So, I agree to an extent, but I owned a social media marketing firm for several years and you can't handle things yourself on platforms like Twitter, or Facebook in some instances without involving the "authorities" there really is no such thing here. That's not even something there's a protocol for. It's freeing to me, but frightening for many others, I guess.

The "self-organizing" aspect is one of the things I really appreciate about this platform. If spammers and scammers come in, groups of users here recognize how that's potentially destructive to the entire platform and they take steps-- through some form of consensus-- to change things. We don't have to wait for "some moderator" to take action.

You're right, of course, this is really a giant social experiment.

Yep, it will be interesting to see what it all looks like five years from now.

Not that anyone owed me or any other Steemians anything, but I must say that in the beginning I would have appreciated a wingman and am just now finding Steemians offering very good advice. Admittedly most of my talents are not found online. That being said as owners to assume a healthy and balanced responsibility to offer early advice to newbies would be massively helpful. newbie tag section for beginners to enders to support one another. All for one and one for all. Ya know?

You're both right. This network (and us) lives and dies based on user interaction. If we're all a bunch of shitheads who attack each other for asinine reasons, we will see a decrease in Monthly Active Users. Twitter is learning this the hard way.

And building up the newer users is a very, very good idea. It's more followers for you, and they get help navigating our community. Let's be honest, it's a little strange...

It is very, very strange. I've learned to master every social platform that's come along for my own purposes. This is the most complex of them all. Money changes everything when it comes to human behavior.

This post stands on its own.
I like your mindset to go greet new steemians.
They will become your followers.
Good stuff.
Keep on steemin'

Thanks! The proof is in the pudding. I get visits from people who I helped start here a year back. They aren't plankton anymore!

I do the same thing and it's working great for me! I've got followers that came up with me from 18 mos ago. Some of them still upvote a lot of my stuff when they're on the platform.

Dammit your analogies are great! Seriously, your passion for this platform is inspiring, I almost feel like I could conquer the world after reading this. Oh wait, Steemit's already doing that, I think I'll join in. What has struck me the most in my short time here is the caring attitude and the effort on the part of the more experienced to help, educate and uplift the newcomers. Thank you for your valuable contribution, I am learning everyday with posts like these. Not to blow my own trumpet, but on the subject of non English speakers, I had a comment on my post in Indonesian, all it took was a billionth of a second to get the English translation from Google and respond appropriately in the commenter's mother language, and what a lovely language it is! On the topic of flagging though, I must confess that I will need quite a lot more time and courage to go that route, sometimes the best response is silence. Thank you for making the Steemit world a better place! Saya salut padamu...I salute you.

I don't disagree on the flagging. But, if you have abusers, the only recourse is the flag system. There are no lifeguards in the steemit pool. And the translation possibilities online are AMAZINGG! I ran across a post in French yesterday and presto chango, there it was in perfect English. Wow, what a world! The future is here for sure! Traveled in France this summer, by smart phone we translated placards at Versailles, the Louvre and the Catacombs. amazing

Fantastic! The electronic era is full of benefis. I'll give the flagging some thought, I suppose there's an obligation to keep the community safe. PS I see I follow your buddy, I know he's a bit of a stick in the mud regarding bots, 😆 what's your opinion? A friend of mine gave me a rundown on how they work as he uses them. He's dedicated to the community but he's looking to grow his income, moderately but quickly. Which could take quite some time for the latecomers.

Well, I will say we both occasionally use them, but only after a post has gotten "stuck in the mud" and isn't going anywhere, and only on a very limited basis. More for the upvotes than the rewards. It's psychologically MUCH easier to cast a vote for a post with 50 votes than 4. I think, in an ideal world, I'd love to see all steem accounts run by their owners and manually curating, but that ship has sailed.

also well said...

I've been aware of Steem for about 18 mo. Some of the issues are not new to me. I've been an active Steemian about a week. This is, perhaps, the best post I have seen so far. Not only will I resteem and upvote, I will also keep referring back to it . Outstanding suggestions but more importantly , the class you have shown.

Thanks, I appreciate the support. Stay tuned, I'm about to launch a ten part tips course.


The First Rule of the BlockChain is
there ARE no rules on the BlockChain
you're playing with the big boys now.
The Second Rule of the BlockChain is
what happens on the BlockChain
STAYS
on the BlockChain

FOREVER

keep that in mind
and
mind how you play

That's pretty much what the hell it boils down to! And a good rule of thumb is, don't do anything to anyone on the block chain you wouldn't want a cell mate doing to you in prison! LOL

or that you wouldn't want your great grand daughter to read about in the future.

Absolutely. Do unto others...

BlockChain changed the rules
Now nobody can run
And they certainly can't hide

I'm all about transparency, if its on all sides. Problem with societal "transparency" is its all for them and none for me. LOL

Resteemed.
Pretty good letter to shareholders!

hey, thanks! I appreciate your support! Come back often.

Thank you for writing this post, I agree on all of it!

Upvoted and resteemed.

Thank you! I didn't got into it, but I think this is a general attitude in society, at least American society.

Very much so in europe too.

It is easy to loose the manners you possess when online, but looking at Steemit as your own property it is also easy to act polite :)

Well, I don't know if I'm "polite" but I try to treat people with dignity. Thanks for the comments! Come back any time!

Semoga aplikasi dan program yang anda buat itu bisa membantu orang tuk lebih maju kedepannya dan juga bisa menghargai satu sama lain

Semoga aplikasi yang anda cipta bisa membuat semua orang lebih maju kedepannya dan saling menghargai satu sama lain.

This has been very encouraging. I'm a new steemit user and I could use all the help I can get. But this post has been really helpful. Would you mind helping me build here?

I'm here to help. Best tip is to check out my buddy, @markrmorrisjr he's working on stuff I'll be helping with, specifically for guys like you. Look for his giveaway post and get in on the hashtag contest in today's post on his blog.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3154.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86