Shu’ualathoi

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

{This ending is part of the Finish the Story Contest, the 19th contest so far. Click here to see the contest… Hey a music pair! I suggest "Shu'ulathoi" from the HL2 OST considering I listened to that when writing the ending.}

The Prompt

Prague, 22 September 1994


Dear silent friend,

once again I will force you to bear the tremulous handwriting of this pathetic old man.
Time has yellowed my fingers and your pages in equal measure. But I know you will not complain in finding yourself soiled by my memories once again, after such a long time, after the hiatus of decades of life, spent far away from the ancient leather of your cover. And I hope it did not bother you to try the tickling of my pen again. Not more than three spots of water and ten sheets before this, you still were curiously waiting for the hand of a fourteen-year-old, full of dreams and watercolours.

As I write, the mist rises from Moldova and lingers among the ancient gothic spires, guardians of forgotten secrets, while a pale September sun, as a master of alchemy, transmutes in gold water and heavens. There is this little kestrel who, for a few days, has been picking on the attic's glass at dusk, while I perform my little preparatory rituals before everything happens like every night. The graceful winged evening’s maid urges me to once again cast my gaze on the hundred towers city, but these eyes will no longer be able to patiently stand on the surface of the mystery.

"I discovered a terrible law that links the green colour, the fifth chord and the heat. I lost the joy of living. Power scares me. I will write no more”. Such were your feelings, Gustavo and I still remember your trembling voice when you confided in me, the last time we met, before the great war swallowed everything and everyone, forcing us to interrupt our occultic studies. Only now that the layers of reality have finally crumbled before my eyes, like a sedimentary stone on the sides of a primordial river, I can grasp the true meaning of your words. The anxious joy of discovery, mixed with the ancestral vertigo of sidereal abysses, has overwhelmed me and continues to overwhelm me every night I leave.

And, just as in the layers of rock are the remains of creatures lost in time, even these levels of reality are not devoid of surprises .. and encounters. By now, I'm sure they saw me, but I cannot help but go back. Of all, I know that the faceless child already waits for me, every time closer, just beyond the threshold. He craves my warmth, my vibration and, this time, I do not know if I will manage to continue playing the game of deceiving him, while I persevere to the end. Certainly, I cannot draw back right now that my human life ends and, at the same time, I’m experimenting one, a hundred, a thousand lives.

Forgive me, dear diary, for having forced you to bear my poor ravings again. Perhaps, we’ll never meet again. The kestrel flew towards the old city. It's time to leave.

Image Souce here

The Ending by @theironfelix

I began biking my way to the city, where the kestrel clearly was in flight towards. Yet, while riding, I swore my periphery picked up the faceless child hiding inside the dense forest, my speed only hastened. I felt the child only got closer as I closed in on the city. I then looked towards him, only hearing a sharp squeal and my vision tunneled, but looking away stopped it. Then I realized I had entered the old city and I sighed in relief.

Pulling up my map, I decided to go to the last site where the kestrel could’ve nested. I peddled and cursed the mist, it certainly helps not my sight - it’s blinding to even look behind myself. Yet I approached the last possible site, there finally I saw the kestrel nested.

The site - unlike the overgrown parts of this old town - was part pure shelled and part... unnaturally forced in its creation. I then noticed an exposed tunnel, emanating greenish-blue lights with machinery humming. Climbing down into the depths, I equipped myself with an oil lantern and a mauser.

With every step down I took, the steeper it became; I thought of venturing upwards until I saw the faceless kid float above the tunnel entrance. It felt like forever sliding downwards and the lights and humming grew more intense, but I landed at the bottom safely. Seeing a pillar to hide behind, I ran to it and began hearing noises without my vision tunneling, yet it turned intense as doors with air hissed opened. The gurgling and monstrous noises intensified and I peaked out of cover to see metallic coffins with tubes all around, yet my vision tunneled and ‘twas hard to tell how many of them were here with me.

Then I felt my head attacked and my vision reddened as one of them slumped their head towards me. I began to float towards the center of the gathering, there they unmasked themselves to be floating slugs with metallic arm attachments and their eyes being small metal tubes emanating a blue-green light on the side. One began to inch towards me and open their arms while slithering out their wormish tongue. I reared my head away, accepting my fate, but then space-time froze.

In came a human in a blue suit, all government like, with a black suitcase. The kestrel flew down and landed on It. It in an androgynous voice spoke:

“The right man in the wrong place can make all the difference in the World... I saw your dedication for discovery and I’m very pleased with this discovery of the Shu’ualathoi... Normally I don’t take offers, but these are extraordinary times...”

A flash erupted and I unfroze, It gestured me to walk into it. As I walked towards I was flashed into an old train inside a void. My gun still in tact and my lantern gone, I saw a door opened with a glowing light - I guess those offers are really extraordinary...

The End

Cited posts:

@f3nix - ”Finish the Story: Week 19”

Cited Images:

”Shu’ualathoi”

Sort:  

Made me think of Jacob's Ladder. Reality and his mind working at the same time to create the images around him that he interacts with. We all want to know what's on the other side of the door.

UwU - Thanks for reading and thanks for the compliments. I never read Jacob’s Ladder, so that’s an interesting comparison to make. Who knows if we’ll meet the lad ever again to see where that goes.

there they unmasked themselves to be floating slugs with metallic arm attachments and their eyes being small metal tubes emanating a blue-green light on the side.

Very very interesting description of these creatures. I also like the name, resembling the Lovecraftian bestiary/pantheon. I remain very curious about the man in the blue suitcase and about wha'ts behind the door..

UwU - thanks for reading and thanks for the compliments. Who knows if I’ll get a chance to write on the lad again, who knows if the United Hell Service will send the sacrificial essence to @bananafish.

Once Hell will be ruled by the Bananafish, we'll surely be more efficient with expeditions!

You just planted 0.06 tree(s)!


Thanks to @theironfelix

We have planted already 3532.53 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 18879.42
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

TIER UPVOTES ARE IN EFFECT!!!
NEW TIER UPVOTES user guide



Current price is 0.12 or 0.121 SBD for 200%, 250%, or 300% upvote based on tier level.

200% ($0.24) - Bronze Level - No requirements
250% ($0.30) - Silver Level - SteemAuto Upvote of 100% or $0.02 (whichever is possible)
300% ($0.36) - Gold Level - SteemAuto Upvote of 100% or $0.02 AND 50SP delegation

All delegators make a "striking" return on your investment!
50 SP --- 100 SP --- 200 SP --- 500 SP --- 1000 SP

That being said...

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with an upvote and comment from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!

I can't decide if this could be a sort of a happy ending... maybe not!
The protagonist seems to have been maneuvered for a purpose. :)

UwU - Thanks for reading and thanks for the compliments. And who said happy endings can't wait to play their role?

Week #20 emerged from the shadows.. will you be brave enough, storyteller?

I've a few questions and will try to remember to come back to edit them if I find the answers for myself.

For days the kestrel was trying to keen the interest of the old man so that he would hopefully follow to become the right man in the wrong place? The hidden and unnaturally created place where he fell and discovered the Shu’ualathoi were housed in their coffins, was this a place for them to recuperate within the coffins or is this a source of where they So here the being in the blue suit is It and not the Agent. Does this mean that the Agent(s) will sometimes assume It's form when tending to the debts and whatnot? Or did It assume the form of the Agent(s)?

UwU ~ Thanks for reading and thanks for the compliments! Indeed, Its Kestrel wanted to recruit and test the old man (who basically is Octo before I decided to call them that pre-transformation. Of course all the other stories involving the Agent are Connexione then Feral Canine then A New Cadaver). Also yeah I probably should mention this that barely got hinted at in Unholy utterance: the Shu'ulathoi are a fragmented species spread across the entire Universe. It was testing to see if the "ghost" kids were indeed Shu'ulathoi or real ghosts; It got Its satisfaction soon enough (what that satisfaction is, I shall leave in the air as to what It really prizes with this newfound information). Otherwise, this tribe of Shu'ulathoi were resting in the coffins (or really pods, the Old man thought they were coffins because of the "ghost" kids). It can shape-shift/transmutate forms, the Agent(s) cannot.

Thanks for the response to my questions and the added story info Felix!

I'm reading through these entries in the order that you suggested, so my comments may be a bit all over the place. Something about this one in particular intrigued me. I think it was the bizarre Fausto-Lovecraftian call to adventure. The protagonist seems a trouble-maker to me, but in that 19th century explorer sort of way. I don't know if he'll be adept at whatever work is to come and therefore a necessary ally, or if he's too selfish to be helpful. I'm curious where his story goes.

{Oh boy, now I wanted save this point for this comment: I unfucked my list’s order and forgot to inform you on that. When I thought you meant posts, I thought philosophy; welp, will do with having to bash past me as well. Anyways, I have more stories of It and the Agent in that list now and resolved some chronology even if the references make sense not. Yes re-read my syntax there. Regardless, beware yet again of flipflopping writing styles as well as dialogue styles.}

Don’t worry about that, he’ll soon have tons of extraordinary things. Even loosing his body, questioning his identity, loosing his body to gain a new one and sail the high seas with a Wither, pirate lass and a magical witch.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61482.47
ETH 2990.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67