You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Taste of a Human Thigh...unfortunately mine, to be specific.

in #writing5 years ago

Hope your dog had all his shots and you keep that wound clean!

I got bitten by an Australian Cattle Dog on a run through the woods last year. No leash. The owner said, "Don't worry, he's friendly!" and then the thing took a triangle sized hole out of the back of my leg. Since I had no insurance (American) I got the guy's phone number and took a picture of his truck's license plate, tied my tee-shirt around my leg, and walked home. Washed it with alcohol and held the wound together with some of those adhesive strips. It took a month to heal but could have been a lot worse.

I knew that if I had gone to the hospital, the police would have seized the dog and had it put down. I didn't want that to happen, although I have considered getting a firearms permit for future runs in the woods.

Sort:  

Yep, I too avoid the doctor unless I'm confident I'm dying. Big Dog accidentally gave me a concussion a few years ago but I skipped the ER and the $2000 deductible.

That's terrible that dog bite happened, but really honorable of you to not have the dog hunted down. That's my fear with mine getting into a fight with another dog - if he was deemed at fault he would be put down by the county. Leash laws are so relevant as your story shows. The only serious problem I've ever had was with loose dogs approaching us.

It's fortunate you are good with medical stuff. If I saw a full chunk out of my leg I'd probably be on the ground :)

To be honest I was more worried about my wife freaking out when I got home.

Lol. I could see my husband saying that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63755.07
ETH 3328.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91