WHY IS IT SO WRONG: Eating Dog

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

cute-dog-pictures-in-the-office.jpg

We get so damn indignant all the time. About everything. It’s such a strange phenomenon how difficult it is for people to try and put themselves in the mindset of another person.

Try it, I dare you.

You think the world is round? Try believing for one full minute it’s flat.

You think there’s no god? Try imagining a deity in the sky that not only judges you, but that craves your love and can help you if you just ask the right way.

You think ketchup is great? Try believing for a full day, that it’s a stupid, sickly sweet sauce that ruins everything it touches and doesn’t belong in the category of food.

Hard, right?

So then where do you stand on eating dogs?

As an American, it’s as sacrilegious as using a crucifix as a pooper scooper, french kissing your mom or refusing a high five at a Super Bowl party. But in plenty of countries around the world, they’re just another animal with meat on their bones, that can be either caught in the wild or raised as meat on legs, ready and waiting for their time under the knife.

In recent years, people in this country have started taking pigs as pets ALL OVER INSTAGRAM. They’re adorable. Actually smart, and super clean if you don’t let them into a mud sty. They have cute tails and snouts, and seem just about as happy as any domestic animal can be. BUT WE EAT THEM BY THE BACONATOR full. Which is to say by the metric fucking ton.

Cows are sweet. Fuck cows. Eat those walking burger factories.

But NO NO NO, don’t eat your dog. They are “man’s best friend.” And I’m not saying that I’ve gotten high and wondered what my dog would taste like, but in my case I have a tiny, skinny wiener do that wouldn’t be worth the trouble to prepare.

I guess the interesting thing to me is that the same people that will mock a vegetarian for saying that all meat comes from living things, will punch you in the throat if you try to serve them a freshly grilled side of Fido with fried Rover balls as an appetizer. But why? They’re both animals. Both living things. Both friendly.

And if the reverse is true, does that mean that dog is delicious?

In India, the cow is sacred, so they don’t eat it. But we don’t even have THAT to fall back on to explain ourselves. We don’t worship dogs. We don’t think they’re particularly spiritual (outside the fact that we know they all go to heaven:)

So help me out. Why does it seem so horrible? Why are domesticated dogs protected by animal cruelty laws, but cows can be slaughtered in a long chute with a metal plug?

Am I an asshole for even asking these questions?

You tell me.



image
image @writesbackwards is a group of friends who love to write about life, sports, comedy, tech and other fun stuff!

Consider leaving a comment, we love rewarding engaging Steemians!

Sort:  

I like it

Thanks @writesbackwards absolutely there are many peoples which think there is no God but in reality there is a God who handle this universe such as sun, stars and all galaxies & only eat dogs that peoples which are animals not humans.

read post. i like this is realty base and this is esly simple awry budy understand

In some countries eating dog is part of culture, I think. For one country it is fine, for another it is awful.

Yes, you're right. In Nigeria, there's a town that eats dogs. I don't know if it is their culture, but they do eat dogs a lot. I can't stand eating dog tho. I grew up with dogs, but as I get older, I became so afraid of dogs. I don't know what happened

Here in Nigeria, some eat pigs, dogs and most especially cows
But I personally can't stand it to rear a dog from puppy 🐶 till it grow up and now say killing it is the best option, it very bad, we should learn to pity these animals.
Though I don't eat dog at all
When my dog grow old, I will rather sell it out and buy another one than eating it

Please, I beg you. Do not sell your dog, if it means that they will take it and consume it. (I cannot even get myself to type it. Just typing it sent shivers down my spine.)
What kind of relationship do you have with your dog right now? When they are old they need us the most. Keep it and love it.
He will appreciate it and so will YOU, the spirit that you are deep inside.
One of my dogs passed away a few years back. She was 14 when she passed away. Do you know she was visiting our home for almost a month after she passed away? They too have spirits and so do the rest of the animals.

Cows and pigs are allowed to be eaten because there is a massive industry lobby suggesting that humans need protein for growth. No one needs that much protein and its just big business now. Shutting it down means job losses and a shrunken economy.

Eating the animal you want to eat is cultural and also depends on what economic class you belong to. In europe, specially france, eating snales and frog legs is ok. I am sure at some point, someone wealthy would have said he wants to eats something unique, a meat not eaten by the commoner.

Some domesticated animals were used as a source of food supply till they found their way on the kitchen table. Some domesticated animals found their way into homes in some cultures. In others they stayed as a food source.

Dogs are eaten in china, india, and korea but it is not a mass market thing. It is poor man's food. You may want to eat a dog if you havent been told as a society that it is wrong. I think where the animal lies in the evolutionary chain also matters.

Where I am from there is no law forbidden eating dogs but people generally frown at it except for a couple of tribes where it's their signature dish.
There's no reason behind it except the mindset of people.

I hate the thought of eating doge. It sounds and looks so brutal to me. I've never eaten that even once.

this dog is so cute

Hmmm hot dog is fine right ? :) Well I can't help you with this but I heard that people who ate dog, are hated by dogs. Maybe they can smell something...

In some East and South-East asian countries they eat dog.

Well I prefere more sophitiscated quisine.

Best regards from Berlin @seelc (food&travel)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25