10 Reasons you should be doing Yoga- The second FIVE

in #yoga6 years ago

Strengthens your bones

Yoga is fantastic for our overall bone density. By holding poses that are sought as weight bearing, we will be putting a lot more pressure, imposing more force, on our bones in order to hold us up properly to perform such exercises/movements.

IMG_9243.JPG

Over time, our bones will get stronger and harder. By simply working on wrist mobility exercises a few times a week, we will begin to notice these changes gradually becoming apparent. These alternations will then translate into improvements on the mat, which we can then take with us into our everyday lives moving forward for a lifetime of quality health.

Good for cardiovascular health

Yoga, as we know, has numerous benefits, but one of the most overarching benefits pertains to that of our cardiovascular health. A healthy heart means a healthy life and yoga helps to keep our hearts in proper check.

IMG_0174.JPG

Regular physical activity helps to mitigate any unnecessary plaque buildup around our hearts, which is one of the most, if not, the most vital organ in all of the human body. Limited plague buildup means a regular heartbeat, which we all know is essential for maintaining homeostatic measures.

Yoga can be used to improve heart health as a preventative measure, or after facing a severe cardiac event. Thinking back to prevention, yoga can also help to lower blood pressure, increase lung capacity, improve respiratory function and overall heart rate, as well as blood circulation, among countless others.

Helps you focus

I have noticed with this practice that my focus levels have been significantly improved upon. When I perform yoga in the mornings, my focus and energy levels for the remainder of the day are exponentially great, especially when compared to the days where I do not perform yoga. There is no crash associated with this and I feel as though my days are always clear and clutterless when my mind becomes sharp after a nice vinyasa flow.

IMG_0235.JPG

When we perform yoga, we allow ourselves to find our inner connection focusing and concentrating more on the present moment. We then are able and willing to expel any unwanted thoughts and negative energy that may be present. This helps to alleviate stress and allows for us to find the focus we are ultimately searching for. I also like to perform a light session in the evenings sometimes after long days, which transitions perfectly into the next benefit of performing yoga.

Helps you sleep

After a long day, we need to wind down and allow our bodies to come to a sense of relaxation, both mentally and physically. A light stretching session with a little meditation in the evening, will enable us to calm the body and, more importantly, the mind.

IMG_1050.jpeg

Put on your go-to music vibes which allow for you to forget about everything and find your subconscious awareness. Doing so will enable you to hit the pillow with a mindset not on racing, but rather calmed in the relevant moment.

Encourages self-care

Yoga allows for us to set aside time to focus on ourselves and our own well-being. This is absolutely essential in terms of living a healthy lifestyle for not just a limited amount of time, but for an eternity. In today's day in age where bigger, better and faster are sought as keywords, yoga forces us to take a small moment, look inward and take notice of your own health and wellness.

Take the time to care for your body and good health shall follow course

Sort:  

I love yoga, but sometimes see it as more of a luxury than a necessity. I think it's time for me to really prioritize it!

I prioritize this practice and take full advantage of the spiritual, mental, emotional and physical benefits... they are really never-ending. I think you will really see what I mean once you make this change

happy yoga-ing

YES, thank you! Yoga=Union, through the asana's, is a way one can find that union. I know I would not be who I am today without it. Its funny though, when we really look deep we find that it has always been here with us. Great post! I'm just starting out here on Steemit (and am so excited about this platform!) happy to find another Yogi here, Much Love! Namaste

Yes, indeed I am glad you bring this up as I completely agree. Yoga has allowed for me to find so many unlit areas of my life and and bring them to light. If it wasn't for yoga, who knows where I would be right now... so i keep flowing onwards and upwards.

Yoga has been instilled and ingrained in me and I know it has been there for society too, it is just the matter of who decides to really embark and reap those benefits with which this practice provides.

Happy yoga yogi :))

Excuse me sir you don't do YOGA. You become Yoga because YOGA is a way of living. What doing means is just the practice of asanas i.e. just one limp out of the 8 limbs of YOGA. Therefore, never say you're doing YOGA say you're just practicing your ASANAS that can take you one step closer to the ULTIMATE POSSIBILITY that YOGA has to offer.

Reiterating my point " You become Yoga, you don't do it."

we practice yoga for the benefits and obvious reasons, we become yoga once we are able to come to an awareness of the fact that this practice is a part of our inner-self.. this will only be found by some, not all. sounds like you have become yoga, I don't know If I have found this quite yet, so I keep going until I reach this point in my practice for a lifetime

thanks for sharing your thoughts,

Respect

Please stop making excuses. If one person can live in the way of a Yogi then everyone can live like that. Therefore, live every moment with ABSOLUTE INVOLVEMENT AND INTENSITY and then you'll experience YOGA in everything you do.

okay dude, I get it i got it. GOOD

Love ! Self care and progress for the win 😁

yes, you already know!! I have seen your stuff before... keep it up you are really quite inspiring, I must say.

progression has been seen, slow and steady but this is a practice for a lifetime of youth :)

see you around @polebird :)

aww thank you so much!! I LOVE THAT! practice for a lifetime of youth! Never grow up :D

you are so welcome!! indeed, YOGA is YOUTH :))

Nice post!
I had done a lot of sports in my life but I always ended up hurting myself..
Now I have been practicing yoga for 3 years and I never felt so good!
Currently I am attending a yoga teacher training in Bali, deepening my practice even more, it's really nice!
Thanks for the post and keep enjoying your practice :)

hey thanks much appreciation!!! Indeed, yoga is great for injury prevention, as I have even found thru my practice.

Yoga in Bali... SOUNDS AMAZING... have always wanted to go, and when I do I will be sure to find my depth and deepness in practice just as you have !!

Enjoy my fellow yogi :))

You got a 22.81% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @conradsuperb!

Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale. Visit http://www.upmewhale.com for details!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94