Stretching into Spring: Padangusthasana and Hanging Forward Fold

in #yoga6 years ago

Today I’m highlighting Padangusthasana. This is the first posture after the warm up vinyasas in Ashtanga yoga. In any variation, the feet are spaced shoulder width apart. To practice Padangusthasana one hangs at the waist (while sucking in the lower belly and lifting the pelvic floor to engage mula badha in Ashtanga yoga) and grabs the big toes. While pulling up on the big toes, the toes push firmly into the ground. If reaching the ground is too intense, one can simply hang at the waist while holding alternate elbows. This variation feels amazing on the lower back. One can also support weight on the legs while bent slightly from the waist if the hamstrings or lower back is especially tight. All poses are pictured below. *Legalities: I’m not a professional. Anything you do is at your own risk.

image

image

image

Sort:  

What a great idea for a post! I love that people on Steem are helping spread fitness and encouraging people to get moving! :) Follow and an upvote from me! Can't wait to see more!

thanks!! I'm enjoying creating this series. It sucks me in every time I start to write a post.... I just want to keep writing. My love of yoga is boundless.

Lovely idea to break down each of the poses. I always notice a very big difference in the flexibility of my Padangusthasana if I have missed my ashtanga practice for a little while. Especially first thing in the morning - stiff hamstrings!

Oh! Morning practice... how mixed feelings I have about this. (I'm in truth a night person.)

I hear you, i am naturally a night owl, but over time i have managed to face those morning practices. I find i am stiff and it is hard, i have to go a bit easier at first but i feels so good sitting down to my breakfast afterwards x

So flex. What does that Arabic say?

It’s Sanskrit meaning head to big toe :)

Literally, huh! As a mom, you have a great flexible body. Rare to see even at the local gym!

yes is good just keep it up

Thanks! Enjoy the series. I’ll be posting more in this series in throughout the month :)

Awesome! Nice post pretzelgirlsandy


Good job on the dashboard!

I love when people can organize data in a visually pleasing manner. Keep it up!


Check my article about Vivir es... Hacer de la paz (Poesía Imagen)

My best post here  Vivir es... Hacer de la paz (Poesía Imagen)

I will follow you pretzelgirlsandy

Your post has been trended.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 67205.80
ETH 3112.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71