The Importance of Connections & Community ~ Day 4 Gratitude and Positivity

in #7daypositivitychallenge6 years ago (edited)

Hello beautiful Steemit Family. The #7daypositivitychallenge is at the half way mark for me. I wanted to take this opportunity to show gratitude to those Steemians and Communities that I have connected with since beginning my journey here.


Image Credit

Community is something that I belieive is an essential part of being human.

We all need to have connection with others. Spending time in the company of those who we share common goals and interests. Working together to achieve something great or even just for survival. It's what makes this human experience valid. Yes I know there are exceptions but for the majority this is true. Sharing, caring and loving. We all want it and we all want to give it. It's how we get through life.
I often question if the increase in depression stems from the disconnect to others that has slowly evolved in more recent years. We are losing our sense of community in the Western world. Televisions and materialism have replaced street parties and beach gatherings.
Although the upside is that there seems to be a recent resurgence of community gatherings, events and the building of living communities that share common goals and interests. Treading lightly on the earth and consuming less. We are waking up to the idea that we need our fellow humans for support.
This is one of the reasons I am a big fan of permaculture. There is a huge emphasis on community support. Being loving and kind towards others is something that has been neglected since the end of the Second World War. We are able to come together during times of trouble and in retrospect we are learning to see that we need to be there for each other always. Not just when things get tough.

This is what I like about Steemit. It is a place where you can connect with like minded individuals. You can find your community or tribe. It is a place for support and friendship akin. This is what I feel positivity and gratitude for today and would like to thank all those who continue to make my Steemit experience that extra bit more special.


Image Credit

In no particular order here are the Steemians and Communities who have been a significant part of my journey here on Steemit. I hope you all know you are loved and valued.

  • @thedonfreeman for teaching me about the crypto world and suggesting I join Steemit.
  • @canadian-coconut for noticing my work in the beginning and often stopping by with a generous upvote. Also for helping so many on Steemit especially with #familyprotection.
  • @thelaundrylady for keeping me inspired to write and for being my first friend here in the Steemit world, adding me as her +1 for the Steem basic income.
  • @eco-alex for creating the super awesome @ecotrain and for showing your support of my work and helping me out with technical issues!
  • @hopehuggs for being super friendly and helpful when I first landed in Discord world.
  • @trucklife-family and @artemsilives for making me feel welcome on the @ecotrain when I first arrived and being friendly, supportive and writing amazing posts.
  • @solarsupermama for help and support during difficult times, friendship and for sharing the mama connection.
  • @riverflows for being super supportive, kind and a great friend, and fog lover. For writing such interesting posts that are also helpful and inspiring. Oh and for kicking me up the proverbial backside to write every day but encouraging me to do this challenge! ;-)
  • @mountainjewel for being my Steemit permaculture teachers. :-)
  • @mirrors for feeling that my post was good enough for a resteem and inclusion in @asapers
  • @insideoutlet for the resteems and pay-it-forward curation feature.
  • @kennyskitchen for welcoming me to @tribesteemup and for creating the awesome curation trail to support those who are making a conscious effort to make the world better.
  • @celestialcow and @vegan.niinja for their mouthwatering vegan recipes.
  • ALL Passengers on the @ecotrain who are making the world a better place.
  • @ecotrain, @tribesteemup, @asapers and @steemitbloggers for welcoming me into their beautiful communities, to be able to share and connect with like minded humans. For showcasing my posts and for their support.

Thank you all so very much.

Today I wish to nominate @tryskele to

Write a post about something you have to be positive about today - this could be anything from being thankful for your current situation, someone being nice to you, being thankful for your friends and family, or even being thankful for the opportunity you have been given here on Steemit - just keep it positive :)

  • Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated.

  • Mention three (or less) people who should do this on each day.

  • Tag it with #7daypositivitychallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post.

  • Include a picture of something positive (related to your story if possible.)

  • Tip: You need to put the # in front of 7daypositivitychallenge or it will not let you use the tag.

~ONE LOVE~

HolisticMoM.jpg

ecotrain1.png
I'm proud to be a member of the @ecotrain community. Come check out the amazing content from other #ecotrain passengers. A group of diverse human beings, sharing a collective vision to help make this world a better place
ecotrain2.png
Proud to be a member of:

The 8 Pillars Of @tribesteemup


Asapers.gif

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

Beautiful heartwarming post! Glad you’re here!! 💙

I'm so glad to have you join us in #steemitbloggers as well! Thank you for the shoutout of the awesome community and thank you for allowing us be a part of your Steemit journey.

I'd cheers to many more exciting days ahead!

You're very welcome and thank you too! You guys really make me feel welcome in there :-)

Wonderful post @holisticmom. I think you hit the nail on the head. From the depression standpoint, I do feel part of it is a disconnect on many different levels. The biggest disconnect is between one's mind and their own thoughts.

This community in general is amazing. For those of us that work at putting out good content, stories, pictures and so forth there is a true appreciation.

Thank you for recommending me. I will see what I come up with after I wake up. It sounds crazy, I have changed my goals as far as this platform goes and when I took on being more positive, helping others and re-learning how to accept compliments there has been a dramatic turn around. I am almost to the first goal I set for myself. I think I have only come across a couple of people that kind of rub me the wrong way, but I don't worry about them at all. I focus on conversations and building friendships with people such as yourself. Our little newbie community which is I think 6 groups that are interconnected have some of the most amazing people I have met. I for once can't wait to see what the future holds.

Yes very true sometimes we overthink things which can lead us down all sorts of paths!
You're welcome. Please don't feel obligated to do the challenge. If you do I'll look forward to reading your thoughts over the 7 days 😊💖

I have been looking forward to your post everyday because of this 7 day challenge. Thanks for including me in your post. You always make me feel so special and thank you so much for that! I have only joined one community and that's the EcoTrain community. You are right! It's an amazing community for sure. I don't have any clue about the other ones you are speaking of, but if you are part of those communities, I am sure they are awesome as well.

In a way, I think my job on Steemit is to make sure you are supported. Glad to see you being recognized by the community. You are awesome. Keep up the good work.

Thank you so so much and you're very welcome. I think if I hadn't met you I'd probably have given up again but your comments and our banter are what kept me going.
Please don't leave. I'm looking forward to reading more of your posts about you lovely garden, your experiences moving to the US and you really should showcase your beautiful artwork on here! Xx 💖💖💖

Nice one. Steemit is the best place to communicate, i personally write down what i feel and it helps me, it's like a community for open communication.

Agreed! Thank you for stopping by. You got my follow! 🤗💖

Great post ! I've joined Steemit only from few months and I noticed that it is very important joining communities with like minded people, thank you for pointing into the right direction.

I would love to join too,

lovely post! and what a nice lOng list.. this challenge is taking over my feeds.. and that cant be a bad thing!

i have a saying from old friends when we all felt somehow TOO appreciative and just kept saying

"if it feels too good, just make more room"

<3xx

Aww thank you! Yes it's been a gratitude fest lately but I love It! And... I'm super grateful for it too 😂💖 thanks for being super awesome!

You are an angel. I don't think Steemit would be half as nice without you. There's some names on that list that I feel grateful for, and then some! I had a funny dream last night that Steemit just disappeared overnight - all crypto just was banned or something silly and you couldn't log on to the platform. I was really upset because I was like - but - but - how can I contact and stay in touch with all these lovely wonderful people??? How funny. Clearly, if that's seeping into my dreams, I care about this place more than post payout!! xxx

You and I both chica 😊😊💖 I know what you mean. I think I'd be lost without my steemit family 😊😊.

And thank you. I'm glad I can bring some sunshine to your Steemit experience 💖💖💖

I am thankful for you and to have met you through @steemitbloggers and @asapers. You write incredible posts that always make me think. I super love the value that you are adding onto Steemit, your vulnerability and being real is very precious to me, @holisticmom! :)

Oh wow! Thank you for your kind comments. It's nice to know that you enjoy reading my posts. It's very encouraging. 😊😊💖

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01