Facing My Biggest Fear: HEIGHTS!

in #adventure6 years ago (edited)

Screenshot_2018-06-07-10-33-12-1-1.png

So I don't know if any of you have ever had a fear so intense that it makes your legs weak, arms heavy, vomit on your sweater 😝 for me that is HEIGHTS, but as we all know the best way to deal with a fear is to face it- head on.

As most of you know Cape Town, South Africa is BEAUTIFUL, but we are mostly known for Tablemountain and our oceans, and why not we do have some of the most beautiful beaches 🌊 in the world (I can say this as I have actually seen many different beaches over many different countries).

20150903_144650.jpg

What some of you tourists or even locals don't know is that Cape Town has beautiful forests, valleys, waterfalls and hills too. So for Valentine's day this year, to prove to my partner how much I adore him, I decided to take the leap - literally and take him on an adventure of a lifetime. We spent a magical night at the wonderful Villa Exner (which I will also be posting about shortly as they deserve a post all by themselves) in Elgin, it's apple country yall and in the morning, like Sam and Frodo Baggins we grabbed our lil bags, we followed the road and off we went to an unknown adventure.

Firstly, Cape Canopy Tours as the BEST, friendly and professional staff and they are totally clued up, make you feel at ease and they know EVERYTHING about their jobs. When you get there, they give you safety briefs of 30 mins, they explain everything, answer any questions, address any fears (mine being of dying- especially in the face) and also point out where you can find the closest bar once you complete this mission 🍺🍹 Go and have a look at what they have to offer guys, it is totally worth it!!

https://www.canopytour.co.za/locations/cape?gclid=EAIaIQobChMIpLb_w5PB2wIVSrTtCh2LVgMPEAAYASAAEgJMavD_BwE

It's a lil bit of a bundu bashing hike, a wonderful bumpy ride with a 4x4 with the most AMAZING views and finally we got to the very first platform to... ZIPLINE! I don't really need to tell you how scared I was, how badly I wanted to not die or how angry I was that I decided this was a good idea, but I can tell you one thing IT WAS FUCKING AWESOME!!

CHECK OUT MY VIDEO AND GO BOOK YOUR ZIPLINING EXPERIENCE IT WAS AMAZING


!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

Oh! That is terrific. What a rush! What an experience.

My father always claimed that my problem with heights didn't exist until I lost an eye. I honestly do not remember. What I do know is that ladders and building edges and cliffs give me the willies. I have been known to get wet palms during a movie scene.

Until I get a harness on. If I know the structure will hold me and I rigged my own harness I'm gold. Which means I would love that.

How did you do with it? Was it totally fun once you got off the platform? It sure looks like it would be...

Thanks for a great share. Another little piece of the puzzle :)

Honestly, I didn't make a peep until I was DONE, It was a rush and I cried and drank copious amounts of beer afterwards, but I felt so incredibly pleased with myself! I have to admit, after completing this I got a certificate and can now go zipline for FREE- I don't know BigT, 4 months later and I still shake in the knees thinking about it HAHAHA

I have always been afraid of heights which is funny because I have spent many years as a painter who would have to climb 20 and 30ft ladders. I once was up a 20dt ladder that fell. Terrifying experience. I have however liked doing things where I’m attached to a harness like zip lining. I could never to a bungie jump though. Not enough money to make me drop straight down.

huh-uh! oh no no no! I will NEVER jump! Not for all the money in the world, I would possibly have a heart attack before I hit the ground! Fun fact, I am also terrified of flying - because of the heights - yet I sit on that plane drink in hand and praying in my mind LOUDLY until I get to the other side :D

Life is living on the edge darling, try something out of your comfort zone, even if you don't ever do it again or fall in love with it, you can tick it off your bucket list!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you so much ! I am always thrilled when my posts are enjoyed!

I sure believe it is GREAT, FANTASTIC and all more, but djeez ... this really is a height. I myself am not familiar with vertigo. But I would also get a little shiver from this kind of altitude. Big respect for you, facing your biggest fear!

Thank you so much darling! I promise you if I had to do it again I WON''T! hahah, but I have to say trying it at least once felt incredible! Thank you for reading and commenting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72