You are posting too often. Yes YOU!

in #advice6 years ago

Let's be honest. 💯

Steemit has an issue with being overrun by many low effort sub par post. Since there is financial incentive to creating content people are churning out 💩 at an unbelievable rate with hopes of receiving a few upvotes. In my short time here I have come across very few content creators on this platform that have the ability to post daily with little to no effect on the overall quality of their work.

Capture.PNG
source

Let's start by letting it be known that it is OK if you aren't one of those people. Being able to post daily quality content does not determine if you will be successful on Steemit. I know at this moment I am certainly not one of those creators gifted enough to publish daily content without degrading the quality.

Therefore, I'm taking the quality over quantity approach. I believe this approach will provide the best opportunity for me to actually improve my writing skills while also hopefully retaining the few followers I do get. Ask yourself this question. Would you continue to follow someone who is only producing low quality content with every post?

We are giving bad advice. 🚩

Before I started posting on Steemit about a month ago I took some time to read through some new user guides posted by current members who are well established. A common recommendation I kept seeing directed towards new users to the platform was to post multiple times a day.

The surface level logic behind the advice makes sense. The more content a new user can publish to the blockchain provides more opportunities for them to build their reputation and earn followers at a quicker rate. At what point does this advice become a detriment to their overall success?

I believe this logic ignores the important realization that gaining new followers is useless if you are not able to keep them around. I guarantee you are quick to unfollow users who only produce low quality content that floods your feed. Trust me you are not immune to this same judgement.

My advice to everyone reading this is to take your time. You are more likely to burn yourself out if you join the rat race by attempting to post multiple times a day. Play the long game by taking time to cultivate ideas that turn into high quality post that will ultimately improve your writing skills to the point where someday you can post on a daily basis.

Until then do some self reflection. Be honest with yourself and decide which group you belong in and then take the appropriate action. You will benefit. We will benefit. Most important of all Steemit will benefit.

Thanks for reading and enjoy the rest of your day! Remember to upvote, comment, and resteem!✌

Check out some of my other work below.

• Ulog #2 - The rich get richer.
• NBA Free Agent Frenzy - Day 1
• U.S. Soccer = Pay to Play
• Casa Grande Domes - Tourist attraction, ritualistic satanic worship location, or both?
• Ulog #1 - Daddy Duty

Sort:  

Absolutely. There is nothing wrong with posting multiple times a day, but if it diminishes the quality of your posts, then you should seriously reconsider how many times you post. It's better to publish one high quality post per week than two or three low and medium quality posts per day. You have to pace yourself, and that requires establishing a game plan.

Exactly, if someone is truly invested into the steemit platform then they should recognize it is a marathon not a sprint.

You know Ross... truth be told, this is also a pet peeve of mine. Meaning, that I know I post quite a bit, but I do give it my best. I'm nowhere near the likes of @tarazkp now, that is a thought machine on 5th gear.

But, I've also chosen to unfollow quite a few people because of over posting. Specially when they fall into various memes per day kind of deal.

So your advise is spot on.

Everyone's threshold is different. I just hate when I see new users feeling pressured to write as many post as they can thinking its the best path to success.

I've also unfollowed people who are more focused on pumping out content than anything else. In time I hope to post more often once my writing skills are up to the task.

This post is really nice and very useful...continue your good work and please follow me I will follow you back...👷...💲...This small step create a big community🚩 for you and for me...i think you you understand...Thanks brother...👍

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Ross-Early from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63759.51
ETH 3318.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91