Hello Steemit! - Coinmarketcap.com Introduced Me!

in #almost-famous7 years ago (edited)

2nd Intro - This post is a template people can follow for their own introduction post. It's easy to copy and I plan on rewarding some of those who are following it to some degree.

Share it with your friends who haven't joined yet. I will. (The template begins a couple paragraph below.)

Shout out to @papa-pepper for this awesome shirt!

Boosting Steem's Growth!

I want to accelerate Steem's growth, thus rewarding the best introduction posts and making it easier for people to create them is a no-brainer.

I've already began to give more than one 100% vote a day to the best introduction post I can find and also many smaller votes. (My full vote at 100% is currently worth around 80$.)

I will reward what I think are the best posts whether people follow my post's formula or not. Any formula will do as long as what is written is good.

Steem popularity is already skyrocketing for obvious reasons and we should clearly do everything we can to boost it even more.

This is only one part of boosting Steem growth. I'm currently working on other ideas and everyone is welcome to join me.

Making Steem Go Viral!

29 Days, 13 Days, 3 Days Ago & Today

I've seen many people asking successful Steemians what they should do to create successful posts. Make Steem go viral and I can assure you success.

It doesn't have to be super viral either. We just want to see some Steem growth. Make some positive outreach and people will reward you, just like anywhere else.

It always helps to keep growth in mind when doing anything for any community.

The Title

Let's begin with the title. The title: "Hello Steemit" could be replace by anything more creative.

Adding who or what site introduce you to Steem in your title or sub-title can be a good way to grab people's attention.

If a Steemian introduced you to Steem, then you should most probably mention them prominently.

Coinmarketcap.com introduced me to Steemit. I used to visit that website everyday and watch for the new cryptocurrencies pop up. (List 900+ cryptocurrencies, very slow/huge website.)

Examples:

  • Yo Steemit! - Google.com Introduced Me!
  • Bonjour Steemit! - @fyrstikken Introduced Me!
  • Holla Steemit! - A Friend Introduced Me!

The Sub-Title

Just like the title, use the sub-title to grab people's attention. We click only on the best titles, sub-titles and thumbnail pictures.

Mention if it's your first or second introduction post or even better your first post.

Steem is giving birth to a culture of friendly competition pushing creativity to level individual mind can't even foresee yet.

Join now!

The Tag: Introduceyourself

Use the tag #introduceyourself. A more creative first tag which will be displayed more prominently can be used but #introduceyourself should be in the tags.

Take a look at what is trending in this tag and try to do better.

The Main Picture

The first picture is your thumbnail picture. Use Resizeimage.net to easily resize your image to 800 x 450 so that the thumbnail isn't cropped out in a weird way. Keep the aspect ratio and toggle down until the second number reach as close as possible to 450.

The more interesting your picture the better obviously. (I could have done better with mine, that's for sure.)

What Picture Should You Use

I highly recommend the first picture to be of yourself holding a sign, electronic device or anything which mention Steem but any interesting picture can do.

The reason for the sign is to avoid impersonification. The sign doesn't make impersonification impossible but makes it a bit less obvious.

That being said, the vast majority of the introduction posts I look at and vote for have this verification picture as their thumbnail. It make it super easy to avoid losing time on posts that didn't even make this simple effort.

There's already so many introduction posts. It's impossible to look at them all and so everything helping to get yourself more views is worth trying.

The Main Body Of Your Post

If you're well-known in the cryptocurrency space then it make sense to mention it in the title. This holds true for any known personality. The more celeb someone is the more thorough their verification process should be.

Some people have posted on their other social media mentioning they joined Steemit. This is again to avoid impersonification and also serve as outreach. Many different pictures holding a Steemit sign can possibly be enough as a solid verification.

Celebrities Joining Steem!

We shouldn't necessarily expect huge celebrity to join Steemit so early. A lot of Youtube, Twitter, Instagram, users have more followers than there are Steemians. It might be more logical for these people to wait for Steemit to become bigger before joining.

There are currently around 250,000 Steem accounts. Yet some Youtubers with more than 1 million subscribers are already on Steem. Still, because Steem is so young, there's a very real opportunity for everyone to become a future Steem Star if such a thing should ever exist.

Use A Markdown Editor

Some people have lost their post due to some bug. To avoid this, use a Markdown editor to create your posts and save regularly. I use Markdown Pad's free version. It's very easy to use and will save you time as well as make your post and comments look better.

Mention Why You're Here

Why you're here on Steemit is probably one of the first thing you might want to mention. Whether it's because you've stumble on Steemit randomly and were intrigue or whether you have a more definite plan.

My Introduction Post Begins Here

My name is Guillaume Cardinal.

I use Steem as a leverage to become a better person, to maximize my life's enjoyment and hopefully everyone's life enjoyment. I've already wrote about it extensively here on Steem.

My Details

  • 33 years old
  • French Canadian
  • Single
  • Self-Employed
  • Anarchist
  • Practice Ahimsa (The principle of nonviolence toward all living things.)
  • Speak: French, English and some Spanish

Social Following

Sharing Our Favorite Things

Sharing our favorite things make all the sense in the world.

Our favorite thinkers guide us, our favorite music move us and our favorite thoughts elevate us.

Some Of My Favorite Things

  • Fruit: Ataulfo Mangoes (@barrydutton, pizza aren't a fruit.)
  • Sports: Running, wakesurf, hockey, wakeboard, skateboard, snowboard, volleyball, soccer, ping pong, tennis.
  • TV Show: Louie, La Petite Vie, Les Bleu Poudres
  • Stand-up Comedian: Louis Ck, George Carlin, Bill Hicks, Doug Stanhope, Demetri Martin, Jim Carrey, Jim Gaffigan, Joe Rogan, Mitch Hedberg, Steven Wright...

Favorite Books

  • The Art Of War (8 Best Quotes)
  • Nutrition And Athletic Performance - Douglas Graham
  • Grain Damage - Rethinking The High-Starch Diet - Douglas Graham
  • Earthing: The Most Important Health Discovery Ever? (Amazon)
  • 9/11: The Big Lie - Thierry Mayssen
  • Le Pentagate - Thierry Mayssen
  • 48 Laws Of Power (Audio)
  • The Yoga Sutras Of Patanjali
  • How To Win Friends And Influence People
  • Catch Me If You Can (Novel/autobiography)
  • Instant Rapport - Michael Brooks
  • The Toxic Time Bomb - Can The Mercury In Your Dental Fillings Poison You?
  • Infertility & Birth Defects - Is Mercury From Silver Dental Fillings An Unsuspected Cause?
  • Amalgames Dentaires- Un Problème De Santé Publique
  • Root Canal Cover-Up (Amazon)

Favorite Shorts

  • What Will Matter - Michael Josephson - 2m - (Youtube)
  • The Great Dictator Speech - Charlie Chaplin - 4m - (Youtube)
  • What is money?- 9m - (Youtube)
  • Global Wealth Inequality - 2m - (Youtube)
  • Kevin O'Leary on global inequality It's fantastic! - 1m - (Youtube)(Funniest thing ever)
  • Stacy FDA Town Hall Testimony - 5m - (Youtube)
  • Study reveals 120+ million exposed to unsafe levels of mercury from fillings - 3m - (Youtube)
  • Vegan Blood Kills Cancer - 4m - (Youtube)
  • Most Inspirational Video Ever (My friend Jason) 2m - (Youtube)
  • Nobody is smarter than you are - Terence McKenna - 2m - (Youtube)
  • The Power of Video - Michio Kaku - 1m - (Youtube)
  • The Story of the Chinese Farmer - Alan Watts 1m - (Youtube)
  • The Truth about School - StormCloudsGathering - 2m - (Youtube)
  • Earthships 101 - 5m - (Youtube)
  • The Lie We Live - Freshtastical - 8m - (Youtube)
  • From Farm to Fridge - 12m - (Dailymotion)
  • The Questions We Never Ask - Freshtastical - 5m - (Youtube)
  • 50 Key Open Source Machines For An Open Source Society 6m - (Youtube)

Favorite Movies (All Documentaries)

All these documentaries are life changing. I'll touch upon most of these in future blogs.

  • The Money Masters (Youtube)
  • Cowspiracy - Executive produced by Leonardo DiCaprio (Netflix)
  • Earthlings - Narrated by Joaquin Phoenix (Dailymotion)
  • Meru Foundation Series (9h30) (30 minutes Synthesis)
  • 9/11 - Anatomy of a Great Deception (Youtube)
  • Nutrition and Athletic Performance - Dr. Doug Graham - Lecture (Youtube - Begins at 3m)
  • 400 Chernobyls: Solar Flares, EMP and Nuclear Armageddon (Youtube)
  • Money as Debt III - Paul Grignon (Youtube)
  • Geoff Lawton: Permaculture & The Tipping Point - Lecture (Youtube)
  • The Gerson Miracle (2004) (Youtube)
  • Big Pharma Big Money : Documentary on the Money and Corruption of Big Pharmaceutical (Youtube)
  • THE CRIME OF THE CANADIAN BANKING SYSTEM - Bill Abram (Youtube)
  • Grounded (Youtube)
  • 911 BOMBSHELL: METHODICAL DECEPTION - Rebekah Roth - @sgtreport (Youtube)
  • 9/11 Trillions: Follow The Money - @corbettreport (Youtube)
  • Social Engineering in the 20th Century (Youtube)

Favorite Album

  • L'heptade - Harmonium - 1976 (Youtube)
  • Carrie & Lowell - Steven Sufjan - 2015 (Youtube)
  • Bon Iver - Bon Iver - 2011 (Youtube)
  • Like A Hobo - Charlie Winston - 2009 (Youtube)
  • Fleur de Peau - Fleur de Peau - (Navert) - 2011 (Bandcamp)
  • Navert - Navert - 2015 (Bandcamp)
  • La Pire Espèce (Demo) - Opossum - (Navert) - 2008 (Myspace)
  • Even In The Quiestest Moments - Supertramp - 1977 (Youtube)

More About Me

I used to run everyday between 10-18k on average. I resumed running 4 days ago. I won Montreal 2016 half-marathon in my age category. I finished 14th overall. Most of my results of the last 8 years can be seen here. I had stopped for 2 months because of injuries and also because I wanted to concentrate on Steem.

Around 2 weeks ago I quit my job I used to work to for more than 10 years. I did so because my crypto investments will allow me to live off of them for some time and that's what I felt like doing. I have a lot of things I want to share but we never know what life reserves us.

Seize the moment and Steem on!

6 Introduction Posts To Which I Gave 100% Vote

  • A Girl from the Emerald Isle sharing my insights as I navigate my own awakening and this forever changing multi-dimensional landscape (1)
  • Surprise Muthafuckas! I just joined Steemit, and will be posting about Psychology, Life, Well-being and Happiness! (2)
  • Hello. How are you? I am fine. What is your name? My name is Steven. (3)
  • Hello Steemit Community! (4)
  • Introducing the MOST diverse INTRODUCEYOURSELF Post there ever was! (4)
  • I'm MatthewDavid and I will be posting about Programming, blockchain tech and learning Spanish (5)

Thank you!

Thank you for reading and for commenting! I read them all! Vote for my witness here if you consider I'm Steeming the world you want to be living in.

I use Markdown Pad to create my posts and I recommend it to everyone.

See here how to align pictures.

Chat

Get on the chats. Not in private messages but in the chat rooms. These are some of the best places to makes some Steem friends.

Find Out More!

Sort:  

just excellent as usual
this community is lucky to have you @teamsteem ;)

Thank you @ekticho! The community is also lucky to have you and your team @busy.witness!

https://busy.org/

Loading...

Thank you @TeamSteem for a great and easy to understand 'How To'. For anyone who's starting out right now: simply follow this template and within a couple of hours you'll have your first beautiful IntroduceYourself post ready to go!

Loading...

Another brilliant post. I wish I would have had these tips when I did my introduceyourselfpost.

Thank you for the Markdown pad link. I'm downloading it now. This is exactly what I've been needing.

Awesome! I'm glad to see people love the markdown recommendation. I waited quite a long time before recommending it. I knew it would help people but for some reasons I would forget to put it there.

Steem on @sneakgeekz!

Yes thank you very much for the share. Im having a little issue with drivers which I'm updating now.

oh just joined steemit, does that mean I should/can do a introduceyourselfpost?

Yeah sure! If you feel like doing it then do it.

One of the problems I see, is that steemit is based around all these cryptodork (no offense) formulas for conversion and transactions and percentages... do we really think the average joe beerface and babbling betty are going to be down with econocryptonumerology ?? peace

@clumsysilverdad you hit the nail on the head. This has been the biggest obstacle to crypto adoption. Today the crypto space is internet 1994, pre email, pre browsers. In 94 the internet was just used by the military and researchers.

Until crypto becomes as easy as visiting a web site and MORE convenient than credit cards the average joe will have no use for it. The most valuable resource on the planet is time.

In my opinion when the moment comes that crypto can save people time that's when we will see massive adoption. I fully expect it to happen but we are still way too early in the curve.

Steemit has made some great progress in addressing this problem and allows the average person to start interacting with crypto fairly quickly. I agree we still need to make it easier.

cool, upvoted, ty

FB is EASY. Steemit is confusing, clunky, and not easy.

Curious to see what happens with it the next year or two.

But damn, how much do I have to invest in steem power to have my upvote be $.10-$1? That's not a casual investment, I don't see many people doing that for fun. (Again, fails on the 'easy' scale which is necessary for mass adoption.)

Crazy how this is broken down to such granular levels... feel there are many parallels in strategies for Tinder

You have got excellent instructions. It is a pity, that I've already written my first post-introduction

I'm agree with @sneakgeekz excellent comment, but I'm really New, I can do my second part of my introduceyorselfpost with @teamsteem tips. I'm so grateful for you support .

GET EASY MONEY ----- FREE $50 Dollar
you must register

Why Choose CCBM

An overnight success ten years in the making, CryptoCurrency is as transformative as it is evolutionary. At last, 2017 is expected to be the year that CryptoCurrency goes mainstream for business. In speaking with many executives and entrepreneurs, we've noticed that the path towards CryptoCurrency enlightenment often hinges on corporate culture and specific marketplace conditions. Full CryptoCurrency integration often happens in stages, it's an evolutionary process for companies and consumers alike.

We realize there is a great deal of options on the internet these days with all the different CryptoCurrency networks. We offer information about the latest happenings with CryptoCurrency on these networks and we even sometimes throw out some goodies here and there.

Sign Up Get Free Money : http://adminfinancial.ccbmlm.com

I've still never done a really proper Introduction Post LOL -- but a couple with some personal stuff in starting a few mths back.

I saw you told me here in this post that pizza is not a fruit but with a tomato base in the sauce, they are actually classified as a fruit and that is good enough for me LOL

I agree with you Barry LOL
Pizza is all the food groups! No doubt about it :)

I tell everyone it is a balanced food group!!!!!

As you should, pizza is the world's most perfect food, PERIOD. :)

I thought I had removed that part. Haha! That was funny! I'm glad I left it there!

the best ever introduction seen around :-)

Aw! That's very kind!

The comments on the pizza replies here are spot on buddy LOL, it was a hit.

Came here to say this! I grow tomatoes, onions, garlic, and basil so basically pizza, therefore tomatoes=pizza=fruit!

That's what I'm talkin about right there!

Hi, newbie here and Mac user. Anything like markdown pad for Mac? Great article by the way, I'll get started on my introduce me asap.

Welcome to Steemit, I can see you are new!!!

If you visit a post on here by my friend @teamsteem -- venture towards the bottom of any of his posts --- he discusses some of what he uses for things like Markdown Pad, etc etc.

The bottom 1/4 of his post are laid out really nicely in a template for all kinds of quick advice like this.

He is also one of the best writers on here.

I'm pretty sure there is. Just google markdown editor for mac and I'm sure you'll find more than one. I know haroopad and I think there might be a mac version of this one.

This was just beast... I'll share it with my team of 500+ peeps on FB, thanks @teamsteem! 💪🏼🙌🏼💯

Thank you @stackin! That's the kind of outreach I'm talking about!

Appresh, I think I brought over 500 people alone so far, I need higher goals... 1000 by this month. keep posting that value bossman.. .. following your lead :)

Dang. I need some catching to do. I have some idea. I can't achieve this outreach directly but I'll try to contact some people that could reach out to some large audience and succeed in making them take actions.

some guys are just taking the offline marketing approach.

it's a new project around and they are currently working on the flyers design

You also have to be dancing in your introduction video...Im so used to seeing @teamsteem dancing.

You're right. I need to be more efficient at crafting these. I will.

Hi !
This is an automatic message.
According to SteemData, you have now used #introduceyourself 5 times.

You might not be aware of this, but #introduceyourself is mainly used by new accounts, to introduce themselves once. Please consider other, appropriate tags.

LMAO Best Bot EVER!

You actually are a good bot.

How are we going to establish tag-discipline, when you as a witness abuse this tag ?

Sorry if you think this is abuse. I chose this tag to help people see my post.

I have ideas about curtailing abuse. My post wasn't abuse.

Seems people are posting their 50 follower celebration and 100 follower notice on introduceyourself, it seems like that's the new norm (I mean, I just got here, but just sayin') peace

It's okay for now. We're letting it fly. I thought about a fix for this. I might try to implement it soon or not, we'll see.

It's miscategorized content, that's what it is.

You're right in a sense. I know what you mean. There are already so many miscategorized posts in that tag that doesn't help the tag, I felt like mine which I felt help people using this tag had more benefits than bad repercussion.

It's true that this tag should be moderated but it's not at this point. I'm thinking about solutions but at this point I'm working on some other projects I think will bring more positives at a faster rate.

We're all working on other projects ...

For starters, you could just remove the tag to be a good example.

You're right we're all working on other projects.

But my point is that I felt like there are more benefits to it being there than there are negatives.

Coinma ketcap.com in the Title of this post? Did you do that on purpose?

Damn. Nope. I'll fix this. Thanks!

Great format, so much info I didnt know about you before. Coinmarketcap got me onto here also! Came cause the coin, stayed for the people!! All of those are my favorite comedians pretty much spot on, you missed Bo Burnham though.. I mostly read fiction but the art of war is great. I reccomend Bastiats The Law, its a great nonfiction book, old enough its free too! 4 of my favorite shorts, and most of the documentaries I haven't seen. Added to my watch list! A million thanks for all you do for Steemit @teamsteem! You are appreciated!

I knew some people would have come from coinmarketcap.com!

I heard about Bo Burnham but never listen to him before.

I'll take a look at The Law. It seems like an interesting book.

What are your 4 favorites shorts from the lot?

And thank you for the @randowhale vote!

The great dictator speech is in my mind really the greatest speech ever!

Terence McKenna, I'm excited to see one of your favorite comedians (Jim Carrey) play him. I heard he has been out doing hallucinogens getting ready for the part.

Michio Kaku's video.. I don't always agree with him but hes interesting to hear from regardless. And this is one of his better pieces..

And the earthship 101 video, I helped my friend build a bit of their earthship and I really want my own one day! Are you building one or is it a dream of yours too?!

Some short I like that you missed is Rodney Mullens beautiful Mind , Marvin Minsky on health and the human mind, Carl Sagans best speech about humanity.. Theres many more, but those are the ones that come to mind quickly

Wut! Jim Carrey as Terence! That seems way too awesome! I had to google it. Seems true! Wow!

I too don't necessarily agree with Kaku that much but his series physics of the impossible had some great episode and he also have some other great talk.

Wow! I would have love to build an Earthship. They must be the most sane place to habit. Everything from them is design in perfect harmony with nature. They can even create island of vegetation in very arid climate. I'd sure love to habit one and even more so own one.

I've seen a great that from Mullens surprisingly it wasn't the one you mentioned so I'll give it a chance.

I just listened to Carl Sagan's speech and I think I watched it before.

And I'll give Marvin's video a watch too.

Thank you for sharing all of these!

No problem, good to know we have many things in common! If ever you come across an awesome video I need to see, don't be afraid to share it or steemitchat message me it!! and I will try to talk my friends into posting about their earthship build!! They should be on Steemit anyways, they are awesome people. Thanks for all you do, good talking!

Maybe you should try the 30 minutes intro about the Meru foundation. It's very different than the short inspirational one but I still think everyone should try this one. I'll go deeper into this in a future blog.

I will definitely check it out! And I look forward to the future blog. I will know more about it by the time you make your post! Once again, thanks for all you do!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65920.41
ETH 3016.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71