New Studio Move In Day!

in #art6 years ago

Hello my friends. Life knocked me down for a little while, but I'm standing back up, and I have a new little art studio to show you!

Art Studio Move In Day.jpg

Standing Back Up

Do you ever get the sense that when you are moving in the truest, best direction for yourself, everything in the world breaks down around you to try to get you to stop? Or maybe that's just me? That's how it's felt recently. I've continued to reminded myself that it's not over yet and that we can change things towards the good. And if we don't quit, we can stand back up. So here's to standing back up and moving forward in good directions!

New Art Studio

One thing I'm celebrating right now is that my new little art studio is finished. I thought it would be fun to share some photos with you. It's a work in progress (aren't most things?), and I'm enjoying the process. It's long and narrow as you can see from the photo - it's 15 feet long by 6 feet wide - enough space for a large work table, an open area for all my brushes and palettes, art supply storage, and room for both my small and large canvases - exactly what I need at the moment!

Studio w Paintings.jpg

Feminine Details

I've never been much of a "girly" kind of girl (especially as the sister to three brothers and now the mom to three boys!) But I'm having a lot of fun embracing my "feminine" side and letting myself have pretty things around me. So one of the things I've always wanted was a chandelier. And since this studio is just for me, I got to put some pretty things in that wouldn't go over as well with all the boys in the house! So here it is; it wasn't really more expensive than a lot of the other lights, and it makes me happy every time I see it. Both good things in my book!

chandelier.jpg

Rustic Details

I left the floor the plain concrete (as you can see in the first photo) because I kind of like all the aging and texture it shows. And there was this old wood beam across the top that I left exposed when they did the drywall - I really like the aged, dark color and the contrast of that against the chandelier (this photo shows it before the chandelier went in). I'm having fun with this!

Wood Beam.jpg

Next Steps

My next step is to paint the other back cabinet so it will just blend in with the studio wall (It makes it feel bigger in there when I do that!). The photo below shows the process of painting some of the wood cabinets / storage pieces. The one in front is where I keep my medium size canvases, and I use the top for my paint brushes. I'm also trying to decide if I want to hang up a bunch of my art pieces on the walls or just leave the walls really simple. I guess I'll have to continue thinking about that one.

painting the furniture.jpg

Most Importantly

And the Most Important next step? - GET PAINTING! So that's next!

Wave Painting in Studio.jpg

Wish me luck and encouragement and motivation (I think I need all three!)
With love -
Kara Elizabeth

Sort:  

Yay!! ! A big welcome back!!! I love the wave painting!! I want it I want it I want it!! :) Although I'd have to look at it in a mirror, I prefer lefts ;)

Hope you're well, come visit!!!

HI! It's good to be back.
And, Yay! I'm glad you like the wave painting! That one was requested by a buyer on the other side of the country - very cool for me.
Maybe I'll have to make you a wave that's a left ; ) A present for our friends when we come to visit? But that might be a while, so we may have to settle for international shipping, haha! It would be fun to have an art piece being enjoyed in Thailand. I'm also researching how to accept cryptocurrency for paintings so I can broaden horizons. SO much to learn, but I'm having fun!!!

Wow, look at you! I'm happy to help with crypto, I'm only about 10 months in but feel I have a pretty good idea of the basics...wait, what am I talking about?!? I'm guessing you'll tap @lukes.random for advice, much more experienced than me, nevermind! :)

@suitcasemama and I will take that painting though! As long as it's a left! ;)

Although you should still come over...I tried to frame it as a surf trip you could sell to Kale in another one of my replies to you ;)

Glad to see you back on here!

Actually, I would love help with the crypto stuff. I love @lukestokes stuff (and he is family - love you, Luke!), and he's been super encouraging, but I have to admit, I don't understand about 75% of his posts because he's writing to an audience that is a lot more advanced than I am. I'm at the "baby" level right now, so someone 10 months in can explain it in more simple ways.
Would love to do a painting for you guys. We'll have to see what we can come up with.
The surf trip idea could be a good angle. Travel, explore, surf - heck, I'm in! We're going to have some available time at the end of the year, maybe that would be an option? Ideas are jumping around in my head!

Okay, happy to help! Maybe I'll give you advice then @lukestokes could double check my work :) Where can I message you?

Glad I got you thinking! Because it's a peninsula, it's offshore on Bali somewhere most days out of the year ;) Look into tickets - my sister came from LA to Bangkok last time for around $600 - not bad :)

The studio looks nice! can we visit next time were in CA?

I agree with @eoj, come visit! <3 @suitcasemama

Thanks, @suitcasemama! You absolutely should come visit next time you're in CA! We have a fun swingset for @suitcasebaby to play on and lots of toys too. We'll barbeque and we'll make you a meal from our big garden.

That sounds so nice @karaelizabeth! thank you! we may be back there later this year for the holidays.

It’s beautiful! Have you thought of running a picture ledge on a side or all the way around your room? Displays your work and keeps it organized. I am envious. 🐓🐓

Oooh that's a good idea! That would eliminate a lot of nail holes in the walls. I wonder what height I would do that at?
I've thought about using some gallery hanging rods at the top of the long wall so that I could hang the paintings from the dangling wires. That way I could change the paintings out often and adjust for different heights. We're using that in our gallery in Laguna Beach for the window displays and it's working well. Decisions, decisions. ; ) Thanks for the new idea!

Best of luck to you. The difficult decisions have now begun. 🐓🐓

Hello @karaelizabeth, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

@karaelizabeth you were flagged by a worthless gang of trolls, so, I gave you an upvote to counteract it! Enjoy!!

I like your wave painting. Studio looks great!

Great work sister! Happy to see you back in the Steemit fam! Keep on shining your love and art! <3

Congratulations @karaelizabeth! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95