My Watercolor Experience So Far

in #art5 years ago (edited)

MystWood_2_s.jpg

So, this time last year I was very passionate about learning watercolors. I spent hours during a lot of the days of the week. I was calm and I had time to do things for myself. I was not on Steem. It was before my active season when I shoot a lot of events for clients. And... did I mention I was very passionate?

It began with something else, by the way. First came the idea to learn and paint with coffee, so...

These happened:

Kumono_s.jpg
From a role playing game setting of mine and Pinterest references.

SW_Inspired_s.jpg
Star Wars inspired stuff from a location of a popular rock I think in North America.

Reference_003_s.jpg
Marvel's Valkyrie character drawn from a digital painting reference somewhere on the Pinterests. A surprise present for a friend. I am not sure he recognized her ;)

With Valkyrie I discovered how I can use my brush to move paint, A.K.A. coffee across the paper to fix it where I prefer it to be and to eliminate some pools. An artist guru I am about to marry told me I should try watercolor and so I did.

She was too busy to instruct me and I had my own rhythm of learning, anyway, so I went to Youtube then. Trying series after series of topics I wanted to do well at. I even came across the lessons of master @shibasaki where he showed a very logical and easy to understand way to paint a tree. I did not succeed in that. I think I will try someday again.

Anyway... I did dunes at first. I love those. I also had some ideas of how to make them more fictional and I had a couple of nice results... @mellindor now owns one of those.

A small selection of the rest:

Dunes_2_s.jpg

I mean one image, obviously.

I realize I may have shared them already but now I made new pictures with much better quality than the smartphoners I had before. Not perfect but still...

Ah, the off-topic coffee tastes so good right now...

There. I forgot to mention it was dangerous drinking coffee while painting watercolor. Brushes tend to go in the wrong cup.

CupRock_s.jpg


Then I was into easy waves drawing - the technique that Deathpool shows in a trailer. If you know what exactly I am talking about (hint - only part of it all is in the trailer), please, wave in the comments below and smile :)

GenerSea_1_s.jpg
Yeah, I managed to spoil this one by overly overworking it.

GenerSea_2_s.jpg
This is what goooood watercolor paper feels like. It was wonderful. I kind of commandeered it.

Sinemo_s.jpg
My "amazing" paper grinding technique again. This is a real place turned less surreal than it actually is.

I will be making a story about Sinemorets soon.

And I guess I am into mystic looking forests now. One of those would be the thumbnail image.

An older version:

MystWood_1_s.jpg

Here is the real trick I have to learn. I have to be able to stop while it may feel unfinished but while it's at the same time delicate and not messy. Behind every image you see here there are probably a few attempts that got scrapped.

I had the time and patience. Now, not so much. Back to turtle mode. Sorry, friend @veryspider, I am asking you to continue waiting and watching ;)

You see, I have those two other things - my photography and writing. And I lose momentum when I shift from one to the other. I don't believe I will ever have the skills of those dedicated to drawing and painting. But It's a great way to have a meditation or just have some color happiness.

Yup, I am color happy! Also monochrome happy sometimes. Coffee happy, curves and shapes happy... You get it.

Go love some art!

Yours,

Manol

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you, community!

@MANOLDONCHEV

you made my day ❤❤❤❤❤

thank you mister turtle ❤❤❤❤❤

ps. i will return later with a more coherent comment

Will be waiting ;)

You are very creative, hope to see more of your art!

Congratulations @manoldonchev! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 2000 comments. Your next target is to reach 2500 comments.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Yay, more watercolor! Amazing what you did with this beautiful yet challenging technique. Interesting concept, to gain experience with coffee first!

Well, it was not intended that way ;) Coffee was all I thought I would try.

Your drawing skills are awesome! I think that really helps for mastering watercolors! If you try painting in watercolors after doing oil or acrylics, I think there is a tendency to over paint and things come out a little muddy. At least that was the way for me. Keep up the great work!

Thanks, I don't have enough experience to take myself seriously. Never painted with oil or acrylic although I'm swimming in oil, acrylic and paintings where I live with a painter ;)

Overdoing it is just a personal trait of mine, I guess. Watercolor is a nice training, no?

I guess that's a case of less is best!

Excellent art!
I like a sunrise scapes and mystic forest)

Thank you very much! This won't be the last of them - I guess I will make new attempts at the topics - too universal to miss.

Thank you manoldonchev! You've just received an upvote of 48% by @ArtTurtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your art and music posts

Please come visit me as I've updated my daily report with more information about my upvote value and how to get the best upvote from me.

Thank you, I will learn... slowly. I'm a turtle, too. In a way.

Oh I love these, Manol :D (yes this is me returning for a more coherent reply)... gosh, I love that first one and the last one and really all the ones in the between, but the first one has such a magical glow in it that I feel like it's an illustration from a Tolkien book or something, ... very cool <3

Love the desert one also, and the one with the water surface ! I tried to do a lake drawing myself but it was really confusing and I couldn't get the structure of the depth of the waters and the reflection nature of its surface well.... Yours look really amazing * ___ *

Also love the last one very much...! Again, it gives a high fantasy feeling and I like how you use dark sections around the border to really gives a secluded and secret feeling in the painting * ___ *

beautiful stuff, manol! looking forward to when you finally will have some time to join the steemit artclass thingy :D :D :D

Ah, thanks! Guess how that dark border came to be around that forest ;)

Those are fantastic. Looks like you have skill to me.

Proud member of #powerhousecreatives

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01