Reflexes - Graphite.

in #art5 years ago

In this post I made my first attempt to draw reflections of light on a woman's face. Honestly it was quite a challenge to draw this attractive type of photography, where rays of light illuminate the face of a woman. At one point I thought I could not, but I did not stop, and this is the result.


Reflexes


IMG_20181030_123540 - copia.jpg



Materials

photo_2018-10-30_14-21-01.jpg

  • Pencil (6B, HB and 2H)
  • Draft. (Very important in this work)
  • One page

Process


1.jpg


I wanted to try to draw the eyes in the most realistic way possible. The key to this was the pupils. With great care, I made the reflections and the details of the iris, with small lines from the inside to the outside, and from the outside to the inside.o.


2.jpg


In the process of drawing the woman's eyes, I learned that between the sclera and the lower lashes, a clear space must be left, which represents the skin from which each eyelash emerges. This allows the depth in the finish to be felt much better.

3.jpg


4.jpg


I applied the same method to the remaining eye, and performed the shading of the eyelids and one of the eyebrows, keeping the white space where the light reflections went. As you can see, I developed the eyebrows starting with fine lines, according to the direction of the hair. I did this part with the HB pencil.

5.jpg


Then it was the turn of pencil 2H, whose light shades are ideal for shading the skin. With delicate strokes, I gave shade to the nose of the woman.

6.jpg


I was shading the rest of the face, keeping the spaces blank, for light reflections. The lips, I made them with the HB pencil and the 2H pencils. With them I was playing with the tone, until achieving the best possible result.

7.jpg


And it was the turn of the pencil 6B. With it, I made the woman's hair, using the strongest tone in the dark areas, and making a gradient towards the skin, to join the sections.

Result


I traced the hair lines according to their direction to finish the hair. And finally, the most important part of the drawing was to use the eraser to clarify the light reflections of the face, and so I got the final result.

IMG_20181030_123540 - copia.jpg


Licencia Creative Commons
This work is licensed under a Licencia Creative Commons Atribución-CompartirIgual 4.0 Internacional.



I hope you liked this drawing. It's my first attempt, and I hope the next one comes out better. Any suggestions? You can leave your comment and support me with your vote if you wish.


Thank you


BANNER.jpg

Sort:  

I think the girl you drew is beautiful @pluridimensional and I really like the step by step photos of your progress. Her eyes are captivating. I am also trying to understand the ray of lights. Is she standing behind a blind (which would then explain the rays of light on her face only)? I like your choice of paper too. What paper did you use? Thank you @pluridimensional for sharing your work.

This type of photography is done with an object that has openings, through which light passes, and is reflected in the face. In the next work I will explain it. From what I see, it was quite necessary. I used bond paper. I agree with you, my favorite part was the eyes. Thanks for comment.

Ah that makes sense... I was thinking of something like that. Beautiful :)

You did so much work on her eyes but it was all worth it. They look like from a photograph. They don't look like you draw them at all. The lashes are perfect and I always dreamed of eyebrows that are shaped like hers :D I also like her slightly opened mouth showing her teeth. Her lips are beautifully crafted as well. How long did it take you to draw her? And what was your inspiration? Was it a photograph or is it a model?

Those light lines look very good too. I must admit that I would like the portrait better without them as I like the simplicity but I understand that the purpose of your exercise what to draw them :)

Thank you for sharing your amazing work with us!

This was one of the comments that I liked the most. It took between 4 and 5 days. I used a model, it's beautiful. The position of the lips, was a strategy of sensuality. I like that you have captured it. I agree that it looked good without the light reflections, but I wanted to experiment. Thank you very much for your comment.

Oh, thank you! I have only told you the truth :) I'll be pleased to come over to your account more often :)

Hi pluridimensional,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you. Your support is very important.

hello @ multidimensional, there is something curious about this publication when I first saw it I thought it was about a black and white photograph and now I realize it is a drawing.

Excellent handling of the pencils and of course the eraser, which exquisite light really seems to be in a room and that the sale with its rays of sunshine are reflected on the face, the eyes were expectaculares.

The only thing that would have pleased him would be a very subtle illuminations in the hair because you do not notice that reflection that should be for being a single projection of light, should invade the hair too, however the face that is undoubtedly the focus of attention you are impeccable.

So to be your debut you did not go wrong with the grace.

You are latin? because I read your name in spanish. I am from venezuela and you can have a look in blog where you can see photography and other things, greetings brother.

thank you for sharing this beautiful work. go ahead. congratulations.

Soy venezolano amigo, gracias por tu apreciación. Seguro que pasaré por tu blog, tal vez alguna de tus fotografías me inspire. Gracias por tu comentario, me ha motivado mucho. Me contenta que digas que parecía una fotografía. Ciertamente hay muchos aspectos que debo corregir. He visto que mencionas ser titiritero, yo adoro los títeres, tengo familia que se dedicaba a ello, y yo lo disfrutaba muchísimo. He querido hacer algunos títeres para steemit, pero los materiales están mega costosos. Nos seguiremos mirando por acá. Saludos. Es un placer que me hayas comentado.

@pluridimensional paisano. the good is recognized.

it would be an honor to see a photograph of mine taken in a digital drawing.

If I am a puppeteer and although I have shown part of the activities, I have not yet made a puppet because there are certainly materials that cost extremely expensive, however I do not lose the horizon of projecting that type of content in the community, because it is scarce.

Maybe your puppetry family knows the theater to which I belong is called Jau Jau Jau and is in Upata Bolivar state, its art director is Luis Reyes.

Let's get in touch to see if we can do something together, shall we?

may you be well belov


@pluridimensional paisano. lo bueno se reconoce.

seria un honor ver una fotografia de las mias hecha en un dibujo digital.

pues si soy titiritero y aunque he mostrado parte de las actividades, aun no he realizado un titere porque ciertamente hay materiales que cuestan sumamente caros, sin embargo no pierdo el horizonte de proyectar ese tipo de contenido en la comunidad, por ser escaso.

tal vez tu familia titiritera conozca el teatro al que pertenezco se llama Jau jau y queda en Upata estado Bolivar, su director de arte es Luis Reyes.

estemos en contacto para ver si hacemos algo en cojunto, te parece?

que estes bien hermano querido, paz y amor.

Sí, estemos en contacto. Me parece muy buena idea hacer algo en conjunto. No creo que conozcan ese teatro, somos de Barquisimeto. Mis mejores deseos para ti, hermano.

ok me parece bien, y no creas, el mundo del teatro en Venzuela es mas pequeño de lo que te imaginas. salud y libertad

Sold work @pluridimensional. I've always admired someone's ability to draw, in part because I never had that native ability. Although I can say that in college I took a couple drawing classes and surprised myself with what I was able to achieve.

I think you did a fantastic job. I really like the attention to detail on where the light falls. For instance you avoided erasing the spots on side of the nose where the light didn't fall. And just under the eye and on the cheek for the left side of the face (my left, her right).

My only suggestion, and this comes from a guy with almost no artistic skills (in the sense of drawing or painting), is to examine how light would fall on face if it were coming from one direction. I guess on a second look it seems like the light source is coming from her right side, my left. So maybe what I was mentioning earlier would make more sense on the left side of her face, my right.

Not sure if that makes sense but it's my only suggestion. It's more of a question, I'm not really sure the exact mechanics of how light falls, reflects and creates shadows. That's my only observation.

Thank you so much for sharing. I think you have a very wonderful talent for drawing. I cant even imagine how you managed to make the eyes, eyebrows and the lips so realistic looking. The detail on them is amazing.

Cheers!

Thanks for this very complete comment. Your suggestions have helped me a lot. You are right, I must study the way in which the reflections of light would fall on the face. Perspective is the key. Thanks for your comment.

Absolutely! Glad to give you a little input. Keep up the amazing work and steem on!

Hi there,

We did notice that your are a real Artist. Do you want to share with others your great artworks and earn handsome rewards?

We are pleased to invite you to join Artisteem.

Artisteem is a platform, where you can contribute your artworks and earn the great reward. You even can have a chance to get an awesome prize if you participate in the contest and make it to the top.

For more information about Artisteem, you can find out here:

Don’t hesitate to contact us via discord channel to make friends and discuss further information.
We are looking forward to seeing more posts from you in the future.
Thank you and regards,

Good job rendering this portrait. I no longer have the patients of rendering images in graphite like I used to after I discovered my love for gel pens. You got the proportions right. But I do agree with @jocqua on the lighting of the image. There are some inconsistent parts with the light source and the lack of difference in hair tone next to a portion of the face with bright lighting shows that.

I think some minor adjustments might do the trick. This is good stuff so keep up the good work :D

Thanks for your comment. You are right, there is much to be corrected, especially the perspective of light. Thank you.

That is a very good result for a first attempt! The woman looks alive specially the eyes. I just noticed the right eyebrow more elevated than the left.

For the rays, I thought the angles need to be consistent from where the sun is assumed. Also, I think the rays should have hit the hair on the right side too and not just concentrated on the face. Though thatbis with the assumption that the sun is on the upper right side, is it?

I ams sure you will do much better on your next attempt. Keep drawing! 😊

Reflections only go on the face, it is a strategy to better highlight the beauty of women. But you're right, I should be more careful in the aspects you mention. I will try to do better in the next one. Thanks for your comment. I accept your criticisms and suggestions. To continue drawing.

Thank you for taking my feedback constructively as how it is intended. I am sure you will do much much better next time. As they say, practice makes progress. 😊

Congratulations @pluridimensional! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 50 replies. Your next target is to reach 100 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!
Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Amazing portrait whilst studying the relationship between the planes of a face and lighting <3 Beautifully done, @pluridimensional !

Correct, friend, I'll get into it, I must study the planes of the face well. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93